We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Cave Room and Amazing Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spelunca Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Spelunca Hotel to your Saves list
Spelunca Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Gaferli mah aydin kirasgi mevkii no 4, Goreme, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 74 Goreme B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Fantastic Cave Room and Amazing Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

This hotel is amazing. It has a great location near the top of one of the larger hills so when you sit on the terrace you overlook the landscape. On top of the view the cave rooms give you that awestruck feeling of being in cappadocia but with modern amenities. The owner is very helpful and they have breakfast each morning. Its perfect walking distance from the main street full of restaurants and shops. Also for a special treat walk to the top of the hill around 5:30am and watch the hote air balloons take off at sunrise over goreme. Amazing and I would stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    51
    15
    7
    10
See reviews for
26
68
13
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

The room was very spacious, we had a great view- especially early in the morning we could see the balloons taking off and landing . The owners of the hotel Mr.Suleyman and Mr. Ramazan were very friendly . The breakfast was great with a wide variety of delicious food , fruits, cake etc and the coffee was fresh and delicious. Our room was very clean and warm- housekeeping was great- thank you Ms. Havva! We slept very well as the beds were very confortable - exactly what we needed after long walks we had during the day.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

If you are looking for a place in Cappadocia which provides nice and clean rooms, all the help you need to explore the area, and, most important of all, a resonable price. Then , this is it!! Their cave room is very cozy and stylish. It is clean and relaxing in every corner of the hotel. The location is great. I’d like to give special thanks to the staff because they've been so friendly to us. They made us feel like at home! If you do visit Cappadocia someday you should stay at Spelunca Cave Hotel!!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2010

Rooms are very nice, however the owner is terrible: while booking the room, we wanted to make sure that there is a baby bed for our 15 months old baby, however although we asked for min. 50 times during the day we checked in, they were only able to bring "something" around 22:00 pm: Something that only a newborn baby can fit! When I called the owner to give me an explanation about this problem, he told me that I am disturbing him at this hour of the day!

In the hotel, the staff is nice, but completely inadequate to run such a facility as 2 of them -university students- just started to work 2 days ago, and 1 of them started to work three days ago. And as you can imagine none of them is professional.

Hotel only serves breakfast, but if you are a bit late, you need to wait for dishes while they are being washed by these university students: There is no dishwashing machine, and there are not enough number of plates, as the owner thinks that they are only serving breakfast so it is not necessary to invest in dishwashing machine or in extra plates.

There is no other food/drink other than breakfast. Even if you want to enjoy a break at the terrace of the hotel, and accompany it with a coffee you cannot, because there is no such service. There is no minibar or a small fridge in the room, so storing milk for your child is almost impossible.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didim, Turkey
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2010

For me, a hotel will make or break my holiday. I spent a lot of time reviewing hotels before deciding to book the Spelunca hotel. I am glad that I choose it. The bedrooms are traditionally decorated but have still managed to incorporate modern features within it. I had room 205 and loved returning to it after a long day sightseeing.

Beds are comfortable, bathrooms are spacious and modern with lots of room. Rooms are cleaned every day. I also took advantage of the laundry service that the hotel had on offer. I loved waking up early in the morning and seeing dozens of hot air balloons in the sky.

The hotel is in a good location and close to the bus station, restaurants and shops. I can not understand the reviewer who said they had a mediocre breakfast. Four different types of cheeses, salami, fresh tomatoes and cucumber, eggs, olives, fresh bread rolls. Lots of different types of jams, cerals, tea, coffee and juice. This is one of the best breakfast I have seen.

For internet access, I too had problems accessing it in the rooms however if you move around then you may get a signal. I had room 205 and could not pick it up when near the window. Moved my laptop to the shelf below the bedroom mirror and the access was perfect.

I also was never woke up by the mosque calling to prayer. IMO, you can not go wrong if booking this hotel for a holiday.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2010

Friendly Hotel staff and pleasent atmosphere. Very Good cave hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altinkum, Turkey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2010

On arriving in Goreme after 14 hours drive, we circled around to find the best cave hotel which none looked inviting until we passed the Spelunca hotel.
We were shown around the hotel by Suleyman who was very helpful by letting us see 4 different cave rooms. We finally decided on the a 3rd floor Deluxe Cave room which had fantastic views over Goreme especially at approx 0630 in the morning when all the hot air balloons were taking off.
Although my wife and 3 year old son are scared of dogs we never had any problems with Whiskey and Fistik as they were very friendly dogs.
Thank you very much HAVVA, for always cleaning our room and keeping it spotless especially for changing all our towels everyday for the 5 days that we stayed there.
Breakfast was typically Turkish with lots to choose from with the rolls being as fresh as they can get.
With regards to the first prayer in the morning we never had a problem with the mosque because this is something you expect anywhere in Turkey.
Finally we enjoyed our stay at this hotel with the family atmosphere from Suleyman and Havva.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Spelunca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spelunca Hotel

Address: Gaferli mah aydin kirasgi mevkii no 4, Goreme, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Spelunca Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Spelunca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spelunca Hotel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spelunca Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.