We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taskonak Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Taskonak Hotel to your Saves list
Taskonak Hotel
Aydinli Mah. Gungor Sok. No 23, Goreme 50180, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 74 Goreme B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in June in a double room. The guest house is perfectly situated with a fantastic view over Goreme. The room was very clean and well maintained and it had a very comfortable bed.
I notice some earlier reviews were not very positive but new owners, Angela and Yilmaz, have certainly turned things around. Yilmaz went out of his way to help us – organising lifts to go walking, arranging tours or ballooning, nothing was too much trouble. Even after we checked out we were offered use of the bathroom facilities to freshen up before our overnight bus ride to Istanbul.
Breakfast was plentiful and delicious, served on the terrace overlooking the township.
We thoroughly enjoyed our time here and consider it the highlight of our trip to Turkey.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms have good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    37
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
99
26
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We stayed here for 3 days in the hotel style room and found it really good, it was a great place to base and explore Goreme from. The owner Angela (a lovely straight shooting Aussie girl) and her staff were so heplful and friendly. Even when we arrived very early, she allowed us to have breakfast and check into our room, something very rare in this day, which showed they value the experience a guest has.
The view while having breakfast from the balcony is beautiful and we looked forward to sitting there every morning and evening, you can never tire of the view.
The breakfast was excellent, it had something freshly baked everyday and even a jar of vegemite to put on your toast.
The rooms are very comfortable, cool and relaxing at anytime of the day.

Angela helped us to make all our tour and transport arrangements and recommended some great places to eat. Fatboys was one of them, it has great food and a great place to meet people over a game of pool.
I highly recommend this place and I will make sure I come back. Next trip, we will stay in the suite cave, as it was huge and had a great bath.... and I am sure we deserve it. Do you?
Thanks Angela and staff, cant wait to return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maroochydore, Australia
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

Found this place on Trip Advisor. My husband booked it on it's recent merits. We arrived way too early at 5am instead of 8 and were concerned about disturbing the owners at such an early time. A quick call from their guy who does the night shift and Angela was before us in a jiffy! Checked us in early and told us to rest up and she would get our details later. A hot shower and a good rest, we felt human again! From that point onwards, it was home sweet home for us. Angela and her husband puts their personal touches into their hotel. If you arrive a stranger and leave as one, something is wrong somewhere. I left 4 days later missing her breakfast, her cheery smile, great sense of humor and just her!! Angela, booked our balloon flights and it rocked our world. Be cautious with whom you go with as we have read reviews where people have been short changed. We can't complain. Our experience was perfect! I am not a breakfast person but Angela bakes and each morning, I looked forward to what she had prepared. I arrived a stranger and left as a friend as she made me feel so at home. I even cooked in her kitchen, with her blessings ......:) ..... Forget past reviews, that was a different owner. The new owners ROCK! Angela even recommended things that we could do in Istanbul. While in Cappadocia, check out Fat Boys. My husband had a boy's night there, playing pool with fellow travellers. Beers are always cold! I will surely return to Taskonak in the future because Cappadocia is an amazing place to visit and it helps that you have a friend to visit as well. Thank You Angela!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Taskonak Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review, you guys are so sweet! I miss you (and your curry!!) oh and you bettre tell steve i miss him too!! lol!!!! hope you guys enjoy the rest of your trip and we hope to see you again, it was so great having you here. xxxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

I had a great stay here. Angela, who owes the hotel with her husband was a delight. Beautiful views from the terrace, the best breakfast in town, very clean rooms and comfortable outdoor lounge. Sleeping in a cave room was an unforgettable experience. I stayed there before and after my Mt Nemrut tour. Get up early and take a quick walk around town or to the Goreme Open Air Museum, then return for some great coffee and watch the balloons float by.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scl
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

My husband and I stayed for 4 days in May. The breakfasts were the best we had in all of Turkey. Most items were homemade, even peanut butter. Angela is a sweetheart. She is really helpful and goes out of her way to help out. Rooms were quiet and extremely clean. The bathroom ventilation could have been better but it was definitely above acceptable; I assume it has something to do w it being a cave room. It could just have been our room only. We would stay here again without a hesitation. The location is extremely convenient.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Taskonak hotel offers a stunning view of the town of Göreme and the surrounding area, including Rose Valley. The hotel owners and staff are very friendly, and even serve as travel guides as well; they are happy to set up tours in the area for you, as well as suggest places to eat. When you stay at Taskonak, you get a 10% discount at a restaurant in town called Fat Boys, which serves up some of the better food I found in Göreme. You will not be disappointed!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

We literally stumbled across this hidden gem and were delighted. We wanted a reasonable price and views - we got that and so much more! Angela and Yilmaz are excellent hosts, breakfast scrumptious, rooms spotless, plus a huge terrace for lounging and admiring the captivating views. Taskonak Hotel is an excellent choice in Goreme. Jack and Lucy.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Taskonak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taskonak Hotel

Address: Aydinli Mah. Gungor Sok. No 23, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Taskonak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taskonak Hotel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taskonak Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.