We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grand Bazaar Vacation Rental

Bedroom with double bed
Bedroom with double bed
Bedroom with double bed
Bedroom with double bed2
Kitchen1
Kitchen2
TV set
Aksaray
|
Condo/Apartment – 
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ir9821
Coral Springs, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“BAITE AND SWITCH”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We had made reservation for this place based on reviews and pictures posted on Trip Advisor. Before our departure, I contacted Tufan Mengus the owner to let him know about our Itinerary and also that my niece and nephew were joining us later that day. I had sent my niece and nephew the address of the place where we originally thought we made reservation for. Upon our arrival, I contacted Tufan Mengus the owner to let him know that we were on our way. He sent 2 people who could not speak English to meet us. We followed them and they took us to an apartment on the six floors with no elevator. We entered the place and quite surprisingly found out that this was not the apartment we were expecting to get and it was different than what was posted on TripAdvisor. The place was dirty and after inspection it seemed someone was living there and had one less bathroom. We asked to speak to Tufan the owner, and we could not understand the fellow two Turkish people. They requested to get the remaining balance and I refused to pay. I told them this is not what we contracted for. Subsequently, I had to get on the internet to find a place for us to stay. My niece and nephew who joined us later went to the original address and found out it was occupied by someone else. They were given our current address and sent to our place. The experience we went thru was horrific. Finally, around 11:00 PM, the two people who greeted us came back. I told them that we were leaving. One of them called Tufan and I finally got to talk to him. I told him how unhappy I was with that [--]. He deceived us and played us with the old cliché of “BAITE AND SWITCH”. Our reservation was made 2 months in advance. I suppose he bit on the fact that we were coming from overseas and we would give in and stay due to being overwhelmed and tired. PLEASE DO NOT BOOK WITH HIM. What I do not understand how others could have left such a good reviews.

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
1 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 1 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
1 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 1 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
1 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 1 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
1 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Baite and Switch
Liked least: Do Not Recommend From This Owner
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 14, 2013
This is not a review of my apartment. It is review of another apartment.

Because previous guest had to extend his stay due to an urgency. We had to change the apartment with very similar another one before Iraj Rahmani arrived and we informed him writtenly by email.

Unluckily, I was in abroad when he arrived. I had left the keys to housekeeper lady for delivering to Iraj Rahmani. When he saw new apartment he didn't like it. He was furious. We talked several times on the phone I was trying to calm down him and sort out the problem. But I couldn't make him calm down. He was really very angry. He didn't accept our help offers. He was not listening any of my words. They could stay at the apartment at least one night free of charge and I can find much better apartment for same price. By the way, his behaviours and his anger at housekeeper lady and her son was not acceptable. She had been afraid a lot.

By the way, he is our first and only one unhappy customer since we started the business.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Russelite
Russell, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Tufan's flat in Aksaray was our home base for a month.
The location was perfect at the terminus of the metro line from Ataturk airport. We were met at the metro station and taken to the flat which is situated only a few minutes walk away. It is on the 5th floor (no lift) and has a superb view of a bustling Istanbul neighborhood.
A night market is held daily on the square right in front of the building and the adjacent restaurants, cafes and shops are patronized by locals who readily welcomed us.
The location within walking distance of bus and tram stops made it easy to visit all parts of the city.
At the nearby bus stop of Uzuf Pasha bus 72T will take you to a beautiful free beach at its terminus towards the airport.
The double glazed window and the air-conditioning made the apartment a quiet oasis after a busy day exploring Istanbul.


The flat was clean and comfortable and the wireless worked well.

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 3 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Kitchen
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Henrietta...
Spokane, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Everything was perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We are winding down our month-long stay in Tufan's 5th floor apartment. Everything has been perfect. This is a great neighborhood in the Old City - everything we need is close by, including shops, cafes, markets, bakeries, and ATMs - and venturing out into different areas of Istanbul is easy because the apartment is one block from the Metro station and about three blocks from the Yusufpasa Tram station.

Tufan met us at Ataturk airport the day we arrived and brought us to the apartment and showed us around. It was clean and neat - with comfortable beds, wifi, air-conditioning, and a nice little kitchen. We had everything we needed to make our month-long stay enjoyable. Everyone in the neighborhood has been friendly to us and we always felt safe.

I highly recommend this apartment for your stay in Istanbul!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Larry104
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The location is great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The apartment is clean and close to public transportation. The apartment has a large open living room/dining area and the kitchen good enough.
We used both the tram system and the metro train with ease.

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The apartment was clean and the location perfect.
Liked least: there were not 2 bathrooms ..One complete bathroom with shower and another with only the shower.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
BGJ_1
Purley
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good Location and Basic Accommodation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The flat has 2 bedrooms one with a shower one bathroom with WC.
Very clean and tidy but as mentioned in other reviews there are 5 flights of stairs (85 stairs). When we arrived there were insufficient mugs in the kitchen and one of the bulbs in the bathroom had blown. The location is the main benefit of this flat. Some great local bars and restaurants and the main tram station into the heart of the old town is only a 5 min walk away. As the flat is on the 5th floor and good double glazing there is very little traffic noise.

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 3 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
3 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 3 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
3 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 3 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
3 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The location and access to local transport
Liked least: The 5 flights of stairs
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
RobertPC1...
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Comfortable Accommodations, Reasonably Priced!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 for a stay in January 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for one week and thoroughly enjoyed the accommodations and the location. The best thing is the proximity to mass transit and local delicious (and inexpensive) food. We recommend taking the metro (subway) to the apartment because it is only 3 lira (about 2 USD) per person compared to 35-50 lira for a taxi. Simply get off at the last stop and the entrance to the apartment is less than 150 meters away from the subway exit! (I included a photo to show you the location of the entrance which is the white door to the right of the Kebab King Restaurant.) The trolley takes you to the major attractions including the Grand Bazaar. If you like exercise, you can walk 20-30 minutes to the Grand Bazaar. The steps to the apartment on the 5th floor will also add to your daily exercise program! Tufan is a most gracious host and made our stay enjoyable The apartment was very comfortable and clean and we would definitely stay there again!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The location.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
IriP_14
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“just what you need”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

We rented the apartment at the end of 2012 / start of 2013 and we do not regret this decision. The apartment is simple but has everything that you need if you want to visit Istanbul, have good access to all kind of public transportation, have a place to stay and relax after a long day.
I could do the renting arrangements with ease.
The owner is kind and wants to help.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness
4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities 4 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$90
/
Night
Week
Make Inquiry
this property has payment protection
Owner
Tufan M
Speaks English, Italian, Spanish
Listed since : Apr 2014
Response Rate: 100 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 3 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing