We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Akol Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Akol Hotel to your Saves list
Akol Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cevat Pasa Mah. Kordon Boyu Kayserili Ahmet Pasa Cad. Canakkale Merkez, Canakkale 17100, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Canakkale
Buderim, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Great position in the centre of town. Good size and well furnished room. Bed was very comfortable. Nice choice of food and plenty of it at the night buffet. Choice of breakfast food was good. Would stay there again and could certainly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    86
    123
    30
    17
See reviews for
52
113
24
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We spent one night here on our way along the Turkish coas towards Istanbul. Great spot for visting Troy and Gallipoli and views of Dardanelles were great; ferries crossing every 5 minutes. Hotel was a bit tired but room was large and clean with good views. Lobby was average and breakfast could have been better; hot potato chips and calamari!. Staff were friendly and hotel has a very central location on waterfront concourse. We could not see any hotels which looked much better with such a good location. Not too bad for one night but needs a makeover.

Room Tip: Water views are worth extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stopped here on a tour of Turkey and because we didn't pay that much for the tour we didn't expect much from the hotels. Our room was exactly what we needed, a place to stay, but it definitely didn't have a luxurious feel. It was basic for one night. Dinner was buffet style, and although it wasn't local cuisine everyone on the tour found something to their tastes. Breakfast was the same, an adequate spread.

We had a balcony with a sea view which was lovely but the bar next door played music fairly late so if you have a hard time sleeping you might want to make sure you have a room on the opposite side.

The location was nice as you could walk along the water with a lovely view, see the Trojan Horse prop and easily walk to some of the local stores.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

This building is located among a strip of hotels and restaurants facing the seaside promenade. A very short walk will take you to an area of local shops, restaurants and bakeries.

Nothing special or memorable here.

There are two small elevators, on opposite sides of the lobby. Both are extremely slow.

Good for one night. Walk around the area, have a sleep, and get out early.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the shore.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

The Akol Hotel is a reasonable hotel, nothing special. The staff are a little lacking in warmth, and the hotel lacks a welcoming atmosphere. It is functional.

The room was clean, but a little dated in its style. The bathroom needed a good re-tiling, but that was due to numerous cracked tiles. The bathroom was very clean.

The restaurant continues the hotel's functional character. The buffet dinner and buffet breakfast are very basic and really need some better choices. Don't expect good coffee at breakfast!

The 8th floor restaurant looked basic. I did not eat there, but it is next to a 1980s style bar/nightclub. The views from the top floor bar are not worth suffering the loud music and uncomfortable seating for.

Overall, nothing special.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colton, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Stayed here as part of Gate 1 Turkey Treasures Tour.
Nice location - seaside. Rooms are good sized - but shows aging. The carpets are dull and the furnitures are old. But the bed is comfortable - that's all i cared as we stayed only 1 night. The hall ways are wide but very dark - saving electricity meant no light in the hallways - hmmm. The exceptional view does make up for these though. So, request for a view of the sea.
Food - not well presented. Staff too inadequate to clean up people's mess. Coffee makers were no functioning.
The noise from the restaurants on the first floor could be heard on the third flood - closing the door though is enough to muffle it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
273 helpful votes 273 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Not bad, but not great either. This hotel is located right on the boardwalk of the Asian side of the Dardanelles straight, so it has lovely views from just outside or from a balcony if you get a balcony room. There is also a top-floor resto/bar for great views: nothing is new or modern here. The hallways were wide and very basic. The rooms were a decent size, comfortable but also worn and dated.The rooms needs updating. I had a good sleep and I was decently comfortable... but it was at most a 3*.

Their food is targeting the bus tours which come though. I really struggled to find things I wanted to eat at this buffet - both meals I ate there. Nothing supposed to be hot was hot here and there was definitely a lack of imagination. 1*

Room Tip: Get a balcony with water views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Akol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akol Hotel

Address: Cevat Pasa Mah. Kordon Boyu Kayserili Ahmet Pasa Cad. Canakkale Merkez, Canakkale 17100, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Canakkale Province > Canakkale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Canakkale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Akol Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Akol Hotel which is located in the heart of Çanakkale, this elegant property is just few steps away from the sea side, 300 km away from the Istanbul Airport, 2 km (5 minutes) away from Canakkale Airport and 25 km away from the Troya. Akol Hotel has 135 standard rooms and 2 suits including 280 beds, offers pleasant accommodation with a variety of amenities at the right price. Our rooms have central heating, split air conditioning, direct dial telephone, mini bar, satellite television, TV, private bathroom,wireless internet, music broadcasting and balcony. Other facilities in the hotel; meeting room, dry cleaning, free parking area, genarator and laundry room. We also offer free services to our guests such as table tennis, swimming pool and billiards. We provide variety of amenities with meeting and seminar room. In addition to these, We have 2 restaurants which offer very rich variety of food, renovated Lobby Bar, Radika Fish Restaurant and Roof Bar. In the Roof Bar, you may sip your drink with a view of the Dardanelles and accompanied by live music everyday. At the same time we provide fresh fish at the right price in Radika Fish Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Akol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akol Hotel Canakkale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Akol Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.