We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central, good staff, clean..bathrooms not the best” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anzac House Youth Hostel

Anzac House Youth Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Anzac House Youth Hostel to your Saves list
Anzac House Youth Hostel
Cumhuriyet Meydani No:59 Canakkale Merkez, Canakkale 17100, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Brisbane - Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Central, good staff, clean..bathrooms not the best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

This place is really central (near the major bus stop, ferry to the other side of the canal, food, "sites" of çanakkale, shops). The staff are helpful & the hassle free tours (Troy and Gallipoli) are run from the came building. I didn't have the breakfast (which was 7 TL extra I think) but the roof terrace is quite nice to relax on. I was there in summer & in a dorm room - there was no air conditionning but we could have the windows open and there was a fan. A friend was in a private room which was really stuffy and didn't have any windows or a fan.. The bathrooms were clean but only 1 of the 3 showers had hot water the whole time I was there. There is a wifi throughout the building.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    6
    8
    9
    10
See reviews for
1
15
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

Our room was pretty basic and quite dirty. The light in our floor wasn’t working so the entire floor was completely dark during the night. At 1 am a huge group arrived at the hostel and they have been shouting and making noise for more than 1 hour. We complained at the reception (we had to wake up early the next morning), but they didn’t care. The “clean” towels we were given were completely wet… There was just one bathroom on our floor (two are bathrooms were out of order and they didn’t bother repairing them). We were lucky that we woke up early when everybody else was sleeping, otherwise it would have been a big problem. I got the impression that the owner wasn’t spending a single euro for normal repair works and maintenance.

Breakfast was supposed to start at 7 am, but when we arrived at 7.30 am there was nobody in the kitchen and nothing was ready. It took 15 minutes just to get a coffee, which was quite annoying because we were late for our organised tour to Troy.
Hotels in Canakkale are not very expensive so we recommend that you go somewhere else…

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Canakkale hotels

Lawrence, Kansas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

This place was comfortable and the location was outstanding, but the rooms were really small for the number of people staying in them and it was pretty bare bones. There aren't a lot of good budget options, actually maybe none other than this place, so it is a good place to stop off for the day or two you would want to stay here. One bonus, the place has a really outstanding tour company that will help out with all sorts of information and they don't push their tours. They give the facts, sugar coat it a little, and let you make your decision. No breakfast was a bummer. There are plenty of places around to get a good breakfast but they tended to be a little expensive. And the wifi is only available on the second floor, which isn't very comfortable if you need to spend any serious time on a computer.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

I wasnt really expecting anything when i booked a room and just wanted a place to stay for a night in Cannakale.. booked single room, it was a bit small.. staff was ok, not mean nor friendly.. if you want a basic place to stay in then i guess it would work for you like it did for me.. i wasnt informed that toilet was mixed so was surprised to see a half-naked guy there.. the hostel offers pretty decent tours that you could consider availing...

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

We had booked a double room at this hostel but we did not want to stay when we arrived as it was a very small room with a double bed. There were no windows, fan or air conditioning. The room resembled a cell. This we could accept although we were unable to stay in the room due to to the heat.

The reception staff were friendly and accommodating and provided us with an alternative room. They were unable to provide a fan and so we slept with the window open. There was no mosquito net and so were were both bitten by morning.

The next day we moved to a place around the corner and for an extra £4 per person in our alternative accommodation we were provided with mosquito net on windows, air conditioning, ensuite bathroom with toilet roll provided and breakfast included in the price.

In conclusion then, Anzac House Hostel is probably not the most cost effective place to stay in the area although for those who wish to concentrate on getting the very cheapest that they can get, Anzac House Hostel is probably the place to stay.

The day after we changed accommodation, we met another couple who had also rejected theroom at Anzac that we had declined and this was for the very same reason!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

We accidentally arrived in this hostel a night early from Istanbul but the staff went out of their way to accommodate us. Though the rooms were basic they were sufficient and we were provided with towels. The domestic cleaner with not a word of English was unbelievably helpful and the other staff were also friendly and we felt they did their best for us!
As for location the hostel could not be in a better place with its close proximity to the port and being in the middle of the town near everything. Worked as a brilliant base for us to travel to Troy, Gallipoli and Gokceada!
We were most impressed with it!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2010

My family came here on the Hassle Free tour of Troy and Canakkale, which was wonderful. It's a youth hostel, so don't expect luxury accomodation, but the beds are comfy, showers are warm and clean, and tea and fast internet is free. What really makes this place special (besides the excellent tour) was the staff. I've been to about 50 hostels and have never had such incredibly accommodating staff. My mom-in-law twisted her ankle on the tour, and as the swelling worsened overnight, needed to be taken to the hospital at 3 a.m. A staff member carried her down two flights of stairs, accompanied her to the emergency room and translated for her. Staff members ran all over town finding ice and crutches (never asking for a penny) and made sure she was taking proper care of herself. One female staff member even massaged the ankle and re-wrapped it! They re-arranged the breakfast location and bus pickup places all so that she didn't have to hobble an extra block or two. Everyone had ear-to-ear smiles the whole time, and never gave us the feeling at all that we were being a nuisance. We are incredibly grateful!
As for the other aspects, the rooms were clean, tea and internet was free, the location was central, and it was nice and quiet. We paid for the budget dorm rooms, but as the place wasn't full they gave my parents-in-law a free upgrade to a private room. We had a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anzac House Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anzac House Youth Hostel

Address: Cumhuriyet Meydani No:59 Canakkale Merkez, Canakkale 17100, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Canakkale Province > Canakkale
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Canakkale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Anzac House Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anzac House Youth Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.