We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so much of a dream” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Dream Cave Hotel

Save Saved
You added Dream Cave Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dream Cave Hotel
1.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Orta Mah Asker Cikmazi Kaniyolu No: 2 | Cikmazi Kaniyolu No 2, Goreme 50180, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 61 Goreme B&B and Inns
Powell River, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Not so much of a dream”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights with our 3 boys (ages 8, 4 and 4) and found it lacking. Let me start by saying that this place could be great, but a whole bunch of small events conspired to make our stay not very good. Our first night was fine and at 80 TL for all of us, we thought we found a gem. Upon arival in Goreme we called for a pickup from the bus station and a few minutes later were met by the staff, who appeared very friendly. Our triple room was adequate - a decent size and of average cleanliness. The furnishings were rather spartan, but we're used to that after 10 months of travelling in hostels. The breakfast was the usual turkish fare, which is good, but the service was not great. Our host was too busy gaming (playing Wolf Team online) to give us service. If you wanted a second cup of tea or coffee, you had to go down to reception and ask him. I just started serving myself from their kitchen, as that was easier. The next day the hotel had no water. When I asked about it, the host said the whole town had the same problem, which was not true. He also asked all the guests to pay their bills in advance, right away. That evening the water returned but there was no hot water. The next morning, there was again no water and no staff to serve breakfast. As there were about 7 people waiting for breakfast, I went into the kitchen and finished getting the breakfasts assembled and then served everyone. When the host arrived, he said he had gone into town to pay the water bill, so now there would be water. This was June 1. Also on that day, the wifi stopped working. When I inquired about it, he said it would not be coming on. Maybe they didn't pay the internet provider? That night and the next day there was again no hot water and no wifi.

I am not sure if they are having a cash flow problem, but if all those little things were worked out I would definely rate the hotel higher. As it was for us, I would not recommend staying there.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    26
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
8
22
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

The Dream Cave Hotel has added a new property call the Dream Cave Suites just a few meters down the road. They're very comfortable with luxurious bathrooms and excellent service. There're so new that they have not yet worked out some glitches such as making sure there is soap and cups in the bathroom, but once these minor details are worked out the place will be an exceptional value.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012 via mobile

We have been backpacking around the world and we have slept in cheap rooms and dorms everywhere, and Turkey is not a cheap country, so accommodation is also not very cheap.
Still is easy to find budget options and in Goreme we think we found the best one.
We stayed on a dorm which had only six beds, which I think is the perfect number not to overcrowd the place. The beds and sheets where amanzingly clean and comfy, in a gorgeous cave-like dorm which in spite of the cold weather (there was snow outside) was always warm and pleasant.
The shared toilette was very clean and the shower was spectacular! As we've been traveling for quite a while we always compare this kind of things from different hostels, and the shower from this one should definitely win some kind of award! Good water pressure and fabulous temperature, specially for cold weather during winter.
Breakfast was included in the convenient rate and was delicious and big enough to keep you going till the evening.
This is a budget hotel, and for this kind of hotels it is definitely one of our favorites.
It also has a nice terrace (very nice view) with tables to chill out after a nice day touring around this beautyful region.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmingdale, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights. The cave room was clean but chilly at night. I had to sleep in my long john's to stay warm. It was on the opposite side of town which was nice so you don't have to walk up a huge hill. They had great rates on tours. I definitely reccommend the green tour.

Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011 via mobile

Stayed here and while it wasn't too bad, me and another lady had a significant ammount of money stolen from our locked room. Incredibly suspicious behavior on the part of one staff member led us to conclude that he had stolen the money. There was no one else staying there at the time. BEWARE!!!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goreme, Turkey
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

The Dream Cave Hotel was a dream come true. Clean and warm room and bed. Tasty breakfast ın the mornıng. Say hello to Yeelmass and Murrat for me. The Dream Cave Hotel was delıghtful.

Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

My stay here was perfect! The breakfast was fantastic and included, the dorm room was warm (which is necessary in the winter!), I had great fellow travellers sharing the room, and Murat, the guy that works there was super friendly and great to us! He hooked us up with deals on the tours and even gave me a lift on his scooter to catch one of the tours when I was running late. Had a great stay!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dream Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Cave Hotel

Address: Orta Mah Asker Cikmazi Kaniyolu No: 2 | Cikmazi Kaniyolu No 2, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Dream Cave Hotel 1*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dream Cave Hotel is a budget bed & breakfast style hotel in Cappadocia, Turkey. AAA rated tourist budget price cave hotel in central Goreme, situated in the amazing surroundings of Cappadocia with fairy chimneys and early Christian churches. Near to the town centre in a lovely quiet location with beautiful views. You can eat or have a drink in our terrace restaurant with a view of Cappadocia. We have 13 rooms, 4 inside one of Goreme's famous fairy chimneys. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Dream Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Cave Hotel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dream Cave Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.