We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot Air Ballooning in Cappadocia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cappadocia Voyager Balloons

Cappadocia Voyager Balloons
Gaferli Mah. Muze Cad. No:36/1, Goreme 50180, Turkey
+90 532 347 1514
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A 16-year success story. Every flight over Cappadocia offers a wonderful scenic adventure and Voyager Balloons has one of the best safety records, having flown more than 80,000 people over Cappadocia over the last ten years. Our nine luxury aircraft are the newest, safest and most comfortable balloons available. While our safety standards and insurance coverage exceed Turkish, European and American regulations.Looking for a photographer upgrade or small balloon? Please use the code TA14 to get a free upgrade to Comfort Flights from Standard Flights
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Stroller parking
Brooklyn
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Hot Air Ballooning in Cappadocia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

By far the most delightful experience in this part of Turkey is the hot air balloon ride over the Goreme Valley in Cappadocia-its up early before sunrise but well worth the effort-watching the sun rise over this eerie landscape, then getting into one of the baskets attached to the balloon, rising up and floating around the protrusions-well, it was mind boggling! lastly, watching the expert captain land the balloon basket onto a flat topped truck bed was a terrific ending (also the sparkling beverage offered to us after we landed!)-and a "flight certificate" to prove we did it! great experience not to be missed!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    408
    33
    4
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toulouse, France
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good company”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Excellent communication with the owner Halis and the rest of the staff who had to deal with a couple of days of bad weather and lots of cancelled and rescheduled flights. In the end we flew in an 8-person basket with pilot Barış who seemed very young but turned out to be skilled and personable. We flew over the eastern part of Göreme Park (Red Valley, Rose Valley), first staying low and almost touching the tops of the hills, then soaring up over 1000 meters. We did not really dip into and out of the valleys as some reviewers describe, and I would have liked to fly closer to the Honey Valley (Love Valley), but there was plenty to see and we took some amazing photos. The landing was bumpy but fun and the ground crew were very efficient. The flight lasted just over an hour.

We were completely satisfied with Voyager Balloons, and I would recommend the company for their customer service.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“By far best Baloons experience in Cappadocia.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Why? 1) The pilot is really professional, teacher of the local national school. Very technical preparation. 2) The flight was one of the longest, while other balloons were already landed we kept flying for a lot more 3) we had a co-pilot, a training one, in our flight able to land safely the balloon in case of emergency. 4) the first day there was a lot of wind, so Voyager decided to delay the flight for extra safety and we missed the sun rise. We were offered to arrange an extra flight the next day for the sun rise! To be honest, the landing in difficult conditions was by far the best one and mor exciting! ;) 5) I flooded Halis with one thousand techincal questions and he was always nice and polite... WILL FLIGHT AGAIN IN DECEMBER WITH THE SNOW!! Alessandro

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Kent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cappadocia Balloon Flight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Had a good look before flying out to Cappadocia as there are around 20 different companies running balloon flights. I spoke to the top 3 companies as rated by Tripadviser with Voyager Balloons responding with excellent communication confirming times, pick ups, breakfast, weather etc.

Once there i have to say the experience was first class - they picked us up as stated and drove us to the main office where breakfast waited. We tucked into fresh bread, cheese, ham and fruit whilst drinking hot tasty coffee and watching a dvd on previous balloon flights.

Once the all clear had been given on the weather we set off to the launch site - this would change on a day to day basis depending on the wind etc so if you were thinking about more than one flight i'd certainly recommend it!

I have to say that there was plenty of room in the balloon with everyone having a perfect view from the basket. The lift off was exhilarating and extremely smooth. We slowly rose whilst watching the first light from the sunrise cast shadows across the landscape. Its so quiet you can hear a pin drop which was a real surprise! The pilot (M.Halis Aydogan) was incredible and made the balloon drop through the valleys and then rise up to amazing hights allowing you to see for miles and miles!! We had a soft mist rolling through the mountains which illuminated once the suns rays broke through - simply incredible!!

We were up for around 1hour and 40 mins before descending and landing on the trailer - the pilot actually landed the balloon on the trailer which showed amazing skill! We had a champagne reception with certificates issued before being driven back to our hotel. We enjoyed the experience so much we booked another 2 flights with the company during our stay. I simply can't recommend them enough and have only great things to say about them!! If you're looking to book a flight then these guys are the best by a comfortable mile!!

Also if you are into photography then this is a must!!

Regards

Daniel and David.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suburban Phila
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“Unbelievable experience, first-rate operator”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The experience of a sunrise balloon flight over a spectacular canyon landscape with about 75 other balloons is one-of-a-kind and likely to be unforgettable no matter which local operator you use (there are about 20 in the area), but Voyager came highly recommended and lived up to the recommendations. Hotel pickup was on time, and logistics of getting everyone assembled and into the right balloons were well managed. The pilot (Ucezir) was very talented at maneuvering the balloon, both down below the canyon rims for closeups of the spires and up to 2500 feet for the big-picture view. He also did a great job of staying clear of other balloons - we saw several other balloons clumped together (maybe on purpose, maybe not). The "60-minute" ride we booked ended up close to 85 minutes, The landing was soft enough that we didn't need to brace, and the pilot (with help from the ground crew) was even able to hop the basket up onto Voyager's flatbed truck with the passengers still in it. I recommend paying the small premium for the "comfort" version with fewer passengers.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cappadocia Voyager Balloons also viewed

 

Been to Cappadocia Voyager Balloons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cappadocia Voyager Balloons, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.