We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Family Hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Batihan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Batihan to your Saves list
Batihan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ilica Mevkii, Kusadasi 09440 , Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 148 Hotels in Kusadasi
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A Great Family Hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We have just returned from a two week holiday in the Batihan and we had an amazing time. The weather was glorious - in the thirties with blue skies every day.This hotel has everything you could possibly want from a family holiday, and I can't recommend it enough. Of course, there are always some aspects that are better than others in any hotel, so in this review, I'll separate them into each area:
1. THE HOTEL BUILDING
The hotel has two buildings, one of which was built in 2011. We were in the older building, where the main reception is, and it was really modern, bright and clean, and didn't feel remotely old! We had two rooms next to each other on the fifth floor, each with a balcony, satellite TV and a shower/ bath in the bathroom. There is a hairdrier in each room, which saves having to bring one. The rooms were cleaned thoroughly every day, the beds were changed every second day, but made every day, and fresh towels were left by the maids every day too. On arrival,we were checked in quite quickly, and the porters took charge of our luggage and arranged to bring it to our rooms, which was so nice, after travelling with children! We gave him a tip, but we noticed throughout our stay that there is not the same expectation to tip all the time as there was iin Tunisia when we were there. In our rooms,there was a bottle of red wine and a platter of fruit waiting for us, which was a nice touch. There is air conditioning in each room, operated with a remote control, which we needed, because it was so hot.
2. THE FOOD
The main restaurant has a selection of Turkish and European dishes, and there is always something available, even if you are a picky eater. None of us were ill during our entire stay, and we tried most things! The place was spotlessly clean and the staff were so friendly and helpful. They worked very hard to clear tables as soon as people left. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are served here, but there is also a beach bar right beside the sea and just along from the pools, where you can order cheeseburgers, spaghetti, chips, pizza, barbequed chicken etc. There is also a very hardworking Turkish lady who makes lovely pancakes too, which were popular! Included in the all inclusive were two nights to eat at the A- La- Carte restaurant in the hotel grounds, where it's table service and offers a really impressive menu. The steak was lovely! Throughout the day, ice cream is available too and slush, mock cocktails and alcoholic as well as soft drinks.
3.SWIMMING POOLS/ACTIVITIES
The pools are fantastic. When you check in at the hotel, you will be issued with a beach towel card, and you exchange these for a beach towel every day at the spa. At the end of the day, you simply return them to the spa, and get fresh ones the next day.There is one main pool and a pool with three slides in it. The slides are on about three times a day, and are supervised by a lifeguard. There is a baby pool with a little slide in it, and at the other side of the main pool, there is a children's pool with a snake themed slide and mushrooms with waterfalls. Next to this, there is a shower in the shape of a clown, which was fun.There are additional showers next to the main pool. At the back of the children's pool is a wooden chalet where the kids' club takes place, but please be aware that this is not the type of club where you sign your child in and out, as we have been used to in the past. It was really just a case of children going in and out as they pleased to draw, watch TV, play with the toys etc. There was a lovely Turkish woman who was part of the entertainment team, who was mostly there popping in and out. If you have a sunbed right outside, you can keep an eye on your little one if they use the kids' club.
There is a volleyball court and a tennis court in the grounds, and the entertainment staff come round during the day announcing darts, volleyball matches, bowls etc. They don't pester you if you don't want to take part, but the offer is there. They are so friendly and genuinely seem interested in chatting to you, despite the fact they must meet lots of people! There were a good number of sunbeds and parasols, both in the gareden area and on the beach. We never had a problem getting a sunbed, but it might be different in peak season, as this was October.
4.ENTERTAINMENT
The entertainment staff work very hard, as outlined above.There is a mini disco at 9pm every night and then a bit of a gap until the main show at 10pm. There were a few outside acts brought in - Turkish dancers, a circus act etc. which were enjoyable. The staff also run a raffle and bingo, and do a great job of including all nationalities, which was lovely. We enjoy meeting people from different countries, and our children made good friends from Germany, Switzerland, Holland and Denmark and had such a lot of fun together. This hotel does have guests from all over Europe - there were also Bulgarians, and Italians there, but I get annoyed when people leave comments suggesting this is a problem. For the record, we found the German, Dutch, Swiss guests etc. to be absolutely fine. Sometimes a smile and a polite hello goes a long way! There were not many Britsh guests, but there were some Irish families there.
5. THE AREA
It's true that this hotel is 7km away from the centre of Kusadasi, but the dolmus bus stops right outside the hotel entrance and only costs 2.75 lira. It takes about 15 minutes to get to the centre. There is a supermarket and chemist within walking distance of the hotel, and there are a lot of houses around the hotel, but there are not many other hotels.
