We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hotel, except........” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Charisma De Luxe Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Charisma De Luxe Hotel to your Saves list
Charisma De Luxe Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Akyar Mevki No:7, Kusadasi 09400, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 148 Hotels in Kusadasi
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A good hotel, except........”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed two nights at the Charisma and were perfectly happy except for a couple of minor irritants. Our room, (2809) was at the end of the building, on the eighth floor with a ' corner' window and a balcony as well, all overlooking the sea. The views were fantastic. A firm bed, basic, minimalist decor and good toiletries were all good. The included buffet dinner and breakfast were extensive, nothing exceptional, but were good value, had good variety and were more than adequate. (Although it annoys me to get orange 'cordial' masquerading as orange juice at breakfast in a 5 star hotel!)
My main complaints are, that this is a five star hotel in a country where you are told not to drink the tap water, yet they do not supply any complementary water in the room! The wifi is frustratingly bad, constantly dropping out and finally, you have to pay for the use of the in room safe!!
In all my travels of 5 star hotels, I have never had to pay for the use of the in-room safety box! Why?
These 3 small issues could all be easily resolved, yet the reviews show that they still annoy a lot of contributors on tripadvisor. Surely the Charisma should take note.

Room Tip: Take water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    203
    76
    21
    15
See reviews for
130
265
22
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Overall, this hotel was delightful! Room were spacious and overlooking the Aegean Sea... there is no beach per say but a short rocky walk into the water and it is perfect! Our breakfast and dinner buffets were included - lots of variety and delicious.
Make sure you return your beach towels at the end of the day and get your personal towel card back otherwise they will charge you 10 euros!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We were really looking forward to staying at this hotel as had been told good things about it. We found the lobby impressive and we were greeted with a "cocktail" on arrival. Unfortunately once we arrived in our room things went downhill. The room was small, had no balcony, the carpet had obviously been lifted and just thrown back down as it was loose, the one and only chair had a burn mark on it as did the carpet. the shower was set into a corner of the wall and had no door or curtain. Everytime you used it, the water flooded everywhere. There was nothing you could do about it. We ended up with water through the entrance way and the carpet was wet. Really bad planning! The wi fi was hopeless and hardly worked at all. The buffet was below average with the main dishes not hot and the juice was not juice. The swimming pool area and being able to swim in the Aegean was lovely. The staff were not interested in helping correct anything. While this is meant to be a 5 star hotel in Turkey the only 5 star thing about it is the view.

Room Tip: Get a balcony so at least you can enjoy the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

The Charisma is a perfectly fine hotel. The staff is fine. The rooms are fine. The food (all buffet) is a little less than fine, but I guess they believe quantity makes up for quality. One good thing is that all of the rooms are ocean facing so you do have lovely views. I read one review that said the WiFi was terrible and it was. The staff is okay, perfectly nice if you ask a question, but there's just nothing special about the place or the staff. I can't give this hotel a positive review, but I can't give them a negative one either. Personally, I would have preferred a smaller, boutique hotel than the Charisma which is basically a cruise ship on land.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I stayed at the Charisma in June. The hotel is modern and immaculate, with waterfront that you can swim in (or use the pool), and everything is given attention. It's a little far from the main sightseeing, but since it's not in the touristy part, it is nice and quiet. There are buses that stop out front and go to other parts of the city.

Room: When we checked in, we were offered nicely presented juice drinks (no alcohol, too bad). Our room was huge and had an awesome view of the sea. Everything was quiet but for the water and wind. The room was updated and clean (though the shower/tub was a bit scary getting in and out of). The deck off the room was small but offered a great view. The staff brought us wine and fruit.

Staff: The front desk staff was friendly, helpful, and informative. The restaurant staff usually kept to themselves (though I think their English limited, so that might be why); they were never rude, just didn't make conversation. The hotel accidentally charged us for our dinner (which was supposed to be included in our particular package), but one call to our travel agency cleared that up without any problems. The staff has a room set apart to hold luggage if you need them to--they have a tag system to make sure bags do not get mixed up--it seemed pretty organized and we had no trouble with it when we left our bags with them for several hours after our check-out time.

