We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go no further. Stop here.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Safak

Cafe Safak
Muze Cadessi no 28 | (On the way to the Goreme open air museum), Goreme 50180, Turkey
+90 384 271 2597
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 68 restaurants in Goreme
Price range: $3 - $9
Cuisines: Turkish, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Hi,Here are some outstanding features of our cafe:We have THE BEST espresso coffee in Cappadocia (just look at the reviews). To keep things interesting we provide daily homemade specials made by Fatma Cingitas (local of Goreme). Love our food, you'll LOVE our cooking classes, learn from the best, Fatma Cingitas, in her own cave kitchen. Enquire within the cafe. We also have daily English Newspapers available to buy/read. Free book swaps are available to take (as long as you replace with another).
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Go no further. Stop here.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We are glad the fog led us to this gem. The lentil soup comes with the set meal and it's fantastic! Everyone speaks English. Not a single disappointment in the dishes -- definitely do the claypot and have your camera/video ready. It's a quick show!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    356
    90
    20
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
virignia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Good overall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Good cafe with a full menu; everything we tried were good, reasonable priced. We sat at the 'Turkish Booth', a nice experience and a good relief to our legs after a long day of hiking. :) We would have skipped the more expensive restaurants and just dined here had we found it earlier.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A great spot to chill”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

One of the best place to sit for a coffee and play cards as well as chatting with other tourists. The food was good, the teas were great and the fruit smoothies were delicious. Very warm service and very welcoming. Family owned so expect the baby girl I be around to tell you that she loves you :)

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Best coffee in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The cafe had one of the tastiest lentil soups we had in Turkey. A family run business that prides itself on good quality local food and coffee at reasonable prices.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing place, great staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

One of the best experiences I had in Göreme: the staff is superb, food is delicious (try Fatma's winning lentil soup) and coffee from the local barista Muhammed. Felt at home there and will definetly reccommend this place to everyone going to Cappadocia.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Safak also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Safak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Safak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.