In Kusadasi itself, there is a market every Wednesday, where you can haggle, with varying degrees of success! There are also nice shops down by the port where you can see the cruise ships which have docked. As a previous reviewer has stated, there is a nice restaurant called Casablanca where you can be driven to from the hotel and back again after a meal. Mustafa - who works there with his brothers- visits the hotel and gives you his card. He arranged to pick us up the next night and drove us into Kusadasi, where we had a nice browse around town before a meal, with free dessert and coffee. We were then driven back to the hotel! Ephesus was really worth a visit, although I wouldn't recommend it for young children. I went with my elder daughter while my husband stayed in the hotel with our other children. The water park Aqua Fantasy was open too, and was a fun day out. Don't bother trying to bring in any snacks, though, because they ask you to leave all of that behind at the entrance desk, and collect it at the end of the day. However, the cost of food in the park is not too expensive anyway.
6.THE SPA/TURKISH BATH
As soon as you lie on a sunbed for the first time at the Batihan, you will be approached by Benjamin who works in the spa. He will give you a leaflet explaining the spa facilities. I had read a review on Trip Advisor written by someone who had not enjoyed the experience at the spa, and had suffered an allergic reaction to the face mask, so I was really wary about going, and fully intended not to. However, Benjamin believes in the hard sell, and before I knew it, my teenage daughter and I had signed up fr the turkish bath. He wrote down that we would be given the VIP package, which included a Turkish bath, massage, face mask and use of the jacuzzi and thalasso therapy pool. This cost 280 lira/ £95. We were ushered into a changing room by a woman who worked there and told to keep our swimsuits on, before we were taken to the turkish bath room. This was not for the faint hearted or shy, as you are scrubbed from top to toe, before you are then taken to a relaxation area wearing a robe, and given apple tea while you relax, which was lovely. Then we had a massage, which was expertly done, and brought back to the relaxation area where the face packs were applied.Although it wasn't like getting a facial at home, it was left on for ten minutes before it was washed off, and luckily we had no problem with it. One of the staff then told us the package of treatments was now at an end, but I said we were due to use the jacuzzi and the thalasso therapy bath. They said they were being treated with chlorine, but we should come back the next day. We did this, and the staff acted like they had never seen us before! That annoyed me, because they knew fine who we were. Anyway, we did get the use of the jacuzzi and thalasso therapy after that, but watch out for this, should you decide to use the spa!
To summarise, this hotel was great for a family holiday and we all came back delighted with our first trip to Turkey. We can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Rooms in the older building at the back give you more peace and quiet at night time, if you have chi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    520
    213
    104
    38
    30
See reviews for
395
205
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I would recommend this hotel for couples or families with small children/babies.
We have just arrived back from a lovely holiday at the batihan beach resort & spa. We stayed all inclusive and the food was good and hot although not much English food choices other than chips,chicken and veg.Ice cream was served all day at the pool bar and it was walls. I would say that this hotel is very much Turkish in food and entertainment and many German/Dutch guests like to stay here. The hotel it's self was clean,modern and comfortable,staff were friendly and helpful and rooms where nice although we did get put into the old original A block on arrival but we soon moved as you don't get a very nice view and deco is slightly dated. These rooms are the standard rooms you will get if you book via Thomas Cook. Thomas Cook advertise the select rooms ,which are in the new B block,in there brocher/website but you do not get these rooms which is an issue I have had with the tour opporator . We asked to be moved to the rooms we had seen in the brocher but the hotel said they were all full. The German/Dutch guests all seen to have these nicer more modern rooms which must be what there travel opporator has contracted via the hotel. We upgraded as we had booked a sea/pool view room but never got it. The only rooms available with this option was the suites. So we paid more to the hotel to get this nicer room and it was well worth it. The suite was absolutely amazing,I have never stopped in a room as nice on holiday before, we had a lounge with classy furniture,modern bathroom suite with was en suite to our master bedroom which had machanical remote controlled bed with a huge memory foam mattress ,loads of cupboard space and coat hangers,2 balconies which one over looked the pool area and the other had a spectacular sea view with a jacuzzi bath tub on it so you could sit in it every night and watch the sunset, bliss. We traveled as a family of 4 ,my husband,myself and our 2 kids 7 and 10 . The put the kids beds in the lounge area for us and there was plenty of room. The hotel was good although the entertainment was basic and most nights it involved the animation team getting us up on stage and we did the entertaining. I think the hotel only paid for outside entertainment once per week and the rest of the time the animation team did the shows,dressing up,plays,dancing nothing brilliant,very basic but still good fun. All the night time entertainment is held outside on a stage in the amphitheatre .there wasn't that much much for our kids to do through the day, the hotel had watersides which opened for half an hour ever 2 hours so in that 2 hour gap of having no slides the kids got bored . The kids club was a Wooden play house outside which had soft mats and bricks for babies,a tv in Turkish/German and an art table with hardly anything on it put paper and pencils,that was a big let down for me the lady who ran the kids club couldn't speak a word of English and she did no daily activities with the kids she just let them do whatever and sat down on her phone.she was very nice though she played with them on the swings and danced at night with the kids but the club was a sham. Daily activities are darts,volleyball and bowels. Not for kids aged 7 and 10. This hotel would suit couples and families with babies or teenagers. Overall the hotel was good it was just not what Thomas Cook had made it out to be ,I would say if you wanted to book this hotel go directly to the hotels website and book via email, you can gaurantee a nice room then and a cheaper price.

