We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to start a visit to Goreme” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taskonak Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Taskonak Hotel to your Saves list
Taskonak Hotel
Aydinli Mah. Gungor Sok. No 23, Goreme 50180, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 69 Goreme B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A great place to start a visit to Goreme”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This hotel is so central to the town and and all the nearby sights. It has a wonderful view from the balcony over the town and the surrounding hills. Angela, the owner is very warm and friendly. Her smile is very welcoming and her advice and help is terrific. She prepares great breakfasts - healthy and fresh. Her Turkish mother-in-law cooks the wide assortment of jams all from local fruits.
We had a guide the first day and then on the second day, Angela helped us work out a walking route through the Red and Rose River valley. Her brother in law drove us to the start and we had a magical walk for 4 hours even helping a local lady pick grapes in the middle of nowhere.
Returning to Gerome we ate a seasonal salad at Angela's husband's ( Yilmaz) restaurant 'Fat Boys' . Angela made us a wonderful pot of coffee back at the hotel. Then we watched the long shadows creep across the nearby hills from the dining room in the late afternoon.
Tomorrow will bring another adventure - I'm sure aided by Angela and Yilmaz.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    34
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
94
22
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Taskonak is a beautiful hotel with a wonderful owner. Angela was there to greet us upon our arrival and was always available every morning during breakfast to answer questions and provide advice. She was not too intrusive as some hosts can be but instead welcomed us every time we saw her and offered support and help with everything. She arranged for a car rental for us, and she even arranged for a ride for us one afternoon as I had hurt my ankle and was not able to walk long distances. When Angela was not there, her brother in law would always be there. Although he did not speak much English, he was always very kind.

The breakfast at Taskonak was actually one of my favorites. I loved the simit that Angela served. It was my favorite out of all the ones we had in turkey. The homemade jams her mother-in-law makes were also delicious.

The view from the breakfast terrace was beautiful. If we were up early enough, we saw hot air balloons against the beautiful sky. There is also a beautiful seating area on the terrace which we used regularly during the day when we needed a break from the Goreme heat.

The hotel is about a 5-10 minute walk from the town. I do believe the walk is an easy one and is worth it to get to the beautiful hotel. If I could do it several times a day with an injured ankle, I think most should be able to manage.

My only complaint is that the room we booked (Imaginery Valley, 209) was very very small, in fact probably the smallest room we have ever stayed in. My boyfriend wasn't bothered by it but I certainly was. The bathroom was also very very tiny. We poked our head into some of the other rooms when they were being cleaned and noticed that all of them were that small. We also peaked into a Suite and saw that it was notably larger.

I would absolutely stay at Taskonak again. But I would definitely stay in a Junior Suite rather than one of the regular rooms.

Room Tip: All the regular rooms are very very small. If you are on a budget, it will do. However, if you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

One of the reasons you stay in Goreme is to look at the surrounding scenery. So you want to Stay in Goreme to be in the thick of things but still want the view. This place has it. Just a 5 minute walk up the hill from the main street. (and if you want to see the balloons and get great pictures from the terrace you need to get up early). Unlike some other hotels, even though there are thick walls the room does have wifi reception- to upload the wonderful photos you have taken. The hotel has home made jams and cheeses and a choice of other great traditional turkish breakfast choices with splashes of other things you may like (such as pancakes the days I was there) and you sit on the magnificent terrace whilst eating breakfast or any other time (and there is a chill out area as well with cushions). The rooms are standard size for Turkish hotels (and bigger than most pensions), the bathrooms are standard (and unlike some other hotels in turkey, has shower curtains) with hot water. The owners and staff are friendly and happy to help with any questions or organising things to do or just a chat. It is also just a 5 minute walk up the hill from the main street, so close to everything but with the view.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We had a lovely stay here. Angela was very welcoming and gave us lots of info on our arrival. We had a nice room with log fire (why I booked it) which we lit every night for a bit of warmth and ambience. The breakfast was great, a nice Turkish breakfast which was plentiful, varied and fresh with nice jams and Angela always had some kind of homemade delicacy such as muffins which was nice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Very nice small hotel with great service. Angela (the owner) advised us on everything (ATM, place to rent a scooter, valleys and view point locations, bus to Manavgat etc). We stood at 209 (imaginary valley). Yes, the room is small, but very cozy with Goreme spirit. If you have a lot of luggage, this room is not for you. Goreme is small town, so everything close to you. The view from the breakfast terrace is gorgeous. Early in the morning you can watch balloons.

Room Tip: 209 room is very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Great little hotel in a wonderful spot in Goreme. Very atmospheric. Rooms were a bit on the small side but very clean & comfortable. The breakfast was excellent - some of the best coffee we've had on our trip. Angela (the owner) and Jeanna were both delightful & helpful, assisting us with airport transfers, reserving a balloon ride for us, and helping us rent a car, not to mention helping us acclimate to the region. Overall, tremendous value and one of our favorite hotel stays during our 3-week odyssey.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

No better spot to stay in Goreme. The owner Angela couldn't have been more friendly, helpful, and engaging. Angela knows the area inside and out and has great suggestions for things to do, places to go, restaurants, etc. Angela is an Aussie; her husband Yilmaz is Turkish, equally nice and friendly, and owns a local restaurant called Fat Boys (see separate review). Rooms are clean and vary in size. There is a full buffet breakfast served every morning. Fine wireless internet access. Great views of the fairy chimneys from the outdoor terrace. The staff was also very friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Taskonak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taskonak Hotel

Address: Aydinli Mah. Gungor Sok. No 23, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Taskonak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taskonak Hotel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taskonak Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.