We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Local Restaurant

Local Restaurant
Muze Caddesi 38, Goreme, Turkey
+903842712629
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 68 restaurants in Goreme
Cuisines: Italian, Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

The food was quite tasteless, especially the vegetables which seemed to come directly from the freezer. However the wine was good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

63% Recommend
    9
    10
    5
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Lovely meal prompt service, very cheap”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We had a lovely meal here one evening on the recommendation of our guide - independent with no axe to grind. The place was empty which was a bit off putting, but it was early and during Ramadan, so no great surprise. The food was lovely, fresh, nicely cooked, and good portions - I had a lamb shank, and Mezes. At the end a free fruit plate. If I remember right I escaped for TL100 for 4 people... Amazing, and probably better than the 5* hotel up the road.

Being critical it was a bit close to the road, but you get to watch the world go by...

Thanks.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good food well presented”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Just had a meal in this restaurant, I have to it was the best so far this holiday, the vegetarian selection appeared a little limited, but the chef cooked a mixed veg and cheese quesadilla with salsa and sour cream dips, delicious !

I had one of the local specials, tender chicken with a mushroom filling smothered in cheese, served with a spicy potato and onion side, and garnished with fresh tomato and peppers, tasted as good as it sounds

Not too expensive either, attentive but not overbearing staff made for a nice start to our stay in Goreme, makes a change from the bustle of Istanbul.

Would recommend this if you are in the area

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota FL
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Tasty, clean with great fixed price three course menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

This is our favorite storefront restaurant in Goreme. The food was tasty and less greasy than elsewhere. The pottery main course is delicious and fun.

It's located at the corner of the Main Street and Muze (museum) street.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
197 helpful votes 197 helpful votes
“Both good and bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We went to this restaurant because it looked nice and we liked the menue. We had salmon and chicken. The salmon was just perfect! It was SO good, so we decided to go back there our last night in Göreme. We both ordered salmon. But I'm sorry to say, this time the fish was over cooked, dry, hard and not good at all. We told the waiter and asked if there was a new cook today. He answered that it was the same cook as the day before and then he appologized! So, this is why I call this review both good and bad. If you go there you might be lucky and have a super good salmon!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Local Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Local Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Local Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.