Room Tip: Book direct to the hotel via website and ask to stay in block b
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WALES
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Stayed for one week 3rd October -10th October we found the Hotel to be everything you should expect. Why some people moan about the food and Hotel is beyond me. We had a wonderful room on the 3rd Floor overlooking the Pool Area with a Sea view ( Room 1356 ) It must have been a family room because it was massive with and extra lounge area with television i have posted pictures. The rooms where cleaned daily and spotlessly clean, a room safe, and mini bar are also in the room. Every Staff member we came across was very polite and helpfull, it was our 40th Wedding Aniversary and also my Wifes Birthday while we where there and the Hotel sent a variety of fruit and a bottle of Red Wine to our room which I thought was a nice touch by them. The Hotel itself has everything that a family would require from the entertainment which is not that bad to the pools, Sauna, Beauty Treatments, Indoor Pool and and the beach. The Main Restaurant had a vast range of food were you could find something that you can eat from salads to all kinds of meat dishes soups freshly cooked meats and sweets to die for you would have to be ever so fussy to not find something to eat, There are 2 restaurants by the Beach you get 1 free night at the Sunset but you have to pay for the other one, it has a small range of shops inside the reception area were you can get most things including english papers if you wish to catch up on whats goin on back home. Money change was value as you got slightly more than back home. Over the road from the Hote is a Bar restaurant called Poco Loco (This is owned by the Hotel) you can get English Breakfast if you wish and watch Premier Football Also. The Hotel does have Scandinavian/German and Russian guests but contrary to other reviews we did not have any problems. The Hotel is abou 7 Kilometers from Kusadasi but ouside the Hotel you can get the Dolmus Bus for about a £1.00 or a Taxi if you wish. Kusadasi is a nice Town with a Harbour which has Cruise ships Docking every week, plenty of shops for haggling on the Fake goods and some excellent Restaurants the best of which was the Casablanca Mustafa from the Restaurant visits the Hotel during the day and you can book then or give them a ring from the Hotel they will pick you up free and return you to the Hotel later even give you time to go shopping first if you wish, Meal costs us about £20 and the food was excellent and plentiful, we wouldn't normall go out to eat on an All Inclusive Holiday but we were celebrating our Anniversery so decided to go out. All in all a very excellent Hotel and we had a great Time and will be going back again no problem

