We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely ruins of an ancient polis in a calm location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Priene

Priene
37 km (23 mi) from Kusadasi | near Büyük Menderes (Maeander River), Kusadasi, Turkey
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 15 attractions in Kusadasi
Type: Ancient Ruins
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Once an ancient city of Ionia, Prine, with its well-preserved remains of the Temple of Athena, theater, gymnasium and many excavated houses, form one of the best examples of the grid type of town-planning.
Orebro, Sweden
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
127 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Lovely ruins of an ancient polis in a calm location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Easy to reach by car, ticket office on the site. Hilly location with rather big elevation, but the beauty of ancient ruins is unique and spectacular views are unbeatable. Picturesque pine woods and undisturbed nature. The ancient theatre is in a very good conditions with its marble chairs well-preserved, remains of a temples, fountains, citywalls and other structures. During our visit we were the only people on the site and enjoyed a lot.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    64
    9
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“An inexpensive glance back in to history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Extremely cheap to enter (5TL for adults, free for children and we didn't pay for parking) and a fair amount to look at.

It is of course not on the scale of Ephesus but we enjoyed looking around it for a good hour or so - including spotting some decent sized lizards!

As we visited in the beginning of November there was hardly anyone else there which meant we could wander around as we wished. The info boards on site gave good details and we all enjoyed our visit.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Same scenese all over again”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Pretty much like other places in Turkey. Visit if you have time or else do not plan for this separately

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape town
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“out of the way sites”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

While staying in Selcuk, we visited Priene, Miletus and Didymus. Priene is about 37km from Kusadasi (which is 20km from Selcuk!) and has the most spectacular position, perched on a hillside, once overlooking a harbour which silted up. You walk up a steep road from the parking lot (remember, you'll pay to park as well as to go in). It is always a good idea to have a guide book and map so as to get the most from these amazing sites...this one dates back to 360BC. it is incredible to look out past the fallen columns and other remnants across the plain below. it is a very peaceful site as few people go there and all you hear is the rustle of the wind in the pine trees and the rumble of tractors down below.

another 16km south of Priene (pronounced pry-een-y) is Miletus which was once a great centre of Greek commerce, but, again, the harbour silted up and is now about 5km from the sea. this site has been variously occupied since about 1300BC! there is a theatre, baths, remains of walls, a forum and much more. when we visited, there was a German architect making meticulous drawings of fallen stones from a corner of the city wall - fascinating. it is a hot and desolate site, take water and hats.

fianlly, another 20km south is Didymus (also called Didyma or Didem which has now become surrounded by a horrid scruffy resort. Here is the magnificent temple of Apollo with enormous columns, many of which have been re-erected. there was an oracle here that allegedly rivalled that of Delphi. we found the Oracle Cafe and Pension precariously balanced on a terrace above the temple...the wall was so precarious that it was propped up with large poles. Here we had the most delicious turkish coffee!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Go early”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I recommend you go early to Priene and then onwards to Miletos, which in my humble opinion far exceeds Ephesus and not nearly so many people.
Both these historic sites are well worth the visit and if you feel like some retail therapy, the Soke Outlet centres are not far from Priene. Avoid Novada unless you wish to food shop in Kipa.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Priene also viewed

Kusadasi, Turkish Aegean Coast
Kusadasi, Turkish Aegean Coast
 
Kusadasi, Turkish Aegean Coast
Kusadasi, Turkish Aegean Coast
 

Been to Priene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Priene, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Priene to your Saves list