We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Views of Cappadocia on Horseback” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Goreme Ranch

Goreme Ranch
Open Air Museum Road, Goreme, Turkey
+90535 85 20 481
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 26 Outdoor Activities in Goreme
Attraction details
Princeton, Kentucky
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Amazing Views of Cappadocia on Horseback”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Totally amazing views of Cappadocia on horseback. My family did a 2 hour ride thru Red and Rose valleys and were blown away by the views and scenery. The guide was not overly friendly or helpful, and was a little too bored. The horses should have been better taken care of, my daughters horse was limping often and stumbling. They provided helmets and stopped halfway for a break. Overall a great horsback riding experience. Do it.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    10
    5
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Horse riding in the Rose Valley”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We did a two hour horse ride in the Rose Valley which was a different way to view the fantastic scenery. Our horseman guide was from Afghanistan and very friendly and helpful. The horses are well cared for and sure footed (thank goodness)!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Great family horseback riding even for beginners!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We didn't have a review before choosing this place but I had read negative reviews on the Avanos place as being unsafe and not scenic. We loved our ride with Goreme Ranch! They accommodated our request to do only one hour (we have 3 kids ages 4, 7, and 10 - and one hour is enough for the 4 year old!), and they seemed very safety conscious: Helmets provided, 2 guides went with us to lead me with the 4 year old and then the 7 year old, and they decided to walk (the guides) instead of ride to keep things safer. The main guy went with us too, as I asked if someone spoke English. The ride - even at one hour - was beautiful through totally scenic areas, and even though we got caught in a hail storm on the way back, it was totally worth it and fun. We paid about 50 Turkish Lira for the one hour trip per horse (no charge for my daughter who rode with me). We are so glad we did this and would totally recommend this activity and this ranch!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Horse riding through Cappadocia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

My husband and I did a 2hr guided horse ride through the valleys (including Rose & Red Valleys) of Cappadocia with Goreme Ranch today. They offered a free transfer from our hotel to and from the ranch, which is located just down the road from the Goreme Open Air Museum. We paid 80TL each for the ride. It was really nice riding through the valleys, looking at all the interesting rock formations and gardens/vineyards/orchards on horseback - much easier than walking (we are avid hikers and would normally have walked but wanted to experience a horse ride while we were here). We stopped for a break at the halfway mark and had a look in one of the churches - really cool. Although our guide spoke English, he didn't share any knowledge of the area etc during our ride which would have made it that much better. The horses were in pretty good condition and they provided helmets.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fethiye, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

We visited Goreme and the surrounding area November 2011. Although it is very cold at this time of year most days minus degrees this did not stop us getting about. The area is very beautiful and easily accessed either by trips or on your own. The days are short but as there is not a lot of night life at this time of year it is ideal for sight seeing. We decided to do one trip with our hotel then made our way around on our own. We got the local bus and dolmus service to nevsheir and urgup. The times are posted outside the local tourist information centre (which was never open) near the bus stops in the centre of goreme. the cost is approx 2tl per person each way the bus take no more than half an hour, be aware that the last bus back from urgup is 4.00pm so check times before leaving the bus station. Urgup tourist information is very useful they leave the booklets and information outside when closed. We walked to the open air museum in Goreme takes approx 15 minute not too difficult with beautiful scenery very well sign posted.
We also walked to cavusin 4 kilometres from goreme a very easy flat walk through the beautiful red valley took about 30-40 minutes each way.
Night life is very limited at this time of year most bars and restaurants were empty we used oneway bar and restaurant in the centre of Goreme was very friendly and warm they had a sober and open fire. my husband asked if they could put the newcastle game on although they did charge 5 tl to watch the game this is normal in some bars, the next day besiktas were playing and they charged the local the same. They had free wifi and the food was quite good.
At this time of year it rarely gets above minus so wrap up warm take plenty of layers and warm clothes. Due to the cold we ate early then went back to the hotel on the occasions we were out later there was not many places with much happening. The area is quite hilly so checking the location of your hotel can be very important. our hotel was perfect just off the centre of the town.
A beautiful place to visit and very recommended I think the best time to visit would be either late may/early june and end sept/beginning oct.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Goreme Ranch also viewed

 

Been to Goreme Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Goreme Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.