We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another sleeping shelter with a good view” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ida Kale Resort Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ida Kale Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ida Kale Resort Hotel
Mola Cad. No:50 Canakkale Merkez, Canakkale, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 27 hotels in Canakkale
Bangkok
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Another sleeping shelter with a good view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Small room with some old and musty smell.
Room size are not equal as it's a old resort with some new buidlings, makesure you choose new building to get the best of it.
With a good view of the sea.
Moderate dinner and breakfast buffet.
More liek a tour group hotel than resort hotel.
There is wi-fi available at lobby area but not in room area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    5
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
10
8
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

I stayed there for 1 night. the food, scenery and facilities were awesome, the receptionists were also friendly. I suggest that you may expand the hotel wifi because my room doesnt get the wifi as it's a bit far from the lobby which ae the main place of wifi. thank you :)

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

close to town (canakkale 10 km)...wavy sea....sandy beach...not cheap,but not expensive either...i think,i don't want to stay at this hotel again...some rooms are very spacious (i had a room like this)...there wasn't any floor covering like carpet,rug...the pool did not look clean at all...scenery is awesome...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We have stayed at Ida Kale Resort for 3 nights. First of all we had booked our room in April and they promised us for a large room with sea view (We printed out the mail about it). We entered the hotel and checked in. Our room was at one of the back building and at the first floor. More than this, there were three separate beds at that room. So we went to reservation desk and told that there was a mistake with our room. The woman at the desk told us that the hotel was full and there was nothing to do. Furthermore she told that the hotel didn’t promise us for that kind of room. Instead of excusing, she continued with her cheeky manners. Due to our persistence we had the chance to get the right kind of room ((So actually our room was not occupied!!!). They didn’t have bellboy, so my husband carried our luggage.

Here comes the worst part (These were the good ones!): There were more than 40 children (boys between 12-15 years old) who stayed at the hotel. They were the players of the sport teams and all of them stayed at the hotel. They were making so much noise, that it was hard to hear the person’s voice, which was next to mine. They ate nearly “all” the foods at the meal times and the hotel didn’t add new ones regularly. There were also limited kinds of food at the restaurant. So we had to eat what we have found. At afternoons more than 30 boys were at the pool at the same time (and the pool was pretty small!). So it was impossible to swim at the pool. They were exercising at the pool. I think this is responsibility of the hotel, which they remarked (!) they had also other guests and the swimming pool is not for exercising.
Moreover the rooms were old and were not so clean. If I have to sum up, I definitely not recommend this hotel. If you are looking for peace for your holiday and planning to stay at Çanakkale region, I can recommend you İris Hotel, which is next to İda Kale. It seemed so peaceful and comfortable. So I feel regretful for staying at İda Kale.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Canakkale hotels

Brentwood, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

The setting of this resort hotel is spectacular - white two-story buildings situated around a gorgeous central swimming pool with a lovely view of the water.

I was with a group of college students - the students had very spacious double rooms with balconies overlooking the water, which they obviously enjoyed. I had a tiny single room facing another building - very disappointing. This was truly one of the smallest hotel rooms I have ever seen. I could literally stand at the foot of the bed and almost touch both walls. The double bed had to be shoved against the wall just so it could fit and have room to move on one side (which also had the built-in closet).

There were no extra outlets in the room, so I had to unplug the TV and refrigerator to recharge my phone and computer. The bathroom was fine, though the shower was tiny - I could barely turn around in it. The shower door was a plastic slider that wasn't easy to maneuver. The toiletries supplied were of very cheap quality.

The dining room was more like a school cafeteria. It was large with long tables and the food was set up cafeteria-style. I'm not a picky eater, but the food was just not good. There was very little selection and what was there was very bland and somewhat unappetizing. The whole dining area had the feeling of an afterthought.

I was not able to get wifi in the room, so I had to go to the lobby to use my computer. Service was spotty at best there as well.

Stayed May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Stayed in Ida Kale Resort Hotel for 1 night. The exterior of the hotel looks really beautiful and the surrounding scenery (pool and the sea) is simply picturesque. The hotel provides free wifi, there are 3 to choose from and all used the same password.

We got one of the rooms at Block A facing the sea on the second story. We checked in late, thus by the time we finished our dinner and head back to the room, it's already dark and they were using power saving bulbs and sensors. This I can understand. However, we had to enter into a pitch dark doorway on the first floor of Block A (eerie) and climb up the stairs with minimal light that comes in from the first floor front pouch. We could have tripped!! The darkness scared us before we even entered the room.

The room is big with more than enough space if you want to have a third bed in there. The floor is dirty and sandy. The toilet is huge but the shower attached to the bathtub is faulty at times. The water can just stop while you are bathing and you have to wait for the water to come back on. The balcony is of the perfect size with 2 chairs and a coffee table prepared for you. From our balcony, we faced the beautiful sea and the pool. Before the night is over, our aircon started dripping water and we had to shift our beds. Didn't call the front desk because we are only staying for a night and it's only 2 hours before we had to wake up. By the time we woke up, the aircon was making so much noise that we had to switch it off before we ruin our throat with too much shouting.

Breakfast was the worst I've ever seen. The selection was minimal and the food was shared with plenty of houseflies.

This resort hotel is also located in the middle of nowhere, surrounded by houses.

If you like serenity, this is the place. For me, the only redemption point of this place is the picturesque scenery.

Room Tip: Did not try the fitness center and room service. I would recommend that you request for rooms in Blo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bandung
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Don't stay there!! They will charge you for bringing mineral bottled water (put it in your bag so they don't see it). Room is small, especially for one bed. Very limited bathroom amenities (only shampoo and soap bar). Poor lighting in room and corridor, no elevator to 2nd floor in bungalow type. Air conditioner suddenly shut off in the middle of hot summer night.
Location is in the middle of nowhere.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ida Kale Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ida Kale Resort Hotel

Address: Mola Cad. No:50 Canakkale Merkez, Canakkale, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Canakkale Province > Canakkale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Canakkale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Ida Kale Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ida Kale Hotel Canakkale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ida Kale Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.