We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A surprising experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Flintstones Cave Hotel and Pension

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Flintstones Cave Hotel and Pension to your Saves list
Flintstones Cave Hotel and Pension
3.0 of 5 Pension (B&B)   |   Uzundere Cad. Karsibucak Sok. No:3, Goreme 50180, Turkey   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 74 Goreme B&B and Inns
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A surprising experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

The rate was so cheap that I could expect nothing when I booked this hotel. When I arrived at the hotel at 1am, there was a very cool English speaking guide waiting for me and my husband. The room was so good and cute that I wanted to stay a little bit more at the city just to enjoy my room. The bathroom is very, very clean and good. The hotel does not do international phone calls, but they kept my mother quiet when she tried to contact me, telling her I arrived and was well. I loved the hotel. I really recommend!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    68
    14
    7
    5
See reviews for
68
86
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

Beautful cave room, with jacuzzi, good bed (the first long enough for my husband). Great swimming pool & breakfast. Good information about the region. Good & central location.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

Of my 6 weeks in Turkey, The Flintstones Cave hotel and the wonderful team were by far the highlight of an incredible vacation.
Initially I stayed here with my friend, we had a beautiful cave room, incredibly comfortable with modern bathroom, looking on to the much loved swimming pool, both Mehmet Ali (owner) and Mehmet (Manager) were wonderful in organizing all of our desired and much anticipated adventures, hot air ballooning, horseriding, underground cities, hire car and detailed directions and advice on enjoying this divine paradise called Cappadoccia, all of which were far beyond our expectations for both value and most importantly experience after such a brilliant stay, I returned as a lone female traveller, (twice) to another fabulous private cave room and cannot express my great appreciation for the highly professional and genuinely caring service that I received, especially as a lone female. From the beautiful Emine cooking some of my most favorite Turkish dishes, including a very yummy breakfast, to the warm smiles of the hotel cleaners and the rest of the team patiently trying to teach me some Turkish and eagerly assisting my every need, to the management happily sharing the meaning of turkish culture, it was a constant dilema...should I lay by the pool...have a chat with the wonderful staff...enjoy the rustic charm of my room...or actually visit the wonderful sites
Do yourself a great favor by staying here and experience the true kindness and care of these wonderful people in this most brilliant hotel....

Room Tip: if choosing a private room go for a view of the swimming pool, mind you, all of the rooms I stayed i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

This hotel is near the centre of goreme and prices is too low :)) it has a swimming pool and mr. Mehmet ali who is the owner of the hotel is very pleausure guy n hostile, place is very old butic n gothic architectural design and the best condition is u r in the centre of capadocia, now he is talkin with me n doesnt know what i writin bout on my iphone :))

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

We were somewhat disappointed with our experience. The staff is wonderful, but our room was dark and musty and a little dirty, the bed was rock hard, and the toilet was leaking and running the whole time we were there. There was noise late into the night and early in the morning right outside our room. The outdoor areas were nice, though also a little worn and dirty. The breakfast was probably the least impressive one we had in Turkey, and we stayed mostly at budget hotels. Overall, we probably got what we paid for, and we probably should have been willing to pay a little more. The cave experience was disappointing, and I've heard some cave rooms are magnificent.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

A large group of us stayed in the Flintstones in February/March 2008. I have never forgotten the experience! Goreme is beautiful in the off season - especially in the snow. The snow adds to the otherworldly/lunar quality of the landscape. The Flintstones accommodation is probably lovely in the hot weather, but not suited to cold weather. We had a very large 'cave' room with a beautiful marble bathroom. However the radiator did not work properly, and there was a high up window that was letting the cold air in (gaps all around the frame) that not even my duct-tape could solve! It was too cold for comfort. We checked out that day and moved to another b&b (Elif Star Caves) - for warmth.

The rest of our party stayed. It seems our room had web better than most - some had frozen toilets. We used to join our friends during the week in the communal area of Flintstones. The young, sleazy men running Flintstones were always in a corner. The wood burner they had to heat that room was not efficient and I'm quite sure that carbon monoxide leake from it, due to the headaches and the waviness visible in the air in the room. Our friends gave them clothes to wash, only to get back still wet clothes at the end of the trip-the guys had tried to first dry the clothes outside (remember there was snow on the ground), and then in the communal room which never got warm enough.

With the swimming pool in the summer I'd say it's a good budget option. It was empty for obvious reasons when we were there - there a beautiful modern Turkish baths in the town. AVOID Flintstones if the weather's cold! The cave rooms are as impressive as the lovely, romantic one we stayed in Elif Star Cave across from Flintstones. Goreme is wonderful! The hot air ballon ride is a must!

Room Tip: The cave rooms here are not examples of true cave rooms in Goreme. I'd recommend to say in Elif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

Seriously, there's no way that you haven't a new experience at Flintstones Cave Hotel and Pension. Staff is so nice, swimming pool is so great, activities are so easy to book...do you need more reasons to choose Flintstones? We slept in dorms. Best deal ever breakfast inclued! Have a nice trip :)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Flintstones Cave Hotel and Pension? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flintstones Cave Hotel and Pension

Address: Uzundere Cad. Karsibucak Sok. No:3, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Flintstones Cave Hotel and Pension 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are planning to travel to Cappadocia, and you need to have cave hotel in Cappaodocia, this is the right place you are looking for. In our cave hotels, cave pension you can recapture that inner tranquility by nourishing your soul within a truly relaxing environment. Your eyes behold mellow sunrises, spectacular sunsets & the twinkling of faraway lights, while the vastness of the evening sky can show the undulating hills of the surrounding countryside. Your body becomes reinvigorated by trekking back in time to historic sights and unique geological formations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Flintstones Cave Hotel and Pension reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flintstones Cave Hotel And Pension Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flintstones Cave Hotel and Pension, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.