We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anzac Golden Bed Pension

Save Saved
You added Anzac Golden Bed Pension to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Anzac Golden Bed Pension
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Camiatik Mah. Ugurlu Sok. No.1 | Cikmazi 4, Kusadasi 09400, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 59 Kusadasi B&B and Inns
Grand Island, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Charming!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Stayed at the Anzac Golden Bed for four nights and loved it! Accommodations were simple, yet adequate. Breakfast every morning, rooftop terrace and balconeys off each room. Sandra, the proprietor, is very nice and eager to offer suggestions on where to eat or places to see. The only downside is the steep walk to the place and limited parking; but don't let that deter you! Sandra will meet you and help you find a place to park your car if needed.

A funny thing, Sandra's dog, howls each time the local Mosques conduct their "call to prayers". Such a great dog.

***Not handicap accessible.

Room Tip: Several rooms on the upper floor have a view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    20
    6
    4
    6
See reviews for
15
33
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

We only stayed one night, but really enjoyed our stay here. As mentioned in other reviews, Sandra is a terrific host and font of information and assistance, and the pension is lovely, from the ground floor reception area, to the rooms and lovely rooftop terrace. I will definitely stay again, if traveling to Kusadasi.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

I can't speak highly enough of this pension which is run/owned singlehandedly by Sandra, an Aussie expat. She is a mine of info and goes the extra mile for her guests. The pension itself is very centrally situated with a view from the roof of the town and harbour (where breakfast is served/+ a bar) to die for! The furnishings, ornamets, plants, Turkish rugs, interior decor etc are very tastefully chosen/placed. In the summer heat the pension is cool and relaxing. Sandra is bilingual (English/Turkish) which of course is of enormous benefit. Would like to add that she has the most delightful/intelligent kangal dog which is made a huge fuss of by guests/adds a touch of homeliness to the pension. My best wishes to Sandra I am Sandy from New Zealand

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tullow Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

Smashing place to stay. The landlady is an absolute gem. Most helpful if youve got a problem. Mega rooftop garden with a mind blowing view.

My only negative comment. She charged too much for her house beers !

Francis from Ireland

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aegeanhospitality, Owner at Anzac Golden Bed Pension, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
will ask to see a receipt from the hotel for the alchol being served to them.
I would have no objection to all my guests bringing in their own alchol and enjoying it in the comfort of my garden rooftop terrace, anytime, so long as I could get all my guests to enjoy our selection of in expensive homecooked food , which we gladly offer nightly during the summer months, which only incurs an 8% tax charge when we make a sale.
It would be a far more profitable service to offer our guests and keep everyone happy. We will still keep the fridge full of Efes and other local beers for those that want a nice cold beer waiting for them on their arrival for the same price as last year, 5 turkish lira.
Once again, thank you for your wonderful review and we look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.
Kindest regards, Sandra Galloway, Proprietor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

A lovely clean and welcoming pension run by an expat Australian lady (Sandra). Whilst we were a little concerned & nervous intially about the location because the taxi could only take us so far and then we had to walk as the streets were too narrow for car, once we settled into our room and got some directions from Sandra we found that we were a 5 minute walk from the main street and hustle and bustle of Kusadasi. The hotel was lovely and quite, yet we were so close to the shops, restaurants and local buses. Accomodation, basic but very clean. Our room had a little balcony overlooking the neighbouring houses, which was nice. Breakfast was included and was a typical turkish breakfast - upstairs on the outside terrace. Overall a fantastic spot to enjoy both Kusadasi and Efes from. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aegeanhospitality, Owner at Anzac Golden Bed Pension, responded to this review, August 12, 2011
Just to let everyone know that the road works are complete and I have a new WİDE cobblestone road and the taxis are arriving at my doorstep again.
Sorry for all the inconvenience this has caused my guests, with luggage etc..
Look forward to having you all share my home and lifestyle.
Remember we reimburse you for the taxi fare from the port or the main bus station on check-in.
We also have free, safe parking at the front of the hotel.

Kindest regards,
Sandra Galloway
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Sandra ( the Australian owner) has created a wonderful welcoming retreat . We were slightly concerned when the taxi driver dropped us off ( at the end of the street because of road works) and our first impressions were that it was quite away from the centre of town. We were very wrong , it is only a 3 minute walk down the hill. From the rooftop terrace there is a great view of Kusadasi. Sandra is a great cook and we spent a vert pleasant evening on her terrace eating dinner and chatting to her. She was extremely helpful in recommending other places to stay up the coast and even rang another hotel for us. The rooms are smallish but very clean with a simple charm. Bathroom was tiny but did the job. Great value for money and we left feeling we had made a friend. This is a little gem!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

I stayed at Anzac Golden Bed and was completely blown away! Sandra who runs the place couldn't have been more helpful, she had loads of Ideas about where to eat, what to see, whilst there, a real mine of info. The room was great, beautifully presented, in the perfect location as well, really central which meant you could get about everywhere on foot, no taxi's! The first night I was there, I'd had a bit of a long journey, and didn't fancy eating out, no problem to Sandra, she simply put on a barbeque for me! I'd have no problem telling anyone about this little jewel of a place, AND Anzac Golden Bed be warned I shall be coming back again soon

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Anzac Golden Bed Pension? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anzac Golden Bed Pension

Address: Camiatik Mah. Ugurlu Sok. No.1 | Cikmazi 4, Kusadasi 09400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Kusadasi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Kusadasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Anzac Golden Bed Pension 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A truly , authenic Turkish Small hotel and Guesthouse.Simple and tastefully furnished. Situated right in the town Centre. Owner , Sandra Galloway is an Australian who has owned and operated the Pension and Guest House for over 10 years. All rooms have a private Ensuite/Bathroom and full turkish breakfast included in the room price. The Rooftop Terrace Garden Bar and Grill is open every evening in the Summer months. Stunning panoramic sea and city views and an atmosphere of pure relaxation.FREE High Speed WIFI ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Tingo so you can book your Anzac Golden Bed Pension reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anzac Golden Bed Pension, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.