Room Tip: 3rd Floor Rooms in the New Building where Excellent ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

Just had a two week holiday at the Batihan.
Can only say that it's well worth a visit and is value for money. The rooms are clean and spacious though they aren't sound proof and there is some noise from the entertainment and people using the corridors. However this is not bad enough to complain about in my books.
The facilities at the hotel are good and even though we didn't go to the entertainment provided it seems that people enjoyed it and the entertainment team worked hard during the days and many people took part in the sports provided.
The food was adequate though after two weeks got a bit samey! However you won't go hungry and again the staff work hard to ensure you have everything you need.
The Turkish Bath was well worth the 60 Euros but isn't for the bashful or body shy!!
I know you can't please everyone but I would recommend this as a holiday location in Turkey.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here from the 10th oct. I read the reviews but thought I know it's out of the way but I was aware of that!! I go on holiday for the sun and that's what I got if you want to walk about don't come to this hotel..... It dosent make it a poor hotel.
The place is always being cleaned (which is nice) and I don't know why people moan about the food...... There is plenty to eat sometime you have to accept there isn't just English people here, other nationalities are too. I think the hotel try's to serve for all. They also have a really nice BBQ at lunch!!
They did have a problem with people's rooms but go and tell them, they will sort it and have a nice holiday..... These things happen!!

Overall this holiday has been ace, I got what I paid for (around £650 all inc for 2 ppl 7nights) bargain!! It's a very good 4* compared to other parts of turkey and you out of the way not being hassled, entertainment at night and 24 hr bar.

The staff are very friendly and always willing to help. I think British ppl are to quick to moan..... This hotel is very nice!! :-)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEICESTER
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

The hotel is split into 2 bulildings, one old one new, it's advisable to definately pay the extra to be
in the new building, we are a family of 2 adults and an 11 year old and booked a superior sea view room for 3 . The view was amazing, the balcony and bathroom huge however there was no way the room was big enough for 3 people.
Moving onto the security issues. Our 11 year old had popped from the room at teatime down to the pool bar directly below our room via the lift to get herself a drink. On her way back up in the lift and man of Turkish appearance grabbed her and tried to kiss her, if it wasn't for her quick thinking by getting out of the lift quick I dread to think what could have happened. To top it off the man was not even a hotel guest it appeared after checking cctv. Never once did we have our bands checked walking into the hotel car park and anybody could wonder round the side of the hotel and get it. We still to this day did not receive an appology from the hotel manager.
Do watch your children at all times.
The animation team were amazing, always happy and full of fun, the food was basic but they make the most with what they have and the Thomas Cook rep was amazing helping us with our incident.
If you are travelling as a family pay the extra for a family room or duplex room and keep your eye on your kids!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

We stayed between 26th September and 3rd October. The hotel was overbooked when we arrived which was a little bit of a let down. But once we got there we had a fantastic time. The food was beautiful, the rooms were stunning and cleaned every day, the animation team were such a good laugh. All staff were friendly and helpful, the hotel is about 15 minutes away from the centre of kusadasi but taxis and dolmus' were always available, it was nice to be out of the way from all the noise. Overall we had a fantastic time and would definitely stay again. We went as a couple, we would recommend upgrading to one of the pool access rooms, they were beautiful.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Batihan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Batihan

Address: Ilica Mevkii, Kusadasi 09440 , Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Aydin Province > Kusadasi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Kusadasi
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kusadasi
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kusadasi
#5 Family Hotel in Kusadasi
#18 Romantic Hotel in Kusadasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Batihan 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Batihan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Batihan Hotel Kusadasi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Batihan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.