We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, beautiful room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dervish Cave House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Dervish Cave House to your Saves list
Dervish Cave House
Gafeli mah no :6, Goreme 50180, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 50 Hotels in Goreme
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Great staff, beautiful room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I stayed with three other friends at this hotel for four nights and had a great time. The hotel picked us up from the airport for 25TL per person each way (great price compared to what some taxis charge in Istanbul) and also gave us a discount for booking our hot air balloon and a day tour with them. The rooms we stayed in were brand new and the bathroom suite had a hot tub and very modern fixtures--the owner told us they were only 3 months old (but they are still cave rooms--looked like they were either carved into a hillside or plastered to look like caves--pretty convincing to me!) We also got free Turkish breakfast every morning with eggs cooked to order. The room also had a small flat screen TV with cable and some English channels.

The only minor words of caution I have for staying at this hotel (and I'm not sure if this is true of all cave hotels) is that when we went it was a bit chilly outdoors and even though the room felt warm, it smelled a bit musty, like a basement. I was told that this is not the case during the warmer months, so that may be irrelevant. Also--I would not recommend eating at the restaurant down the street. The hotel owner had recommended it initially but apologized when we told them we had had a bad experience with the service waiting until three of us had finished eating to tell our fourth friend her order was out of order. (We also found better restaurants on the main street, which are very walkable from the hotel later during our stay).

I would highly recommend both the balloon ride and the tour (we took the green tour, which takes you to see the harder-to-get-to and geographically spread out attractions) through the hotel--I think the both the ride and tour weren't the cheapest if we wanted to do a lot of digging, but it was way cheaper than anything I found online before the trip and was definitely worth the money. The hotel owner was not too pushy--which I appreciated--when trying to sell us these services, so I didn't feel pressured to buy through the hotel (it was just convenient and seemed reasonably priced compared to forums I read online).

Room Tip: My friends and I traveled as two couples and the suite we stayed in had a door separating the "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    96
    13
    6
    4
See reviews for
86
155
24
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Goreme
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Booked accommodation at Dervish Cave House, recommended by friends. Made booking telephonically and spoke to the manager Ibo. Excellent, efficient service and an unforgettable experience!

Warm welcome on arrival and was upgraded to a cave suite. Very spacious and tastefully furnished. Like home away from home!

Centrally located in the centre of Goreme. Ibo and his team went out of their way to make it an unforgettable weekend! I can highly recommend Dervish Cave House!!!

Room Tip: All cave rooms are great and special! Stayed in suite 21!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay in Cappadocia and a large part of it was my stay at Dervish Cave House. The breakfast is included (a delicious an abundant buffet with so much variation). the staff was great. Ibo, who runs the place with his two cousins is very friendly and organizes everything for you in terms of tours and what to do around Cappadocia for great values as well. the rooms were very, very clean. I even had a bathtub in my room. there are tv's air conditioner, heating and a hairdryer. The best part is the location of the hotel. Stay here!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

You must stay here!!

Everything the other reviewers wrote is true - the cave rooms at Dervish were spacious and beautiful, the breakfast buffet was delicious and plentiful, the staff were all very friendly and helpful (and offered us tea any time we wanted), and they helped us organize everything during our stay (airpot transport, Green tour, hot air balloon ride - which were all amazing!). We really enjoyed hanging out with Ibrahim and Cemal after a long day out touring - it felt like coming back home and talking to friends!

I want to add that Ibrahim truly went the extra mile for us. My friend left her passport in the room and didn't realize it was missing until we were already on the shuttle to the airport. We called Ibrahim and he quickly rushed to the room and found it, and offered to drive to Kayseri airport (50 min away) to deliver it!! There wasn't enough time, though, and he mailed it right away to our next guesthouse. He was very thorough and followed through to make sure we received it, which really speaks to how wonderful he and the rest of the staff are!

And did I mention he is also a balloon pilot?? Try to fly with him if you can!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Besides the excellent room, the beautiful terrace, the amazing views of goreme, the delicious breakfast, you will find here the nicest people ever. The managers - Ibrahim and his cousin - are very sweet and helpfully people. They have been very nice to us even before we arrived. They helped us to organize the whole trip to cappadocia suggesting companies for the balloon flight, arranging our airport shuttle and so on by email. At all times they made sure we were ok and they were ready to make the most of our time here. Ibrahim even gave us a free ride to see the rose valley. Isn't it nice?!

Room Tip: I have stayed in number 1. Great with a hot tube.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truth or Consequences, New Mexico, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I and my boyfriend stayed at the Dervish Cave House for one night and we had a great time. The cave room was cosy and comfortable, warm with a Jacuzzi - perfect after spending a day cycling around!
But most importantly, the service was excellent, the hotel staff provided for all our needs: plentiful breakfast, they showed us things to do and visit, they booked tickets for our daily tour and for our return trip and they even gave us a lift to the bus stop. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

The hotel is very close to Goreme open air museum
Hospitality is remarkable and all people working in this hotel are so friendly, they speak english and provide all needed info when needed
Room was so clean and special, breakfast tasy and the garden is amazing especially whene there is sun

Room Tip: All rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dervish Cave House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dervish Cave House

Address: Gafeli mah no :6, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Goreme
#10 Family Hotel in Goreme
#21 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dervish Cave House offers enchanting and elegant accommodation in restored 8 old Cappadocian house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Dervish Cave House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dervish Cave House Hotel Goreme
Dervish Cave Hotel
Dervish Cave House Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dervish Cave House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.