We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely relaxing stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palmin Sunset Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Palmin Sunset Plaza to your Saves list
Palmin Sunset Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kadinlar Denizi, Boyalik Mevkii, Kusadasi 09400, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 149 Hotels in Kusadasi
Galway' Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxing stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed in the Palmin Sunset Plaza last summer and had a lovely stay there. It's in a great location if you like to spend time both by the pool and at the beach (although the beach is accessed by a very steep hill). Our room was lovely, spacious and a huge bed, and we found it nice and quiet in the evenings. The food isn't brilliant, and found that we couldn't eat much of what was on offer for breakfast as there were some flies around uncovered food. The location was perfect for us, outside of the town but it was very easily accessed by the frequent dolums that stop outside the hotel entrance. The pool is very nice, large, with view of the sea, and lots of umbrellas. I think it was great value for money. Massages in the spa are lovely too!

Room Tip: If getting a pool view ask for an upper floor when booking for a sea view. We asked could we move to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    68
    51
    27
    15
See reviews for
74
112
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
west of ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here in November 2012, disappointed was an understatement, the pool area is the main feature on the website,this is nice....but the rest of the hotel is old and vile. Reception is in serious need of renovation, the breakfast room needs a health inspection, and we saw the young men who work with the food actually manhandling it without gloves on a few occasions ! The restaurant is a shoddy little shack that looks like its ready to fall down, same staff in in bar and restaurant who are fine until you don't tip then they literally leave you to get your own drinks etc. The on site shop consists of a shelf of lollys and another one of Doritos, NO snacks or toiletries its just barren. The entertainment on the night we sat in reception was a man and woman running around waving sticks that were alight then a young lad came around showing us all a bag of broken glass that they then got him to lie on while one of the tourists were asked to stand on his back (nail biting stuff !) the other night was 'who wants to be a millionaire ' but the staff couldn't pronounce half of the words correctly so it turned into a comedy act. The breakfast was awful, boiled eggs scrambled eggs and Turkish sausage,bruised apples was the only fruit ALL week, Turkish yoghurt served in a chipped bowl etc just awful. The subway rep Selina was unkempt and dressed very shabbily in a well worn uniform with pins in the hem she had such bad grammar and pronunciation that you would need an interpreter to understand her she spoke of the ' ledda factory 'that sold 'tin or tick ledda' and the cobbledyox streets which translated to the leather factory and cobblestoned streets, kept us for an hour an half just trying to sell her tours...very boring and annoying. The kids club was a small room with bits of broken toys and someone's jeans hanging out of the window to dry, no other activities were there for kids apart from one of the staff playing ball in the pool with some boys. The paths around the hotel were very broken up and dangerous. The beach was very small and filthy, the majority of sun beds were broken,no staff there to help. The path down to the beach is dangerous and not recommended to kids or older people. The other beach the rep recommended was two bus rides away and an exact replica of the one at hotel only bigger. The bus service is frequent but takes 20 mins an sometimes had 20 people in an 8 seater van! Only nice thing about this place is the pool area which is new, check out the pics they are all of the pool area none of the restaurant or breakfast room or reception, and now you know why...don't go there!!!! You've been warned.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed here on the last week of the season so everything was winding down. I have to say we had a great time. The staff were friendly and helpful!

This hotel is right beside a lovely (small) beach...down quite a steep hill. The views are amazing! The beach is only shared with one other hotel so we always got a sun-lounger every time we went down. Ladies Beach is a short walk (or dolmus ride) away - it has a much larger beach and a promenade with shops and resturants.

The rooms in the hotel are a great size - we didn't get/pay for a room overlooking the pool but we had the sun on our balcony in the morning which was lovely. Most of the summer season the resturant is outdoors but as the nights were getting a little chilly we sometimes ate indoors. The food and drink in the hotel was really reasonable and there is a great selection on the menu. The portions are huge as well! Breakfast was lovely with a selection of cereals, dried fruits and yougurt, small danish pastries, selection of cheeses, fresh fruit, tea/coffee/cherry juice/orange juice, selection of tiger breads and for a small tip there is a guy who will make up an omelette which is delicious. There is also scrambelled eggs, boiled eggs and sausages. I see some negative reviews about the breakfast - WISE UP, you're not in the Hilton!!!!

