We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Coastlight Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Coastlight Hotel to your Saves list
Coastlight Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Yavansu Mevki Soke Yolu 3, Kusadasi 09400, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #76 of 148 Hotels in Kusadasi
Dundalk ireland.
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Never again”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Hotel is not 4 star quality, staff are rude except the lovely cleaning lady and one gentleman at reception. No entertainment at night for residents, nobody speaks english and this includes staff and guests. Food looked ok but too many fly's around the food for me to touch it. Nicely situated beside the sea but the sea is very dirty and stoney. The rooms are small and our bathroom was distgusting- it's the worst I have ever seen, you would be cleaner going in to it than coming out of it

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    24
    24
    10
    14
See reviews for
12
33
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
sale
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

I have read other reports of this hotel and I think we have been in a different place! We have just spent 3 weeks at the Coastlight Hotel.Dolmus out front. Pool and beach out back. Clean and friendly. A bit of a Fawlty Towers element to the place but hey - lighten up. What do you want for the money.We are already planning to go back. 5 star it is not, and of course they don't want you bringing in food, how are they supposed to make a profit?? but having seen some of the alternatives we were very pleased with our choice. The hotel has people on tours for a couple of nights at a time, but this was to our advantage as the pool and sunbeds were never full. The beach is narrow but 5 minutes walk away is Long Beach, lovely. Five lira in a dolmous will take you to the edge of the national park where you can see wild boar and if you are lucky, dolphins. Kusadasi is 10 mins away with all manner of life, both day and night. This was our first trip to Turkey but will not be our last. And Coastlight, despite it's little foibles will do us very well.

Room Tip: We had 310 and 311. One had a sea view but the other was bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlow
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Management & staff were useless (with the exception of the cleaning lady for our room). Tables after the breakfast were just dusted down with a dry cloth to get the crumbs off the tables but just left on the floor- no clean table cloths put on the tables. On numerous occasions at breakfast we came across chipped glasses on the tray. The lunch menue was a joke as no matter what you asked for they did not have. We had been advised that there would be entertainment on a few of the nights - not true. It took them 4 days to get in bottles of light beer. The bar was not very welcoming, most of the lights were turned off , the manager was the only one that could serve you & he was usually sitting in the dark with another lady watching either something on the laptop or on TV he only went behing the bar if you were standing at it waiting to be served or if a staff member advised him there was somebody at the bar waiting to be served. When you asked for ice in your glass he just dipped his hand in the ice bucket & dropped the ice in your glass - this would be the same hands he is handling the money with. The cost of a drink in the hotel was more expensive that the restraunts overlooking the sea & marina.We stayed on the 4th floor & at night there was only a light as you got out of the lift but you had to walk in the dark to your door. Yes the hotel is on the beach but the sea is very rocky & full of sea weed. Would notrecommend this hotel or stay in this hotel again.Suggest a change in management & staff would turn this hotel around

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north wales
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

We chose this hotel as it was advertised as one of the best hotels in Kusadasi, unfortunately this is not the case. It is off the beaten track and outside as you walk into the hotel there is overflowing ans stinking bins, surronded by cats. The food is adequate if you are adventurous but if you are not willing to try foreign dishes, thn this hotel is not for you. We asked for a plate of chips as there was nothing at all we could eat, and whilst they were helpful enough to make it for us, they charged us for the chips, although we paid for half board. We had to eat out everyday which meant more of our holiday money went on food, rather than the things we had hoped to spend it on! The staff are friendly enough, although one night as we (2 Girls alone) came through reception to go to our bedrrom at 3 in the morning after having a few drinks out, we had a call on our bedroom phone from the man on reception , which frightened us, offering to bring coffee to us in the room (we found this suspicious and creepy and were told be other staff the next day, that this shouldn't happen and it's not common practise). There are better value for money and nicer hotels to be found in Kusadasi and it is a wonderful place to visit.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

This hotel was ok, but I wouldn't go there again. We arrived late during the night and were given rooms quite quickly however, when we entered the rooms they were very hot as the air conditioning cannot be switched on unless you put the room key (card) inside the card pocket on the wall. (This was very annoying as you would want the room to be cool if you have been out). On top of this, the air conditioning in our room was faulty and started about 5 minutes after I had pressed the start button on the remote.(The air conditioning also switches itself off if you open the balcony door).