Breakfast & dinner: Everything was buffet style, with every kind of food imaginable presented very nicely. The breakfast food wasn't anything extraordinary tasting, though the bakery items made up for the rest by being excellent. We had dinner included as part of our package, and that was good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This review is a mixed one and therefore will start with the things that I liked - the view from the balcony is good, the swimming pool is located by the sea and is well maintained, the spread at breakfast and dinner is really good and to get a seat outside by the sea at dinner is a lovely experience. There are various food options for vegetarians and that according to me is a definite plus point. The team at the hotel is nice and helpful.

About some of the things that were not so nice (which are not material for me) - you got to pay a daily rent for using the safe deposit box in the room, no tea/ coffee maker in the room and the air conditioner does take a while to make the room cool.

Despite the shortcomings mentioned above, our overall stay experience was good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My review is based on the following:
This hotel claims to be a 5 star hotel. They claim to be one of the top 25 hotels in Turkey. They charge Euro 211.00 for a double room.
Our frustrations:

1. Air Conditioning: The hotel very obviously tries to save money at the expense of their guests comfort. Room air conditioning only works if you are inside the room with the key in a slot at the door. We arrived on a hot summer's day with temperature 37'C outside and 95 % humidity. We checked in, and got to your room hoping for a cooled room to relax in. Then we got the shocker. The room was as sweltering hot as the outside because the aircon was not switched on!!! So we got the aircon working, but guess what: Just open a door or a window for even a second, and the aircon swtched off!. And to get the aircon back on, you first have to switch the unit on and change the default setting from "economy" to "high". So we waited a half hour for the room to become comfortable. We wanted to check the hotel out and go for a swim. We had to leave the room (with our key card), to go for a swim, and returned half hour later. Guess what: The room was warm and muggy again!!!. And the whole process of cooling down the room started again. I am sorry, but I can maybe accept this from a hotel where I pay Euro 70 per night, but not from a claim to be 5 star hotel charging me Euro 211 for a night.

2. WiFi Internet:
Dont come to this hotel if you intend to do any work from your room on the internet. The Wifi connection is extremely slow, poor signal throughout the building and on the patio and unreliable.
I experienced this on my MacBook pro, iPad and iPhone, so the problem was not on my side. Unacceptable for a claim to be "5 star" hotel.

3. Drinking water:
If you want drinking water in the restaurant, be prepared to pay for it!!!. It is not included in this "5 star hotel"!!!
If you want to drink water in your room, or even to brush you teeth in clean water (they clearly state in the room that it is not advised not to drink tap water), be prepared to pay for it. The 2 bottles of water in the room is not for free!.

4. Beverages:
Our dinner buffet was included in our package. Be aware that you have to pay for a cup of coffee in the restaurant though = Not Included!
They do not even provide a kettle , cups and coffee in the room either!

All and all: A disappointing stay. The premises may be nice, with a beautiful pool overlooking the ocean, they have a good tasting buffet dinner and breakfast. But there are the small things I mentioned like air conditioning, internet and drinking water that thaes the enjoyment of this hotel away. Disappointing, and we will not return.


ir Conditioning was frustrating: Outside temperature was 37'C with humidity of 95%. Lobby area was muggy with poor air-conditioning. Our room was super-hot when we arrived. Unacceptable !!! And why was the room so hot? Simply because the air conditioning
Beware: Everything costs extra... even drinking water. Our booking had buffet dinner included. But to get some water at the meal, we had to buy water on the tab...= 5TL. Coffee not included at the dinner... = 5TL. Even in the room, they dont provide a kettle to make yourself some coffee. There is a sign in the bathroom :"Do not drink water from the tap". So you open a bottle of water in the room to brush your teeth and rinse your mouth. But the next morning we had to pay for that water as well = another 5TL.
I dont mind paying for services around the pool, but to be paying for drinking water in the restaurant and the room is ridiculous when you consider that the room rate was Euro 211.00. Surely at such rate they can provide drinking water for free!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Charisma De Luxe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charisma De Luxe Hotel

Address: Akyar Mevki No:7, Kusadasi 09400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Aydin Province > Kusadasi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Kusadasi
#11 Luxury Hotel in Kusadasi
#14 Romantic Hotel in Kusadasi
#25 Family Hotel in Kusadasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Charisma De Luxe Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Charisma De Luxe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charisma De Luxe Kusadasi
Hotel Charisma De Luxe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charisma De Luxe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.