We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where guests are friends and not customers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Divan Cave House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Divan Cave House to your Saves list
Divan Cave House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Aydinli mah Gorceli sk no:5, Goreme 50180, Turkey   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #7 of 50 Hotels in Goreme
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Where guests are friends and not customers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I don't write reviews often but I so thoroughly enjoyed my time at Divan that I feel compelled to tell the world that you should stay here if you visit Cappadocia.

First let's cover some of the cons:
- I noticed some Mosquitos when I entered but we didn't get bit so it wasn't a big deal.
- the lighting wasnt that bright in the main room but what can you expect Ina cave!
- located at the far end of the main town but I kind of liked that. We didn't get woken up by the dawn call to prayer and they provided a free pick up from the bus and drop off to the Goreme open air museum.

But here are the pros which significantly outweigh any minor con:
- Ali. The entire staff is incredibly warm and friendly, including Hanife whose English is wonderful and response time on email impressive. But Ali is the man. We talked to him about how he is able to be so warm and welcoming all the time and he revealed that his philosophy is that he doesn't think of guests as customers but friends and family. It sounds a bit incredulous but once you meet him, you will know this is a sincere belief. The "service" is unbelievable because it doesn't feel like service.
- the first pro is definitely the biggest reason I would recommend Divan but on top of that, the rooms themselves are great. Clean and spacious, with wonderfully comfortable beds and wa blankets for the cooler cave environment. I didn't notice AC but trust me: you won't need it!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    566
    109
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
78
229
47
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

The hotel is just as you expect. The true and amazing experience of living in a cave house. Modernized, but kept natural as much as possible, the hotel is located on a hill, sharing an overlook over the town of Goreme. The staff was helpful every time we needed their help in any matter. From transportation in ANY place to booking nice restaurants and organizing amazing tours.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treoes
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

This hotel set high on a hill overlooking the town of Gorene has been tastefully enlarged and modernised by the owner some 3 years ago the process itself taking him 3 years to complete.
It is run by the owner and his family giving a very personal touch to the stay.
The chance sleeping in a cave was very much looked forward to and the experience was way above expectations. The staff including the owners beautiful daughter and Ali were an absolute delight and most helpful. The room was amazing and extremely comfortable.
The views over the town from the terrace particularly at night were spectacular.
I would most certainly make our next visit much longer as this hotel is an excellent centre for the exploration of Capadcia.

Room Tip: There is a chioce between a normal cave room and the room in the fairy chimney both excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I cannot say enough good things about my experience here. The hotel was beautiful, our room was fantastic, the bed was great, and the breakfast was a nice buffet. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful (especially Ali), and were able to recommend restaurants and help us book a balloon ride and a tour to one of the underground cities. I felt more like a guest in their home than a customer. I would very highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights and wish we could have stayed longer. The staff is very friendly and helpful with planning out all activities. We became friends with Ali upon arrival and would come and say hi everytime we left or arrived. Full breakfast was delicious and the options were plentiful. The rooms were very clean and comfortable...can't believe we stayed in a cave! Don't look elsewhere. Book your stay here. It's a place I would highly recommend to my own family and friends.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We have just spent 4 days in the wonderful town of Goreme. We enjoyed every moment, every experience but what made it really memorable was where we stayed. The Divan Cave House was a unique place. A thoughtful blend of the old world and the new. The rooms were spacious, well equipped, tastefully decorated and welcoming. That was only half the story. You can find places on your travels that provide just those things but what sets the Divan apart from the others are the staff. Hanifa, Ali and the others are unique in their approach. You never have to ask for anything, they ask you first. From the very first moment where we were greeted with a genuine smile to the very last moment where they offered a very early morning breakfast to see us on our way they looked after us. Always there but never intruding. They provide a level of service I have not experienced before. I know this all sounds too good to be true bit it isn't, it is how it is. So if you want to feel special give it a try.

Room Tip: From talking to two other couples at breakfast they all seemed pleased with their suites. What we bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

The staff at Divan Cave House were really helpful and they were always on hand to help with any requests/questions that we had. They helped us to organise our tours (Red & Green), our hot air balloon ride (with Butterfly balloons which was excellent) and also our reservation at the local Hamam!

The daily breakfast had a good selection and you can even order fried eggs or omelettes which were cooked to order :)

The room was very comfortable and spacious. The bathroom was not the most modern and did not come with an exhaust fan but it was sufficient. There was also a laptop at the reception area which you could use if needed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Divan Cave House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divan Cave House

Address: Aydinli mah Gorceli sk no:5, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Goreme
#6 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Divan Cave House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Divan Cave House is located in the old, upper part of Goreme, less than five minutes' walk from the town center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Divan Cave House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divan Cave House Hotel Goreme
Divan Cave House Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Divan Cave House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.