The room was quite clean but was crying out to be refurbished. Some of the cupboards were broken and they were hard to open and close. The bathroom was also clean but again, crying out to be refurbished. The Shower doors were broken and it was hard to open and close them, it also took ages for water to drain down the bath.

We had half board:
Breakfast wasn't very good, same things most of the time however, evening meal was much better. Breakfast times were from 7:00-10:00 and Dinner was from 7:30-9:30. Juices were horrible in breakfast most of the time and drinks weren't included in Dinner, therefore you had to buy them at ridiculous prices from the hotel. You cannot bring your own food or drink from outside into the hotel (stupid rule) or else you would be billed.

Most of the staff were ok but many can't speak English or speak very little therefore it is very hard to communicate with them. However, we did make a couple of friends who were very helpful.

The beach is a pebble beach with a little sand. The hotel have their own sunbeds, bar and swimming pool outside. The bar also plays music nearly all day (more for the entertainment of the workers rather than guest in the hotel), this means that music can be heard in the rooms facing the beach/bar sometimes upto 2am in the morning.

The location is also quite poor, not much to do in the area. Taxi can cost alot of money therefore the local buses are much cheaper to use. Buses can be caught outside the hotel on the main road.

Overall the hotel was quite poor, wouldn't stay in the same hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

One day stay on a business trip. I was greeted by a sign saying that if you bring any food or drinks from outside the premises, you will be charged AGAIN by the hotel staff. Nice touch!
As there are no restaurants in the vicinity, you have to eat at the hotel and I hope that you are not too hungry as the food is not much to look a,t to taste and not much in quantitiy either!!!
Checking out was also an interesting experience. When I confirmed that I had taken a small bottle of water from the minibar, a member of teh staff was dispatched to the room to double check that I was not cheating. I found this rather depressing!!!
On a positve note the room was spacious, nice view on the bay, the pool area is small and so is the private beach. Wake up early if you want a spot in the sun!
Avoid like the plague!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

on arrival after being told the transfer was 45mins from bodrum airport which was infact 2 1/2 hours, the staff was very nice offerd us somethin to eat this was 2 in the mrnin!!!
we got up the next mornin for breakfast 1 word 'shockin' if you like egg n bread the ur fine, we was very disapointed but on the other hand tea was very nice a wide selection of food!!

i have been 2 turkey many times and never fallen ill but most of our holiday party was in the room for at least 24 hours 2 days into the holiday with some sort of tummy bug im not sure if this was from the food in the hotel but we had chronic stomache pain ect....
to top this off there was no english in the hotel not that we was that botherd but mostly we felt the guests stayin there at the time was very rude and arogent to us which was quite upseting they seemed to give off an impression that they ran the hotel not anyone else!!! just pure rude!! this felt very discriminating to us english...

rooms were ok clean tidy but the not to be trusted maids had gone through our suitcases. half way through the week maids stole some very expensive shorts from a friends room!!!
another friend of hours had been charged to her room for a beer she never had this was fact as she does not like beer!! n yes she still had to pay for it, at tea time wen having your meal you can not buy a drink they charge it to your room and you pay at the end of your holiday, and with this only being a half board hotel there are signs up telling you they will charge you if you bring any food onto the premises that has not been consumed there!!! pathetic. and they do catch u out!! watch the mini bar they change drinks and try to charge you.
but on a good note the staff was very friendly good to get on with but they dont speak much english.

murphys bar in the town centre was a great place lovley people frankie the owner was also our rep he arranged pick up and drop off at our hotel as it is quite a walk to the town centre.
so basicaly we would not got back but we tryed it and everyones taste is diffrent .people may like this hotel but it was not for us xxx

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Coastlight Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coastlight Hotel

Address: Yavansu Mevki Soke Yolu 3, Kusadasi 09400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Aydin Province > Kusadasi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Kusadasi
#34 Luxury Hotel in Kusadasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Coastlight Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Coastlight Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coastlight Hotel Kusadasi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coastlight Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.