We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful hotel, an oasis of peace, in a fairy chimney” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cave Hotel Saksagan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Cave Hotel Saksagan to your Saves list
Cave Hotel Saksagan
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kagni Yolu Sok. No:1, Goreme 50180, Turkey   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 54 Hotels in Goreme
Turin, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A beautiful hotel, an oasis of peace, in a fairy chimney”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

The rooms are charming and carved in the cone of a fairy chimney of Cappadocia, decorated with anatolian carpets and overlooking a lush, beautiful garden. A wonderful experience made unique by the hospitality and friendship of Duman Atak and staff. Try absolutely!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    49
    6
    4
    3
See reviews for
20
47
26
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

THis hotel is set on a slight hill in the middle of Goreme, overlooking amazing mountainous scenery you cant find anywhere else. Our room was built into the fairy chimney with a traditional cave feeling to it. IT was clean and comfortable and decorated with care. THe owner and everyone that worked there looked after us splendidly. I travelled with my mum and they made sure our safety and comfort was met at all times. THis is a great place to stay as a woman as the owner will take time to explain the areas in detail and give you great hints. For us it felt like staying with family. We are very thankful!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2010

Stayed one night in a "fairy chimney" room. It consisted in a TV, a clean double bed and a generous bathroom (large enclosed shower). The included breakfast was good with a nice omelette, and the staff was really friendly and knowledgeable. I could not really have asked for more, since hotels in this region are from what I heard quite spartan.

Good points: Great location (2 minutes away from bus stop) and great hotel architecture - terasse on two floors. The one on the second floor was relaxing and had a great view of Goreme. Great staff also.

Bad points: Well it is quite hot in July and August and there's no air conditionning. Actually, almost no hotel in the area has air conditioning - so not that much of a bad point.

Overall, great hotel and would go back here without thinking twice. I saw that review saying that the shower was bad... It was not my case but maybe you should check the room first.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

Absolutely loved my stay in Goreme just because of staying at Saksagan.... great atmosphere, clean, great breakfast, friendly, great location, comfortable staying, everyone was really helpful and friendly. a stay i will never forget!!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

Loved staying here! The courtyard was exquisite with cherry and apricot trees and flowers. A good quality breakfast (including lots of fresh fruit) was served here. Our hosts were accommodating and helpful. And Numan is a character :) Very conveniently located. Walking distance to the town centre. Overall very enjoyable.

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2010

I've stayed in several hotels in Goreme, my favorite Cappadocian town. None come close to the Saksagan. Osman, the owner and Numan, his son will provide all the information and tips you need to make the most of your stay in the area.
The rooms are spotless and decorated with lovely Turkish rugs on the walls and floor . (I am baffled by the earlier comment that the walls need painting. Cave walls should never be painted if they are to keep their natural ability of keeping the rooms at a constant cool temperature.) The baths are clean with great showers and plenty of solar heated water. Breakfasts are included, delicious and varied.
The hotel is small and intimate, tastefully decorated, and extremely well run.
The authors of any negative reviews sure don't describe the Saksagan I know!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2010

This is a horrible little hotel and I simply cannot understand the reviews. I wasn't expecting much going in, just the basics. A clean room, decent bed, a CLEAN shower. what i got was a filthy room, with a damp bed. the shower consisted of a drain in the washroom floor next to the toilet, no tub or enclosure. There were moths flying all over the room. there was only one light and it only lit up the entry way. This only helped us c all the moths that were attracted to it. My friend had two bugs climb out of his bed when he tried to go to sleep. Our complaints fell on deaf ears and the owner appeared surprised that we had the audacity to complain. We spent one night here and cut short our stay. Stay away from this dump.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cave Hotel Saksagan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cave Hotel Saksagan

Address: Kagni Yolu Sok. No:1, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cave Hotel Saksagan 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cave Hotel SAKSAGAN is an old cave Cappadocian house turned into an inn in 1983 and restorated in 2002. At the moment it is a small boutique hotel with 12 en-suite rooms that offer you history, nature and culture altogether and is ready to become your own home in Göreme. Rooms are located within fairy-chimneys and carved into rocks. All the rooms are clean, spacious, and decorated in the Ottoman Style by owner Osman Atak. “Although it wasn’t easy to work in the fairy-chimneys, because they are very tough, we achieved to set up the rooms and bathrooms into the fairy-chimneys with the help of modern devices” says Mr. Osman. Cave Hotel SAKSAGAN has a wonderful garden with the smells of hundreds of different flowers. The hotel is also known as “Garden of Piraye Hanım” by Turkish people after taking part in the common film series “Asmali Konak”. Breakfast in Cave Hotel SAKSAGAN is served either on the terrace, with its magical Göreme view, or in the garden accompanied with birds in songs. Special dinner parties or BBQ can be arranged on request. The hotel has 24 hours reception and provides hospitality at its best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Cave Hotel Saksagan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cave Hotel Saksagan Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cave Hotel Saksagan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.