The pool is a great size and there is a small pool for kids which is great. I would definately recommend this hotel for families with small kids. There is entertainment each night - its not mind blowing but the kids seemed to have a fantastic time!

There is a spa with a turkish bath and a salon. The prices are reasonable. The shop is quite basic - there is not much in it! Make sure he gets himself a shave!!

The town is really close by, when you leave the hotel's main entrance onto the road the dolmus/bus stop is just on the left at the small seat! The number 5 bus will take you into town - get off at the Dennybank its (€2.50/5lira)....the markets are great - MAKE SURE you have lots of room in your suitcase to carry things home!! The port area is also worth a visit - there are some really good sea-food resturants around.

We went on the tour of Pamukkle...its a 3hour bus trip to get there (with a quick stop half way) Pamukkle contains hot springs and travertines, terraces of carbonate minerals left by the flowing water. IT really is beautiful - the tour also brings you to have a turkish mud bath and an Onyx factory. DO NOT BUY items on these visits/tours unless you don't mind being ripped off! The tour guide gets a huge percentage of the purchases that the people on the tour buys. Therefore the prices of the items are 3 or 4 times more than the prices in the markets. Yes I got ripped off paying €50 for an item that was €20 in the market. LESSON LEARNED!

Overall we found it a great place to stay! We would definately go back.

Room Tip: Rooms with a pool view wont necessarily get the sun so you could have a pool view with a dull room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I stayed for one week in October 2012 with my husband. It was great value for money. The rooms are large and very clean. The breakfast could do with some improvement. The location is great , very close to the sea and the hotel has great views.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

just returned from there on 20 oct 12, hotel rooms and grounds spotless,staff very frendly and nice,midway first week,weds night BBQ very dark could not see what we were eating,next day both my wife and i and we found later quite a lot of people were very ill,the same thing happened the next week,we were not there of course as we were still off colour,the hotel is in the back of beond,no walks as packs of dogs roaming the streets,wont be back to that ht

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had a great trip here at the start of October. Hotel was very clean, in a great location - views were lovely, small beach down a steep path, or a quick ride on the dolmus bus to Ladies Beach. BBQ night was great and the omlettes were good for breakfast. Beds were very hard though, but that was the only complaint.

Room Tip: Choose a Pool View
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west of ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

At this hotel at the moment, it's a two star or very tired three star at the most ..
Jaded reception area with orange faded plastic settees,note there are no pics of it, most of the many light bulbs are broken and haven't been replaced here. All evening entertainment is on in reception, it is such BAD entertainment everyone is pissing themselves laughing ! The kids activity area is four plastic baby slides.
The breakfast is a Disgrace, the only hot food is boiled eggs,scrambled eggs and Turkish sausage, slice ur own bread an toast it on the oldest toaster in Turkey,four plates of cheese, coco pops, cornflakes and Turkish yoghurt. The young boys who work here are generally in their own clothes and handle the food without gloves. Dirty slop buckets placed next to tables where you eat.The ground around the hotel and the paths to ur rooms are broken and uneven in a LOT of places,walkway to the disgustingly filthy beach is dangerous and very hard to travel unless ur very fit.
The pool is nice but we only saw it getting cleaned one morning.
The restaurant is an old shack where ur charged for every possible thing they can pile onto the bill (22.50 lira for 3yr olds pasta)
The shop on site has no stock, no toothbrushes no crisps nothing but bare shelves.
The only redeeming quality is the outside plaza an pool area, which they feature in all pics.
Rooms are cheaply furnished
Don't be fooled by the pictures!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palmin Sunset Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmin Sunset Plaza

Address: Kadinlar Denizi, Boyalik Mevkii, Kusadasi 09400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Aydin Province > Kusadasi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Kusadasi
#24 Luxury Hotel in Kusadasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Palmin Sunset Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Palmin Sunset Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palmin Sunset Plaza Kusadasi
Palmin Sunset Plaza Hotel Kusadasi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palmin Sunset Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.