We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and Friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surmeli Efes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Surmeli Efes to your Saves list
Surmeli Efes
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Eski Kusadasi-Selcuk Yolu, Kusadasi 35920, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 149 Hotels in Kusadasi
Leicestershire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Relaxing and Friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2010

After reading the reviews we decided to be open minded, as some were a little off putting.

We got there very early in the morning on a Tuesday, the receptionist was very swift in booking us in.

We went at the beginning of the season, so they were doing maintanence work on many of the areas, however this didn't intrud on us, the outside pool wasn't operational until the day we left, which was a little disapointing, but the private beach was great and only 50 yards away.

The room was spacious, with a balcony, the bathroom was quite small, but fully serviced. This was all clean.

They were very quick to respond to issues, however small.

The food was lovely, perhaps a little samey, but there was always something to eat, the waiters were fantastic, helpful and friendly. Try the Italian it was really nice, but definately don't eat anything for a while before...... It's filling!! The drinks were always accessable, the local ones are the free ones, but again you'll find something you like, we were all inclusive and didn't feel limited in any respect.

We would definately go back to this hotel. Excelltent area, but one tip is to take the mini bus NOT the taxis.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    655
    373
    224
    121
    89
See reviews for
660
364
21
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2010

My best friend and I decided to get away for the weekend and the Surmeli Efes was recommended to us by a Turkish friend. It's about 8 km outside of town (the entertainment district) but with the hotel being all inclusive, we really didn't feel like we were missing out on anything. The bad: We arrived on a Friday and decided to go to the disco inside the hotel instead of going into town (using the free shuttle provided by the hotel) however the disco never opened and we never got an answer as to why. The bartender at the lounge wasn't very friendly and pretty stingy on giving out the free drinks. Also, only local and house drinks are part of the all-inclusive deal. The spa is VERY expensive and not that great. Good: The views from the hotel are awsome. The food was great (typical turkish food), the customer service was very friendly. All-in-all, I can't wait to go back in the summer to use the pool, private beach area and use the water park right next door to the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2010

My partner and our two children 4 and 11 holidayed here in July 2009. We found the rooms very clean with staff also constantly cleaning the communal areas. The pools were fab. Beach beautiful. Food fantastic. Staff very helpful (except reception). It was not overcrowded for the time of year either. Only complaint no ice-cream on all inclusive for kids!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2009

We went to Surmeli Efes Hotel for our girly summer holiday at the start of September and had an amazing time! Despite other reviews, we found the staff polite and extremely helpful, espescially the animation team who couldn't do enough to entertain us! We were polite to the staff and in return they made our weeks holiday really special!The food was lovely, not 5* restaurant perhaps but there was a wide variety and the restaurants at the hotel which you could eat at for free once during your stay were of a very high standard. Lots of facilities were on offer, 3 large pools, games on all day, fantastic if not a bit cheesy entertainment every night! The beach was clean andf the watersports available were a good price and we would highly reccommend them! People didn't enjoy their stay porbably didn't take full advantage of the great facilities and for £400 all inclusive I couldn't have asked for more (even though it probably wasn't equivalent to a British 5*)! Anyone going, have a great time!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dundee
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2009

We travelled to Surmeli on the 1st of October for 14 days, unfortunately we ended up extending our stay by several days as our son developed accute appendicitis and required emergency surgery (thanks to the vigilance of the on site Doctor it took only 3 hours from diagnosis to Operating Theatre). During the next few days the Surmeli Management team could not have been more kind and eagre to assist, they gave us a special room rate as our Insurance company were to put us up "somewhere in Kusadasi". When we arrived back at the hotel 3 days after the operaton we were met with a card, flowers, fruit, wine and lots of bathroom goodies. All members of hotel staff including the Managers made a point of making us feel very welcome and could not have been more considerate and helpful. Our son said coming back to the Surmeli was more like coming home than actually going home.

Now for our review –
We went fully aware that 5 star Turkish is not the same as 5 star UK, but we had paid nothing like 5 star prices (£1670 including flights and transfers or around £20 per person per day for the hotel) and we definately had excellent value for money.

The Surmeli itself sits right on the Beach where there are watersports including free canoes and pedalo's, the water is about as child safe as it gets as it slopes gently and is shallow quite far out. The main hotel building is an really quite cool and resembles a cruise liner- visit the top levels for a great view. The main lobby of the hotel is impressive with a bar just off and pianist playing most nights. Gardens are well maintained and very pretty. The hotel and grounds are kept very clean with staff continuously cleaning up and removing empty glasses etc.

The rooms –
We were in a garden room comprising living area with a single bed recess (where the kitchen had been as these apartments were previously self catering units) large double bedroom and bathroom which was spacious, clean. Everything was in working order and our cleaner offered full clean or towels daily. The rooms in the Hotel were smaller and had dated carpeting.

