We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pool area and views” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kolin Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Kolin Hotel to your Saves list
Kolin Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bogazkent Mevki Kepez, Canakkale Merkez, Canakkale 17100, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Canakkale
East Maitland, Australia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Great pool area and views”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

The rooms are spacious, clean and the views are great. Wonderful pool area overlooking the sea. Unfortunately, the bed was hard and uncomfortable and I didn't like the fact there was no top sheet, so it was difficult to get the right sleeping temperature balance with the air conditioner and the bedspread.

The breakfast buffet was good and plentiful - I always take a small clip lock back to breakfast and throw in something to eat later in the morning.

One odd thing is that hotel management do not like guests buying food, snacks or drinks from the local supermarket and will confiscate your shopping bag if they spy it on your return to the hotel. Advise is to take a back pack and place any shopping in the backpack so they cannot see it. They do return your shopping when you leave the hotel - they just want you to buy everything at the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    187
    111
    33
    21
See reviews for
83
180
32
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Matteson, Illinois
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

My stay at this hotel was very pleasant. I stayed there as part of a tour group. The hotel is very large and the distance between the dining room and my room was long. We arrived in the early evening so we were not able to enjoy all that the hotel had to offer. The room and the property was clean. That fact alone is priceless and a must for me in my travels. My bed was comfortable. I found that most of the hotels that I stayed in had beds that were harder than I am use to, but somehow I had a very restful night sleep anyway I was not aware that we had such a beautiful view of the sea until the I opened the curtains. WOW!!!! I think the view was absolutely beautiful. I think this is a place that many tour groups use. We did not have any problem with check in. It was quick and orderly and the front desk staff was helpful. The buffet was really good. Large selection to choose from. Wait service was good. My only regret is that I did not have the opportunity to explore the area outside of the hotel due to time constraints. I enjoyed my stay at the Kolin although it was only overnight.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 122 cities Reviews in 122 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I stayed here for just one night with a tour group. My room was good, with a view over the Dardanelles. I thought the dinner and breakfast buffets were excellent - just too much to choose from! You can stroll along the car-free waterfront promenade with direct access from the hotel. There is a large supermarket opposite, with cash-machines.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

The best part about this hotel was the lovely view over the sea. The rooms were small but the beds were comfortable. The dinner and breakfast buffets were fairly average but there is nowhere else around the hotel to eat so you are stuck.
As with most of the so called 5 star in Turkey the towels are threadbare and the bathrooms tiny.
This hotel was very overpriced and caters to all the large tour groups.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

This is a large hotel with lots of people and not very relaxing. The room was clean and comfortable and the room was huge. We had a view over the sea and it was very nice.

The breakfast room is full on business with two breakfast rooms catering to alot of people at once.

I would stay elsewhere only because I didn't feel relaxed in this hotel due to the number of people.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gagadju
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

The room I stayed in at this hotel was spacious, bed and pillows were comfortable although bed linen were rather threadbare. But perhaps it was only in this room and the standard may have been better in others. The room came with the standard amenities that is found in most hotels. My room faced the ocean and swimming pool. It had a fantastic view of the Dardanelles. The room upon closer inspection was really dusty including floor and furniture.

The night I stayed at this hotel, there was a huge wedding reception by the pool side and so the music was really loud and as I'm a light sleeper it was very difficult to sleep through the merriment. Fortunately, the music and the party concluded around midnight.

There is a bar/club up on the top floor and from there you can go to the rooftop and catch the sun setting beyond the Dardanelles, lovely view from the top of this hotel.

The buffet breakfast and dinner here was delicious, my only complaint would be that the bottled water had things floating in them which I didn't notice until I poured it into my glass. When I requested another bottle of water, the waitstaff brought it promptly but there were the same floaters in the water. Upon closer inspection, I realised that the lid and seal was already opened even though the bottle was full, so the staff just re-filled their bottles. They did not provide us with fresh sealed bottles of water. I felt that this was poor for a five star hotel and rather dodgy.

Overall, this is a good hotel for a one night stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traralgon, Victoria, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed here for one night on a group tour of Turkey. Our room was lovely with a view of the Dardanelles and of the pool and manicured grounds. Both the room and bathroom were large and very clean. We had a drink up at the rooftop bar and we were the only ones there- amazing view. Buffet breakfast and dinner had a good selection of food. The hotel is out of town but has a supermarket and a few shops across the road. They have a no outside food and drinks policy but they don't search your bag. I did take a bottle of water in my bag but only because I drink heaps and didn't want to buy so many bottles at their inflated prices.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kolin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kolin Hotel

Address: Bogazkent Mevki Kepez, Canakkale Merkez, Canakkale 17100, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Canakkale Province > Canakkale
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Canakkale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kolin Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 276
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Kolin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kolin Hotel Canakkale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kolin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.