We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Safak

Cafe Safak
Muze Cadessi no 28 | (On the way to the Goreme open air museum), Goreme 50180, Turkey
+90 384 271 2597
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 74 Restaurants in Goreme
Price range: $3 - $9
Cuisines: Turkish, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Hi,Here are some outstanding features of our cafe:We have THE BEST espresso coffee in Cappadocia (just look at the reviews). To keep things interesting we provide daily homemade specials made by Fatma Cingitas (local of Goreme). Love our food, you'll LOVE our cooking classes, learn from the best, Fatma Cingitas, in her own cave kitchen. Enquire within the cafe. We also have daily English Newspapers available to buy/read. Free book swaps are available to take (as long as you replace with another).
Cambridge MA
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Great set menu and delicious meze dish. Also don't miss the "award winning" lentil soup. Definitely worth a stop. And the prices are great!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    455
    117
    29
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, but dry-ish food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We ordered the homemade meatballs, a salad and what was advertised as Turkish crepes. The meatballs were tasty, and the salad was good as well. The crepe was just bland and uninteresting. With the exception of the salad, everything else was missing something--we think sauces of some sort, such as cacik (tzatziki) or lutenitsa. There are so many delicious Turkish sauces that it was surprising that nothing was offered--not even ketchup for the fries!

After eating at Topdeck, the wonderful restaurant with the well-deserved #1 Tripadvisor ranking for Goreme, we are baffled that Cafe Safak should be rated #2. The atmosphere and staff are very nice, though, so perhaps that has something to do with it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great coffee, food and atmosphere - worth a repeat visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Although I have used TA numerous times Cafe Safak is the first place to inspire me to write a review, and for all the right reasons! We went to Safak 4 times in our 3 days in Goreme. Twice for coffee, once for a snack and wine tasting and once for a drink and to say thank you to Ali, the owner, for helping us organize ballooning and a tour. Safak is in a great location, on the quiet side of the canal from the main street and has a relaxed atmosphere, good food and friendly staff. Sometimes hard to find in a tourist town Safak is a genuinely nice place to grab a coffee, talk to some locals and hang out...Ali might even teach you the tile game Okay if your lucky. 

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlemaine, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great cafe, great coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Cafe Safak was recommended by Murat, cook and excellent supplier of information at the Fairy Chimney Inn, as the best place for great coffee. He was right, strong flat whites and caffe lattes were excellent. It helps that Ali learnt his trade as a barista in Melbourne. Thoroughly recommended, and young Abbsa, the waiter was courteous and attentive.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Lentil soup!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

Loved the delicious lentil soup and lay back friendly atmosphere. All the food we ate was really tasty and cheap. Ali the host was a cool guy. He was really helpful to us and we enjoyed the evening spent there very much. The local red wine was a winner!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Safak also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Safak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Safak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.