We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great view and convenient location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dervish Cave House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Dervish Cave House to your Saves list
Dervish Cave House
Gafeli mah no :6, Goreme 50180, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 50 Hotels in Goreme
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“great view and convenient location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We spent 3 nights in this hotel. It is at a convenient location to the market area and many restaurants serving Turkish cuisine down the road. The rooms were just right with all basic requirements(no hair-drier though) including a Jacuzzi which was great! Ibrahim was very courteous and helpful. The breakfast was very basic but good enough. A very good option for a budget hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    96
    14
    6
    4
See reviews for
86
156
24
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ankara, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We had very high hopes for this location. We had booked through booking.com and got what we thought was a very good rate, but overall we were quite disappointed. We were initially given a large room (which is what we had booked) on the ground floor. It faced right on to the courtyard where people go to smoke, and we asked to be moved. The room we were moved to was much smaller and smelled very musty.

The rooms and facilities were not clean (and I don't mean by "sleeping-in-a-cave" standards) - dirty floors, hair around the bathroom and on the towels, and a very grimy shower head. The room also smelled extremely musty and dirty - again, I know that it's in a cave, but there seemed to be no attempt to de-humidify, so we opened the window (in February). The room also lacked tabletop space. There was nowhere to put a bag, toiletries, etc. aside from the floor or the floor of the closet. Service was fine but nothing to write home about. The fact that breakfast is included was quite nice, and the breakfast was good: extensive and reasonably tasty.

Aside from breakfast, the one saving grace is that the location was quite good: close to the lookout and to the centre of town. On balance, we would absolutely not recommend this hotel and will not be staying there again.

Room Tip: The room on the ground floor was objectively a nicer room. If you are not as concerned about privacy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

we stayed in dervish cave house for 3 days and were overwhelmed by the warmth and friendliness from the staff there..ibrahim helped us out with suggestions and cemal was also very helpful..the rooms were maintained very well and breakfast was good too..we also took the balloon flight which was one of our best experiences so far..would definitely stay here again whenever i visit capadoccia

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We have recently been at the Dervish Cave House. The hotel is lovely with authentic cave rooms and rooms in fairy chimneys. Breakfast was great. A mix of Turkish and continental/buffet breakfast. The family run hotel staff are very attentive and helpful. They advised us on tours and gave us information about the town and hot air balloon companies. Another good point is that the hotel is very central and you can walk to the centre and nearby attractions such as the open air museum and the Turkish baths. The hotel rooms also include a jacuzzi bath which is lovely after a day out. We definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

I stayed 4 nights in early December 2013. Rooms were excellent - clean and heated. Ibrahim (who is also a balloon pilot) was friendly and very helpful. There is wifi access for those who crave it. The hotel is also in a good location for restaurants and for pre-dawn strolls up to the lookout to see the balloons at sunrise. Overall, I had no issues during my stay, and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

I have a great experience with Dervish Cave House Hotel.

It is a small, family run cave hotel, almost in the center of Goreme (200 m from city center). Location is great: you need only 2 min on foot to city center, but yet again, you have some peace and quiet when you return to your room to take some rest.
Hotel is very charming. Nice and cozy reception and suites are in fairy chimneys, but very nice and modern furnished. In rooms you don't wifi, which is completely reasonable, but you have free wireless at the reception and in the rose garden. In rooms is central heating, which is important for those who would come during winter time.
To me maybe the most important thing when I book hotel is a bathroom and it was great. Hot water the whole time (I've been in many hotels in Turkey, and not in all you have hot water every time), enough place for all my toiletry bags (just hate bathrooms where you don't have enough space to put all your cosmetics).
Rose garden is so dashing. Old tables and chairs, so you can relax at maximum while watching Cappadocian landscape. You can drink your tea while cats play around and enjoy in a beautiful sunset.
Personal is what makes this hotel so great. Cemal, he is one of managers, he waited for us, even though we came very late at evening; did the check in and explained everything. Next morning he gave us informations about all possibilities what to do and see in Cappadocia and explained all excursions. He was very friendly, polite and nice. The most important, 24/7 helpful. Whatever and whenever you need anything, believe me, he will provide that for you as soon as possible. He is really a true representation of famous Turkish hospitality. :)
Cemal arranged for us: transfer from/to airport, Turkish Night, Sema, Hot air ballooning, Green tour and Red tour.
Why to spend your time and to hassle in agencies, when you can just say what you want, and somebody else will do the whole organization for you. :)
Very important information: the personal speaks english fluently.

Excellent hotel, extraordinary kind stuff, great location, good prices. I had a fantastic stay and was more than satisfied. If I would come back to Cappadocia, definitely would stay in this hotel again.

I highly recommend this hotel to everyone for amazing hospitality of whole stuff and really comfortable accommodation.
I'm definitely sure you won't regret.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed in Dervish Cave House and Suites from 26-29 Dec 2013 and had a tremendously enjoyable experience. We stayed in one of the family suites and found the rooms to be spacious, very clean, and extremely comfortable. The breakfast, though simple, was very wholesome and delicious (one of the best french toasts I have had in years). Ibrahim was amazingly helpful and cooperative, his advice really made our stay delightful and economical. He provided us with several options for touring Cappadocia that allowed us to explore and experience this beautiful place at our own pace without being harried by tour guides and tour companies. We opted for a private taxi with a driver (who was fantastic) which proved to be more economical than touring with a group. Ibrahim also arranged a balloon ride for us with Kappadokya Balloons which was very enjoyable and fun (Cemal was a fantastic pilot). We also went on a Turkish Night experience which was quite fun. Since one of the members of my family had mobility issues climbing 4 flights of stairs to access the reception and main street was a little difficult. However, this could not dampen the fantastic experience we had. We highly recommend the hotel for the comfortable accommodation and the amazing hospitality of the staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dervish Cave House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dervish Cave House

Address: Gafeli mah no :6, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Goreme
#10 Family Hotel in Goreme
#21 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dervish Cave House offers enchanting and elegant accommodation in restored 8 old Cappadocian house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Dervish Cave House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dervish Cave House Hotel Goreme
Dervish Cave Hotel
Dervish Cave House Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dervish Cave House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.