We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real Star Cave” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elif Star Caves

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Elif Star Caves to your Saves list
Elif Star Caves
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Uzundere Caddesi No 37 - Goreme (Nevsehir) | Cappadocia, Goreme 50180, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 50 Hotels in Goreme
Zurich
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A real Star Cave”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2007

We spent 5 nights in a wonderful cave room. We arrived by bicycle sick and Jacky took care about us in a superb way. Rooms are impeccable, clean and wonderfully decorated. Jacky is a great cook and fulfilled all our whishes and desires. Breakfast was the best in 7 weeks cycling through Turkey. When we go back to Göreme once - we certainly go back to this great place.

  • Liked — romantic cave rooms
  • Disliked — that we had to leave so early...
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    63
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
40
101
39
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Townsville
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2007

My partner and I stayed four nights in Elif Star Caves (70 Lira/night) and it was absolutely wonderful! Jacky, Mustafa and Elif were delightful people and provided a very warm and friendly atmosphere. The cave room we stayed in was lovely and cosy and very beautifully decorated. Jacky cooks the most amazing dishes and helped us organise our daily adventures. Jacky also went out of her way to look after us when we caught a cold. We would return to Goreme and Elif Star in a second! An excellent place to stay!
Leonie and Michael.

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mountain view, ca
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2007

Just got back from a trip from Turkey and Greece, and our stay at Elifstar Caves was definitely the highlight. The owner, Jacky, is very welcoming and helpful, arranging transport and recommending hikes and tours. Rooms are cozy with lots of character. Be sure to have dinner at the hotel. The owner, Jacky, is an excellent cook. Home cooking after a week of restaurant food! And make sure to meet her daughter, Elif, who gives the common area an extra spark of character.

  • Liked — Clean with lots of character and excellent food
  • Disliked — Run out of hot water if you get up too late
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2007

We were happy to have stayed in a cave room at the Elif Star hotel. It appears that one pays a bit of a premium to stay in cave rooms in Cappadocia, but such a hotel is not easy to build. The hotel overall was pretty average, except for the breakfast. It's not just that the breakfast is a change from the regular Turkish breakfast, but that it's delicious. Kudos.

  • Stayed September 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2007

My husband and I stayed four nights at the Elif Star and we were totally delighted with everything. The room was beautiful, the location was great, the breakfast were really "something to write home about", Jackie and her husband Mustafa were so kind and helpful and little Elif was adorable.
We really fell in love with Cappadocia and we will definitely go back. When we do so, it will be at Elif Star.

Shali

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2007

I stayed 4 days at the Elif Star recently and enjoyed it very much. Jacky is a great hostess who cares about those who stay at her wonderful cave hotel. She is a great cook who makes the best breakfast that is included in the very reasonable price. Mustafa, Jacky's husband, works at the exquisite Ikman Gallery (a must see carpet bazaar) so the rooms are decorated with Turkish carpets as an extra touch of class. They take the time to tell you of local hikes (even marking them on maps they give you), tours, balloon rides, and other options to maximize your vacation stay. To stay in a cave is amazing experience that I will alway remember. The whole stay at Elif Star was fantastic.

  • Liked — Owners, rooms, location.
  • Disliked — Everything was delightful.
  • Stayed September 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bobboyen
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2007

My girlfriend and I chose Elif Star based on reviews we had read -- we were extremely happy with our decision. We spent 2 weeks in 4 cities in Turkey & Greece and this was our favorite accomodation. We were in Room 5, I think.

Goods...
1) Jacky is very attentive, a great host. She had good recommendations on local restaurants also.
2) Room was very clean, Lonely Planet rated it the cleanest bathrooms in Cappadocia
3) They do laundry for a nominal cost
4) 5 min walk to center city, dolmus, etc.
5) Dinner -- recommend booking a dinner with Jacky
6) Beverages -- beer, wine (bottes, glasses), non-alcoholics offered at really good prices in the lobby, we compared to local markets
7) Airport transfers to/from Kayseri were arranged for us

Opportunities to Improve...
1) Bathroom window (in Room 5?) -- people walking up to higher floors can look right into the bathroom window and see everything.
2) Shower -- there is no shower curtain so water gets everywhere. It wasn't a big deal for us, but some people may not like it.
3) No refrigerator
4) No TV -- maybe by design

Bottom line: very pleasant stay, good value for money.

Recommend Orient Restaurant. We had two good meals there, the lamb shank was excellent.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elif Star Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elif Star Caves

Address: Uzundere Caddesi No 37 - Goreme (Nevsehir) | Cappadocia, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Goreme
#14 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Elif Star Caves 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With views over Goreme, the family-run Elif Star Cave Hotel has a terrace and a restaurant. It offers traditionally decorated rooms and free Wi-Fi in all areas. Goreme Bus Terminal is within 5 minutes' walk. The cave rooms at Elif Star are heated and feature traditional textiles, parquet floors and carpets. All rooms have their own private bathroom with toilet and shower. Each is decorated with a combination of Ottoman and Greek interior style. A traditional Turkish breakfast with eggs, olives, honey and jam is served daily. The hotel's a la carte restaurant also serves traditional home made dishes like kofte and fresh local trout. Dining is possible either indoors or at the open courtyard with flowers. The reception works 24 hours aday, provides room service. Laundry and ironing services are available upon request, at an extra charge. Guests can relax in the garden and enjoy scenic views of Goreme from the hotel's balconies. Hotel Elif Star Cave also organises hot air balloon rides and daily Cappadocia tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Elif Star Caves reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elif Star Caves Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey
Elif Star Caves Hotel Goreme

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elif Star Caves, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.