We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cool but overpriced...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Arif Cave Pension

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Arif Cave Pension to your Saves list
Arif Cave Pension
Cafelli Mah. Aydin Kiragi Sok. No:11, Goreme, Turkey   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 74 Goreme B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Budoia, Italy
1 review
“Very cool but overpriced...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

The whole idea/look/feel of these "cave" hotels are fantastic but for the price we paid for the "Executive Cave Suite" we were a bit disappointed. The bathroom was unfinished and the jacuzzi tub was too small for two people. The wifi (not a hug deal) didn't expand to all areas of the room,. you had to stay by the entrance to get connectivity. The bed was and pillows were a bit hard. The biggest complaint was the breakfast. It was easily the worst breakfast of any place I've stayed at not only in Turkey but throughout Europe. This place gets a 3.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    18
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
82
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clara, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at this cave hotel in November 2013 and it was a superb experience. Our room was a fantastic cave room. Ahmet is very very friendly and went out of his way to help us during our stay. We loved this place because of the lovely views it has to offer and great hospitality. We would love to go back to Cappadocia and stay at Arif cave hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

We have been there 3 day. Ahmet and his family really helpfull and friendly. They gave us panoramic city view room . We had a great time in this hotel . Locatoin also center of the Göreme. They had traditional Turkish breakfast . I highly recommend this hotel to everybody. .. we will come back again :)

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

I’ve been spending lots of time to check a cave hotel with a reasonable price in Goreme and finally found this top one cave hotel. I suggest you saving your time and directly book this one if you have lots of questions and need a responsive and friendly service. The owner, Ahmet is a very responsive and helpful. My husband and I arrived at night at the hotel after flew three connecting flights and another hour of bus ride to Goreme. He and his father warmly welcomed us and offered us with welcome drink, gave us the map and suggested us the itinerary. We told him our selected hot air balloon operator and he arranged the balloon tour ride with a very good price (we paid the price for small-basket-less-passenger for the price of big-basket-more-crowded hot air balloon). Ahmet even helped us to change the money with good rate as we didn’t have much Turkey Lira when we arrived. We stayed in a large cave room with balcony and the view was amazing. With the fast wifi, we can immediately share our pictures to friends :) The hotel itself is on the very top of the hill. It takes 5 minutes walk to the bus terminal, restaurants and shops and 1 km to Goreme Open Air Museum. We really enjoyed our stay in Arif Cave Hotel.

Room Tip: Go directly to the hotel website to check the room that you like. Panorama large cave room has a bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Best Hotel we have stayed in Turkey actually. Arif and Ahmet are really great people and they made our stay even better helping us with everything (tour, balloon flight, transportation, etc) If you go to Goreme, stay in Arif Cave Hotel. Great room, great view and location.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I traveled among Turkey this Oct with my friend and staying at Arif Cave is definitely the most welcoming experience of all. With the location on the hill, its balcony has a spectacular view over the valley. The manager Ahmet is not only friendly but also passionate of helping us customerize our tour in Goreme. His friend Ali Battir was introduced as our guide, also an awesome fun man. They both made my vacation beyond site-seeing or museum with their knowledge. They made us make friends and had fun altogether for the whole stay. A+ experience!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

İ have spent 3 days in Arif Cave with my partner and it was absolutely perfect. The caves are located in the heart of the village, but on the top of a hill for this reason the place is full of relax. We arrived to the airport without any transfer reserved so we called to the hotel to request for some information. Ahmet (owner) arranged a transfer for us for only 20 TL PAX from Nevesehir airport (İ checked afterwards, and it is the same price you can get bookıng it directly in the agencies). Upon the arrival to the hotel Ahmet gave us some advices and made a plan for our tight stay. We stayed at the fairy chimeney room: quite, big enough for a couple, clean, confy and nice view from the window. Breakfast was full of turkish choices and superb too. Rest of the staff (2pax) were very kind and helpful too. The most shocking aspect is the view!! İ will go again to Göreme, and for sure İ will stay in Arif. Thanks Ahmet, Tomas

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arif Cave Pension? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arif Cave Pension

Address: Cafelli Mah. Aydin Kiragi Sok. No:11, Goreme, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Arif Cave Pension reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arif Cave Pension Hotel Goreme
Arif Cave Pension Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arif Cave Pension, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.