We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flat white!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Safak

Cafe Safak
Muze Cadessi no 28 | (On the way to the Goreme open air museum), Goreme 50180, Turkey
+90 384 271 2597
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 74 Restaurants in Goreme
Price range: $3 - $9
Cuisines: Turkish, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Hi,Here are some outstanding features of our cafe:We have THE BEST espresso coffee in Cappadocia (just look at the reviews). To keep things interesting we provide daily homemade specials made by Fatma Cingitas (local of Goreme). Love our food, you'll LOVE our cooking classes, learn from the best, Fatma Cingitas, in her own cave kitchen. Enquire within the cafe. We also have daily English Newspapers available to buy/read. Free book swaps are available to take (as long as you replace with another).
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Flat white!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

They do a good flat white here, for any antipodeans visiting Goreme!

The lentil soup is very popular in Goreme (for whatever reason!) and the soup here was very tasty - the best we tried.

We also had a green salad with beans and corn which was really fresh and lovely.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    457
    117
    30
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best coffee I've had overseas!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

I'm from Melbourne the city of cool cafés and awesome coffee, but this cafe in Goreme is up there with one of the bests I have ever been to! Coffee is spot on and staff are really friendly too!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great little cafe, super coffee, food and staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We'd read plenty of reviews praising Cafe Safak so popped in for some breakfast and a coffee. The food was great and the coffee even better. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, teaching us a few Turkish phrases and telling us about local places to visit. We ended up coming back a couple more times during our stay in Goreme, for coffees or lunch, and it was always a pleasure. Never ate dinner here so can't comment on that, but totally recommend this place for a drink or breakfast/lunch if you're in the area...

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Coffee in Europe by far”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Came here every morning of my stay and was never let down. Coffee the way it should be made and with chilled out friendly service.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“It's a cafe not a restaurant!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Their coffe and buns are probably great. But their proper food is just ok. The hummus was quite bad and the kebabs-sandwiches were just fine. The ayra was not natural.

The place was beautiful and relaxed. And it's cheap. Nice service.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Safak also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Safak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Safak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.