We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent cave hotel - highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peri Cave Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Peri Cave Hotel to your Saves list
Peri Cave Hotel
Muze Cad. No:24, Goreme 50180, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 54 Hotels in Goreme
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent cave hotel - highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We booked this hotel for 4 nights and ended up with the coolest room there: a cave room right in the fairy chimney! The room itself was huge: there was a sitting area that could host an entire Turkish family, a sleeping area and of course a bathroom. All that for 50 euro a night ... we say it's worth it!! :-) The hotel has a nice courtyard with tables/chairs, apricot trees and a hammock. This is where the good daily breakfast is served as well. The location is excellent, somewhat on the edge of Goreme, on the way to the Open Air Museum (pretty much everyone visiting Cappadocia goes there). The atmosphere is relaxed and friendly.
The staff, Murat, Mustafa and Mustafa, were true highlights. They were very welcoming and made us feel at home straight away. We certainly kept that feeling for the remainder of our days there. They always asked how we were doing, how our day had been and what we had been up to. It was not just that, they were also very professional, organised and helpful. If there was even the slightest problem, they would jump in, make a call or something. Murat even offered to drive us out to one of the valleys to start our hike there, which we gladly accepted. We can honestly say that they were - by far - the best hosts we have encountered during our travels through Turkey. And not just to us, we have seen this happen with all their customers, whether they were young or old, male or female, travelling alone, as a family, a group or a couple. We were impressed, as you might have guessed by now :-) This place and its staff really deserves a full house all the time!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    50
    14
    6
    5
See reviews for
19
55
24
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nice, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

I was ready to go home after Istanbul. The noise, constant badgering to buy, buy, buy and the air! Peri Cave was my first port of call after Istanbul and it and the area turned my Turkey experience around. You cannot expect 5 stars from cave room as much as you would for a new hotel. But as has already been said, the experience is terrific and unforgetable. To stay in a room occupied by generations of people is amazing. The facilities were basic but comfortable. The place is more of a Pension than a hotel in that the family is heavily involved and the other staff are very helpful and friendly. The central communal area is cool and inviting and it is located very close to the town which is also a pleasant place to be. I cannot thank the guys there enough!

Room Tip: all the rooms are excellent, from what I heard whilst there. The majority open onto the central cour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

You get what you payed for in terms of bathrooms, comfort and cleaniness; but the staff is incredible, the owners will make your stay in Goreme an unforgettable one for sure.

The dining area is beautiful and charming and having breakfast there is delicious.

Also, location is great, very near the bus station and all the town buzz, but far enough to have a peaceful night's sleep.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

There are many cave hotels in Cappadocia but what separate Peri Cave from the rest is the service. Especially the owner Murat. He is very accommodating with all my request. He made sure I have the greatest experience while I'm there.

The next time I visit Cappadocia again I'll definitely stay at Peri Cave. I strongly recommend this place.

Cheers,
Keat

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

This hotel is perfectly situated on the edge of the town Goreme. Our room was clean but lacking some furniture and decorations. The bed had an uncomfortable mattress.
We really enjoyed the peaceful courtyard where the breakfast is served.
The owners have great knowledge of the area and will help you design any kind of trip one desires.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Whatever this hotel may lack in cleanliness, stable hot water, air conditioning, comfort, and reliable wi fi connection, it makes up in sheer charm, friendliness, and atmosphere. Both the setting of the hotel in beautiful Goreme and the design (the rooms are on one floor surrounding an open-air dining/resting area with trees) provides a very relaxing scenery. In addition, the staff are of the kind that makes you feel like you're not visiting a hotel, but rather some friend from way back. The backyard dog enhances this perception with enthusiastic yet friendly greetings everytime you enter the hotel area. You will probably also find yourself in interesting conversations with the other guests, as that is an inevitable result of the mood of the place.

In conclusion, this is the perfect hotel if you prefer the staff to heartily smile and chit-chat with you rather than maintain the hygiene and standard of the rooms. I can hardly see it possible to not feel welcome and relaxed at Peri Cave.

Room Tip: Ask for one of those in the fairy chimney!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

I have only great things to say about the Peri Cave hotel! The stay there became the highlight of not only my time in Cappadocia, but of the Turkey trip overall! This is a very intimate, home-style hotel and pension in Goreme which is just the most magical place on earth! The hotel is very well located, on a main road just off the town centre, with easy walking to the town centre as well as the famed open air museum. The Hot air balloon pick up point is just opposite the road. There are excellent restaurants with a couple of minutes walk.
The cave rooms are utterly atmospheric. Nothing is very fancy or luxurious, but very very cosy, comfortable and unbelievably charming. There is hot water all the time and I think they have central heating, though it wasn'nt turned on (and was not needed) since it was warm weather.
The breakfast is basic, ample, healthy, tasty and very authentic "Turkish" without being over the top. It makes you feel like you're eating at a friend's home!
The most outstanding feature of this hotel is the courtyard terrace garden. I dont think I have seen such a charming place in even top range five star hotels! It is full of grape, olive and apricot trees tastefully clustered between which are arranged hammocks, tables and chairs where you can have breakfast, engage in conversation, use the free wifi on your laptop, play with 4 month old Sidney- the adorable hotel GSD- or just soak in the atmosphere with a nice book and relax! Its totally like staying at a villa in Greece or Spain!
But what sets this place apart from any other- and what you will take away with you- are the people! Murat and his team dont allow you to feel like you're in a hotel- they fool you into thinking its your own house!! They make everything so comfortable, so friendly, so easy that you wont want to leave! For example, when I had to go to the Whirling Dervishes performance Murat drove me up in his car and then went back to bring me back! I had a late flight out of Nevsehir and I left my room just in enough time for it to be cleaned before the other guests arrived...there was no military execution of the check out time. And before I left, he invited me for a home cooked pasta and watermelon meal with his friends before sending me off! Not just these, every step, every interaction is like you're staying with friends!
,I dont know for how long Murat and Mustafa and their people will be able to maintain this service approach, but if they can, this should be a must-stay place on your list!

Room Tip: i stayed in a cave room which was fantastic, but splurge on the fairy chimney room if u can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Peri Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peri Cave Hotel

Address: Muze Cad. No:24, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 54 Hotels in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairy chimney Rooms. Deluxe cave rooms. wi-fi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Peri Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peri Cave Hotel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peri Cave Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.