We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved our stay here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taskonak Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Taskonak Hotel to your Saves list
Taskonak Hotel
Aydinli Mah. Gungor Sok. No 23, Goreme 50180, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 74 Goreme B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York
1 review
“Loved our stay here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

My boyfriend and I made our first trip to Cappadocia this July and showed up without much of a plan. Angela was incredibly kind and patient in helping us sort out an itinerary for our stay - she recommended activities for each part of the day and helped us stay within our budget. The homemade breakfasts here were delicious, and we looked forward to them every morning. We especially enjoyed the terrace which had a beautiful view of the lower town and landscape (this made a fantastic viewing point from which to watch the hot air balloons take off in the mornings). While the hotel itself does not have a pool, a neighboring hotel allows guests from Tashkonak to use its pool and spa - take advantage of this as it gets quite hot! Tashkonak and Angela's service get our highest recommendation. We arrived to Cappadocia after three exhausting weeks of traveling and left relaxed, well-fed and rejuvenated.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    37
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
99
26
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

If you are planning a stay in Goreme/Kapadokya make sure to book a room in Taskonak and dont miss out on the great hospitality of Angela, the owner, her great home made breakfast and a nice view on Goreme. On my next trip to Kapadokya I will definitely stay here again. No doubt!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We just returned from a fabulous stay in this fabulous place. We traveled with our 3 teens so the family room was perfect as it has two separate rooms and is great value. It had so much atmosphere and charm, plus terrific breakfasts with homemade pancakes, homemade muffins, cheeses, meat, homemade jams, cereals... and best of all it has ANGELA! What a hostess- she arranged our hot air balloon with what we think is the absolute best company (butterfly balloons) and recommended and got us reservations at great restaurants (fat boys when we arrived at 11 pm-she personally called them to be sure we could get food, plus dibik), got us a private guide for the very next day at a very reasonable price, got us a driver to Olimpos at a better price than anyone else had offered, and just relaxed with us over a scenic breakfast. We also had pool privileges at Kelebek next door, who could ask for more?

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We initially booked Taskonak thinking that it was a part of the Kelebek chain but was pleasantly surprised that Angela had taken over. We saw her for perhaps one night before she flew to UK for a family reunion but enough to make a wonderful impression. She had Mark another Aussie to oversee the place. Mark was superfriendly, and as with Angela, was all out to make our stay wonderful. The Rose suite was ideal for our almost 3 year old, spacious and overlooking the garden which was pleasant for a drink in the evening... Angela had a fan brought to our room for a breeze during the day, and arranged for an extra bed for our little guy. And oh, did we say about the balloons that go up just a block or two behind Taskonak early in the morning?
We went to Cappadocia with the intention of hiking and we were able to do 2 nice hikes - Red and Rose Valley (Red 2 to Rose), and Ihlara Valley(village to Belisirma). Angela (in our case Mark) can help you find some nice Turkish bread, yummy white cheese, cookies, fresh and dried fruit, water and with a car rental, you'll be on your way to these great hikes and a beautiful drive (take the long way always :) We did not use a guide at all but depended on the LP maps and the Taskonak hotel map. You'll find a map or two in the middle of the valley as well. Skimpy at best but we did just fine.
We also liked the Turkish pizza place, Firin Express, down the hill, for a picnic at one of the nearby valleys. Our 3.5 days was way too short...

Room Tip: Choose the Rose suite if you want space and a window overlooks the garden. I initially booked the tw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

I stayed at the Taskonak Hotel in Goreme for two nights in May 2012. It was a fantastic stay and I can't wait to go back some day. Angela, the owner, is so delightful. She provided great recommendations and arranged transportation and balloons rides for me. She even went out of her way to provide a to-go breakfast (which was delicious) when my departure time was very early. The rooms were very tidy and well-kept and the location was gorgeous on top of a hill.

If I'm ever back in Goreme (i hope to be!), I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We booked the Cappadocia portion of our trip through Turkish Heritage Travel (GREAT company to book with) and we ended up at Taskonak. It's a charming, warm hotel, but most of the credit goes to Angela and her husband. She made us feel so welcome and helped us out in so many ways - recommending an amazing restaurant (can't remember the name -- it was at the bottom of the hill; clay pot 'stew' that was incredible.) She booked us appointments at a hamam, hooked us up with a guide friend of hers at Turkish Heritage (Jules, another expat) who took us on a gorgeous hike through the Red and Rose Valleys.

Angela looked after us so well -- it felt like we were staying at a friend's house, not a hotel. The amazing part was that she told us that she and her husband had just (re) -opened the hotel about 10 days earlier; she was still buying decorations, etc. for the rooms, but you never would have known.

The location is perfect; not too far up the hill, great view of the surrounding valleys/mountains. The view from the open patio of all the balloons up in the air in the morning is breathtaking.

There's a restaurant across the street from the hotel that has an amazing view at sunset and very good food - we ended up going there twice for dinner.

The room was clean, bathroom huge, with a hair dryer and bath products. Very quiet. The beds in our room weren't terribly comfortable, but certainly not a deal-breaker. (I'm picky about beds, so it could be just me). There's no clock, phone or TV. Extra pillows and blankets were available in the room.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in June in a double room. The guest house is perfectly situated with a fantastic view over Goreme. The room was very clean and well maintained and it had a very comfortable bed.
I notice some earlier reviews were not very positive but new owners, Angela and Yilmaz, have certainly turned things around. Yilmaz went out of his way to help us – organising lifts to go walking, arranging tours or ballooning, nothing was too much trouble. Even after we checked out we were offered use of the bathroom facilities to freshen up before our overnight bus ride to Istanbul.
Breakfast was plentiful and delicious, served on the terrace overlooking the township.
We thoroughly enjoyed our time here and consider it the highlight of our trip to Turkey.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms have good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Taskonak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taskonak Hotel

Address: Aydinli Mah. Gungor Sok. No 23, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Taskonak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taskonak Hotel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taskonak Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.