We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Single Cave Room was cold during winter but friendly hosts” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Yasin's Place Backpackers Cave Hotel

Save Saved
You added Yasin's Place Backpackers Cave Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Yasin's Place Backpackers Cave Hotel
Gaferli Mah. Cevizler Sok. No: 13, Goreme 50180, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 18 Specialty lodging in Goreme
Kuala Lumpur
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
120 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
“Single Cave Room was cold during winter but friendly hosts”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2010

I stayed in the Single Cave Room - which was a lot smaller than expected. There was only room for the mattress and a radiator. During the 2 nights I booked, the radiator was also not working but the hosts provided me with an extra blanket and checked me into another room for 1 night (for sleeping). I wouldnt stay in the Single Cave room again as it was just too small, but if I may book the larger rooms or the dorm. The family hosting the place was really friendly but however, they could have put more effort into fixing my radiator after I reported it on the first night.

It is located quite close to the bus station and you can book daily tours through the hostel. There is a computer which the family uses that you can use for 20 minutes for internet purposes. The hostel has a homey feel to it, breakfast was omelette or the Turkish breakfast. Was okay but nothing overly fancy.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    16
    6
    4
    3
See reviews for
3
13
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2010

I can only say "wow" and "absolutely fantastic" about our double cave room. The experience was truly unforgettable.
At the same time, the cave dormitory where we went to one evening seemed damp and humid, so I'm not sure that the people staying there had as positive emotions about their room as we had.
The big disadvantage for a winter stay are the shared showers upstairs, because to access them, unless you stay in rooms 5 or 6, you need to cross a very cold passage leading outside, and there's no door to keep out the cold. So, you literally pass outside, and with the temperature below zero that's no fun at all.
Also, the central heating works only at night - not a big problem, as the caves keep warmth for a long time, but it's better to know this in advance.
On the positive side, the staff were very friendly and helpful. On the whole it was a positive experience.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2009

Our night bus arrived at 3 am. instead of 6 am. It was freaking cold outside, we entered the hostel in the darkness and luckily met Mr. Yasin who still wandered around. He opened the room for us so we could stay one more night without additional charge.

Book a Cappadocia tour and balloon tour with him was much cheaper than booking directly with the tour company. Furthermore, he also arranged the bus to other city for us with no commission charge.

No prob with wi-fi internet, it worked well in the reception area.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2009

I checked out a few hotels in Goreme before settling on this one, but the hotels all seemed to be about the same quality, and this was the cheapest one I found. I had only planned to stay for one night as I wasn't exactly sure what there was to see in Cappadocia, but I ended up staying for several days. Yasin was very helpful with arranging tours and activities, and there is so much to see in this region. The breakfast was also great, and is a great value, especially if you are staying in one of the very cheap dorm rooms. The cave can be a little cold at night, so ask for extra blankets. Overall staying in the cave was a great experience!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
107 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2008

There are many hotels in this area, and I think I made a mistake by choosing this one. The price is not cheap compared to others, I get a single room at 25Liran, with very very small room and shared bathroom, while I met a korean couple, get a double room at same price in other hotel.
Besides, though this hotel claimed to provide free wifi, but the wifi is very problematic, most of the time cannot not be used. I felt I got cheated.

  • Stayed December 2008
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Yasin's Place Backpackers Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yasin's Place Backpackers Cave Hotel

Address: Gaferli Mah. Cevizler Sok. No: 13, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 Specialty lodging in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelWorld so you can book your Yasin's Place Backpackers Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yasin's Place Backpackers Cave Hotel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yasin's Place Backpackers Cave Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.