We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a hotel after all !!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Kurdoglu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Kurdoglu to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Kurdoglu
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Yatlimani Karsisi, Kusadasi 09400, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 148 Hotels in Kusadasi
Mykonos, Greece
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not a hotel after all !!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We went to our rooms and the door was open. The washroom was open with gels and tubes thrown around. The room was not clean. The staff cleaned the room and we went in after half an hour. The lift could take a max of only five people and the lobby or the fitness center was not welcoming. The food was bad - simply cold and we prefered going downtown or the beachside to have food. A genuine advice - DO NOT BOOK THIS HOTEL !!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a suite room. That will serve the purpose of a triple room,
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    59
    39
    28
    39
See reviews for
69
82
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scunthorpe England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Returned from the Grand Kurdoglu after an 11 day stay at the Grand Kurdoglu (4 star)? June 2013. Whilst the rooms were ok, clean and the staff accommodating, the food was altogether abysmal. We were all inclusive but spent many days eating out, as the hotel food was repetitive, mostly salads and anything that was supposed to be hot, generally was not. The hotel holiday makers consisted of 95% East European and Turkish origin. The swimming pool area was located across the road and quite shabby. There is a second swimming pool located on the roof of the hotel which was ok but had very little protection from the sun. The nearest decent beach is Ladies Beach which was two bus rides away, very crowded and cost 15TL a day for 2 sun beds and an umbrella.
Although Kusidasi is quite a large resort there is very little of interest. We went on two excursions when we were there, the Roman ruins at Ephesus and the Salt pools at Pamukale. Each excursion was £65 per couple. All in all not one of the best holidays that we have experienced and when you book all inclusive you do expect the food to be decent. I will not be going back to this area of Turkey and would certainly not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony as not all rooms have one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We just returned from vacation in Kusadasi, where we was staying at this wonderful hotel with high quality services and a splendid view over the harbor and Eagean see.The hotel owner and the staff we made this holiday very successful, they are very friendly and hospitable, very responsive to our wishes. We will definitely return another time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Me and my best friend have been this year, in September, in the hotel. We were surpised about how nice the boss is and the whole staff. Everyday the boss was in the hotel asking guests how they like food, their rooms etc.

Food was great- you had a choice between all kinds of food. Every meal was served in good time and always on time. Turkish waiters are nice nad helpful.

You could feel like and home. Safe and always with opportunity to ask for any help.

The holiday was amazing, food great, weather also and we felt safe.

Room Tip: with a see view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We booked with Beat the Broucher for a one week break to Turkey from 17th to 24th September 2012 we paid £544.00 with flights but spent another £70 plus having to eat out every day.
The two reviews we read about the food being rubbish was true. On the first night we were presented with raw chicken by day 4 the cook had decided to re-fry the chips from the day before. After complaining to the hotel owner who vowed to kick the cook to the kerb we were provided with a lovely fish supper for one night. Unfortunately this was just for us and not for the other guest. If you don't complain you don't get. The hotel owner was very keen to rectify any short comings and anything we raised he corrected. I believe other guest may have just complained amongst themselves and when the hotel owner was not there things were not addressed.
There was curdle milk put out for breakfast and a juice machine which would empty onto the floor when you tried to use it. It took 4 days before they took this out of service.
The free drinks ended at 9 p.m. and there was no tea making facilities in the rooms which meant getting up and going to the dinning room first thing in the morning.
Lunch was only served for an hour and the snacks served twice a day never happened.
As for the facilities for your all inclusive they are not included. This did not include the roof top restuarant which the reception said was not open due to bad weather. At 28 degrees I could hardly say it was bad weather. The roof terrace bar only opened after 2 p.m. and not on every day. No mini bar in your room only a fridge which was handy for storing the booze from duty free. The sauna and steam room were never available. The equipment was so old in the gym that the treadmill was manually operated and only had one piece of rubber to run on that you would have had to hopped to use it.
The lights on the stairs down from the first floor was broken so we slipped on the stairs several times.
There was a family of six cats which occuppied the patio by the dinining room. They were very well fed as the guest use to feed them food from the restuarant. Generally most of the guest ate out in the evenings and at lunch time so the dinning room was empty. I really believe this was due to the bad food.
And don't bother paying for a land view room as you are likely to be placed facing the main road or the building site which was the garden. I understand that the owner of the hotel has sold this off.
The staff were really helpful and pleasant the the hygiene was good.
All in all the main let down is the food and someone needs to get a gun and shoot out two of the stars on top of the building.
Be careful of the competetion between the holiday reps. I believe they work on commission and we were caught up in argument between Alex our official rep and Frankie who turned up early and advised that he was our rep and tried to sell us excursions. We went on a great day out call Dolphine Beach which included transport, free drink and fruit place for 15 TL. Maurice the owner is very wellcoming as is the staff.

If the hotel was available as half board or room only they could keep 3 stars.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view on the fourth floor in the left hand corner. Rooms at the front over the lobby fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

After seeing mixed reviews before our visit we went with an open mind, what a pleasant arrival, the hotel owner was in the lobby introduced himself and said to go to him with anything we had concerns with and any needs, well immediately the room was changed as we were promised a sea view and the original allocated room did not have one so we were shown to a new room which was wonderful overlooking the Marina and cruise terminal bird island and city really great. We stayed on the all inclusive plan, this always has it's highs and lows but I can honestly say that there were no real issues you just need to go knowing what to expect, firstly remember this is Turkey not Britain the diet is not normal British food or attempted British food it's Turkish which means largely salads olives chicken and meatballs, breakfast is again salads boiled eggs, omlete, bread, so if your wanting Bacon sausage black pudding fried bread etc stay in Britain or go to Spain, the food in this hotel is of a good standard and if you do find something not to your liking believe me they will sort it, in fact all the staff are happy to help happy to talk and have fun with you, they work hard but are always smiling, The room was cleaned daily, basic but clean and tidy with a safe balcony, another thing to remember is health and safety regs are not British regs so if you see dome wires hanging out or a loose fitting, dead flies etc it's Turkey That's how it is, I have stayed in Turkey now for the last 3 years I can honestly say that this hotel far exceeded previous visits it's not the most Glam or up there but the comfort and hospitality it offers is fantastic, even when checking out I spoke to the owner about where I could leave the cases as we were not being collected until 5.30pm but check out was 12pm answer was keep your room until you no longer need it , no charge use all facilities and all inclusive facilities until you leave, when have you ever heard this happen, then later in the afternoon owner comes over and says would together like us to make you a sandwich .or something, overall all I can say is for the the money we payed and the service we got this was a lovely place to stay, when you see some reviews moaning about the food, wires, rooms etc I can only assume they don't really like salad, or forgot they are in Turkey not good old safety conscious Britain,

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I have just returned from a week in this hotel and am sure it cannot be the same one as some of the reviews, Yes the staff were lovely but the food was disgusting and cold with many guests becoming ill including one of my friends and the hours that food was served and the bar was open were not reflective of true all inclusive. You could not get a drink from the bar before it closed unless you took an empty glass which was insulting and the owner did not care when I spoke to him about this. The restaurant upstairs was closed and there are only four tables outside. They did light the bbq one lunchtime but it was for a management meeting and not the paying guests. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Kurdoglu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Kurdoglu

Address: Yatlimani Karsisi, Kusadasi 09400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Aydin Province > Kusadasi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Kusadasi
#31 Luxury Hotel in Kusadasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Kurdoglu 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Despegar.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Hotel Kurdoglu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Kusadasi
Grand Kurdoglu Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Kurdoglu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.