The Location –
We always hire a car for a week to get out and about but all agreed that we shouldn't have bothered as the holiday was so relaxing (well until the appendicitis). The Hotel is 7 or so minutes from Kusadasi by car, there are Taxis at the hotels security gates and Dolomush stop regularly, 2 waterparks are within minutes including Europes largest. The aincient Roman city of Ephesus is only 4km away, we visited ourselves and hired a tour guide (definate must do its amazing), there are little villages and towns well worth visiting especially if you have a car. The Reps have lots of trips available, we visited Pamukale (worth visiting but a long day) and we also went for a Turkish bath which if you havn’t had is an experience in itself.

Markets –
The largest market is on a Thursday in Kusadasi, this is great for the usual looky looky bargains, on Saturdays the Selkuk market is is more indigenous with foods, clothes and local produce. Each Sunday (while we were there) there was also a decent sized market in the hotel grounds.

Food –
All 3 A La Carte options (abeit in the same restaurant venue) were open and we tried each one out and they were fine. The main “Efes” restaurant had a huge variety of foods available, lots of reviews say " too repetitive" but we would suggest they shouldn’t just eat the same thing every day. Sure theres no Full English nor Sunday Roast, but hey if thats what you are after try Benidorm. We visited the snack bar most lunch times, no complaints there either (if you ask they will do burgers – shh!). Pancakes from the beach hut (sugar, honey or cheese) in the afternoon also VG (alas it closed for the season during our 2nd week).

To sum up –
There are several reviews criticising the staff for been rude and unhelpful - well we did not find this at all, from day 1 onwards and especially when we got back from the hospital ALL staff could not have been more kind, friendly, helpful and welcoming. Our philosophy is go with an open mind, embrace the local culture and food, relax and enjoy. We had a great holiday all things considered as it was so relaxing and easy. True this is a very large hotel which also caters for trips and conferences and sure if you go looking for faults you could find some as with any similar facility, but how about a little smile or even a thank you from time to time. A huge thank you to all the Surmeli staff

PS Re Ozzby comment below – Was it not Benidorm you went to !!, still hope you found the Rose & Crown

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterborough
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2009

rude unhelpful staff, disgusting inedible food.no waiter service whatsoever in hotel bar bed linen not changed for 7 days. on a ten day fully inclusive holiday at a supposedly 5star hotel we had to travel 10 kilometres to find somewhere to eat.cats were roaming free in the restaurant and birds were helping themselves at the open food containers.this was more of an ordeal than a holiday.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2009

We stayed at the hotel between the 23rd - 30th October.We had read the reviews before we went and were expecting the worst.We knew that Turkeys 5* rating wouldnt be the same as Englands so what greeted us was actually better than we expected.It was meant to be a weeks chillin out time in better weather than England and it was.Yes the journey from Bodrum airport is quite long but you get to see the sights as you travel.The hotel was visually very welcoming as we arrived in the evening and could see it lit up in the distance as we arrived.The lobby was impressive and the staff very friendly.Our room was a family/garden room.It was basic but everything worked and was cleaned everyday by the maids.We had a pretty view of the pool and gardens.The staff were out every morning cleaning the sunloungers and pool side before anyone had got out there.
The a la carte restaurants were closed but I knew this was the case before we booked as I had read the reviews. It didnt make any difference to us as the food was non stop.The breakfasts were plentyfull ,a choice of the main restaurant or snackbar at lunch time, afternoon tea at the poolside bar ,lots of choice in the main restaurant in the evening and soup at midnight.Needless to say my partner and I have put weight on during our stay.We did have a Turkish bath and massage in the hotel spa, which was absolute bliss.The trip to Ephesus was brilliant and we bused it into Kusadasi a couple of times .We did book a trip to the Adaland water park via Alex (the rep) except he's not the rep at all.He's just a bloke who comes to the hotel selling trips and profiting from it!!We paid for Adaland but got taken to Aqua Fantasy as Adaland was closed but Alex hadnt told us that.I obviously challenged him , 2 hours later I left with half my money back ,I decided that was the best I was going to do.He also tells everyone that they dont have to ring to confirm their transport back to the airport he will do it .Well he didnt and I had to ring myself so dont fall for it.The only other annoying thing apart from Alex was the mosquito bites.They are plentyfull at this time of year as it is quite damp but warm at the same time.
Overall we had a good time as we didnt go with any preconceived ideas.We rested ,chilled ,ate and shopped which was great .Probably would go back but why would we when theres a great big world out there just waiting to be visited.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surmeli Efes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surmeli Efes

Address: Eski Kusadasi-Selcuk Yolu, Kusadasi 35920, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Aydin Province > Kusadasi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Kusadasi
#23 Family Hotel in Kusadasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Surmeli Efes 5*
Number of rooms: 436
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Surmeli Efes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surmeli Efes Hotel Kusadasi
Surmeli Efes Kusadasi
Efes Surmeli Hotel
Efes Surmeli Kusadasi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surmeli Efes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.