We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot air balloon ride Urgupballoons,Goreme, Turkey” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Urgup Hot Air Balloons

Urgup Hot Air Balloons
Museum Street No : 10 | Goreme/Nevsehir/Cappadocia, Goreme 50180, Turkey
+90 384 341 5636
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 55 activities in Goreme
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: A NEW DISCOVERY IN CAPPADOCIA EVERYDAY WHIT URGUP BALLOONS...
McDonald's Corners, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hot air balloon ride Urgupballoons,Goreme, Turkey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

My partner and I have just experienced a wonderful balloon ride over Goreme, Turkey.
Our pilot Umit Arig took us through safety procedures and then made us practice a safe landing position not just once but three times. Very professional individual. The spectacle was enhanced with good geographical information from the pilot. All in all a great time.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    390
    40
    10
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manama
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
58 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Excellent Operator”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

Our pilot was Syet and he was smooth and professional. What made this balloon ride so special was the view of Rose Valley and Goreme Open Air Museum. Our flight lasted 1 hour and 15 minutes and we enjoyed every bit of it. Here's what to expect if you plan to go: they'll pick you up at 4:45 AM and take you to their office, where you'll sign in and be offered tea/coffee and cookies. They'll then break you up into groups and drive you to the field where the hot air balloons are being prepared for flight. You'll watch the balloon being inflated, and once it's ready you'll be helped into the basket. During this time, some photographers will take group and individualized pictures for you to buy once you land. When it's time to board, try to climb up first to get the front left side, which, in my opinion, was the best position in the basket. This won't matter much because the pilot can rotate the basket while you're up in the air. Wear comfortable and durable shoes. The climb up the basket can be tricky and you may land in a wet muddy field. Also, try to leave handbags or backpacks at your hotel. We had 7 people in the basket with us (not including the pilot) and it was a bit crammed. Before take off, they will brief you about the landing position then you'll be airborne. Our pilot varied our altitude throughout the flight, going as high as 948 meters. This may not be the case in your flight since the pilots can choose how high or low to go. Many factors can also influence your flight, such as the direction of the wind and the weather. We were lucky to have a clear morning because it was rainy and cloudy when we visited in mid-May. Try to look up the weather forecast before booking your flight. When it's time to land, the pilot will look for an appropriate landing place and that's when you'll notice a van stalking your balloon. It was actually quite funny. This van will transport you back to your hotel after landing. Once you're on the ground, you'll be offered champagne and juice and be presented with a certificate of participation. You'll be back in your hotel in ample time to grab breakfast before you continue your adventures in the region. The great thing was that our tours here started later in the morning (around 9:45 and 10). Compared to our tours in other areas of Turkey, this was pretty late. The atmosphere in Cappadocia was a lot more relaxed and laid back than other cities we visited. I guess the farther away you travel outside Istanbul the slower life gets. I digress again. Back to the main point, this hot air balloon operator was wonderful and I would highly recommend them. Plus, some of their balloons were very colorful and attractive compared to the others out there. This might matter for picture taking purposes.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
74 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Beautiful balloon ride in Cappadocia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We ride by this company that I recommend. Everything happened in a memorable way. We had a Portuguese driver (Joao) I recommend, because he served us very well and was very friendly on our tour. The vision offered at dawn tuo is good. To ride of balloon is very good and Cappadocia is impossible to visit and not strolling balloon. I recommend this company because it was note 10. See the photos.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Under Lyme
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Thank you for a lovely trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Watching the sunrise over Cappadocia was magical. Everything was perfect and shampagne after the flight tasted great!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oz
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Unforgettable experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Amazing experience, our first balloon flight! My partner and I were completely relaxed and felt safe and in good hands. The pilot was really experienced and told us about the places we flew over. The sight and views are awesome. Weather conditions were absolutely right. We were able to take the most amazing photos. Absolutely recommend that any visitor to the region does this and chooses Urgup Hot Air Balons.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Urgup Hot Air Balloons also viewed

 

Been to Urgup Hot Air Balloons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Urgup Hot Air Balloons, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Urgup Hot Air Balloons to your Saves list