We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“if every place on the planet is closed stay at home never ever stay here” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Surmeli Efes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Surmeli Efes to your Saves list
Surmeli Efes
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Eski Kusadasi-Selcuk Yolu, Kusadasi 35920, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 149 Hotels in Kusadasi
billingham
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“if every place on the planet is closed stay at home never ever stay here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2009

5 star ....lol....what a joke !!!!! 2-3 star at a push
Food ...shocking same mixed up what ever day in day out and stuck in the middle of no where so ate out as often as we could ( but the homemade bread was nice )
Staff even worse ( they really need to get some sleep )
Bitten over 70 times which we thought were mozzies only to find out they were bed bugs !!!!
Bathroom full of mould .
Pools lovely looking but freezing cold indoor and outdoor...... feel sorry for the kids who stayed there!!!
The everyday shop in the hotel was a rip off .....my partner nicknamed him Dick Turpin !!!!
It goes without saying we will never again be going back to this hotel in fact this whole experience has put us off Turkey all togeather !!!!!
And when you fly home make sure you take your own food and drink to the airport ....we were charged £24.00 for two lots of burger chips and coke !!!!
Please take this all as fact as you will be bitterly dissapointed if you ever take it on yourselves to stay here !!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    649
    368
    221
    120
    87
See reviews for
655
359
20
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Farnborough Hants
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2009

The hotel is three miles from anywhere, so going for a walk after dinner involves walking along an unlit dual carriageway, and there are no local bars and shops to provide for ones needs. We didn't walk anywhere. That said we woild certainly return.

Although the decor in the bedrooms is a bit dated, and the lighting could be improved, the public rooms are well kept and comfortable.
The staff are very helpful and cope with the language requirements of at least a dozen countries. We had no difficulty in our English and Pidgin Turkish being understood.
The entertainment team work tirelessly to ensure that everyone knew what was going on, but were never "in your face" when they approached to encourage participation.
We found the food plentiful, varied, and tasty. Our problem was making a choice, so we normally had a bit of each dish . Breakfast was again plentiful and varied, and hot dishes cooked for you were available at no extra cost.
Please bear in mind that this is a large hotel and plays host not only to coach tours, but to Trade Fairs and Conventions, so the Dining Room can become very busy on occassion. However the other facilities, such as pool and bars etc saw business as usual.
The swimming pools were cleaned each morning before 07.30. Sunbeds could not be reserved before 08.30 and the management would remove towels placed on sunbeds before that hour. Plenty of sunbeds were available at any time of the day. Likewise there were many sunbeds available on the beach with plenty of sunshade.
In the evening an accomplished pianist played "Palm Court" type music in the Lobby Bar, while the entertainment team put on a varied show in the Amphitheatre.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2009

Maybe in season it might have been a different holiday.
After recent storms the sea was cold, but we had 4 pools to choose from.OH NO WE DIDN'T. Indoor closed,1 green ,the 2 outdoor were FREEZING.
Plenty of beds but mats GRUBBY.
4 restaurants to choose from.NO only main buffet and pool cafeteria with flies and cats scrounging for food.
Rooms very dated. No aircon. Were told to leave patio door open,So we could get mosquito bites and listen to the generator all nite.
Turkish bath good.
Entertainment was from 930pm-1030pm the guys were lovely,After that it was the same piano/lift music all nite every nite.
Easy bus access to town but buses stop around 10pm, Taxi back between £15-£25.
When was this hotel given 5*? This is the first time we couldnt wait to get home.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham Hampshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2009

I must point out that we went from 19-26 October and we had NO rain until 25 October, so not sure what the other reviewer is on about? The hotel is a 3* as expected, the pools are extremely clean, and bed linen also. The rooms were nothing to write home about but were clean and comfortable, after all you dont spend much time in there anyway do you? The indoor pool was closed when we were there but the weather was nice enough for the outdoor pool use. The food was a bit samey every day but you cant complain as we only paid £293 for the wk each all inc. The beach was quite nice and there was free use of the pedalos. Anyway I think if you are looking for a cheap holiday and dont expect to much you cant go wrong. We had a problem with one staff member who worked at the pool bar, he was very rude the rest were great. Mosquitos were horrendous! The transfer time was a pain on the way there it took nearly four hours but on the way back only two!!! Dont listen to people expecting a 5 * hotel for pennies in Turkey!!! This is a good 3 star cheap holiday. Location was a bit out of the way!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2009

it really nice staff are friendly , manager really helpfull, would go again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2009

WOW!!! I am absolutely gobsmacked that this hotel could receive ANY good comments. We arrived there after a long journey at 4.30am to rude unhelpful reception staff. We stood there for 15 mins, eventually got acknowledged, and then somebody else came up to the desk and they just went & attended to them in the middle of serving us!! We booked to stay in the main hotel, which we were told would be two rooms with an adjoining door WRONG!!! We got put in the family block, which was dirty and no way anywhere near 5* more like 3* at the most, we got laughed at for saying we were not prepared to stay in there. To cut a VERY long story short, if we wanted to move hotels we would of had to pay £235 cancellation fee and be warned if you book through the internet DO NOT expect an english speaking rep because you won't get one, what you will get is a very unhelpful turkish rep who will tell you to ring the company you booked with in England as you are their responsibility not his!!
The Food HA!! The SLOP it should be called. The food was DISGUSTING, the same thing for lunch & dinner everyday and it was cold or luke warm, everyday all we ate was rice and chicken because that was the only decent thing there.
The indoor pool was closed from when we arrived, which was ridiculous in half term week & it rained the first 3 days we were there so there was absolutely nothing to do. The 'Other' restaurants were also closed, apparently because its out of season??!! The only good thing about this hotel was the animation team, who were lovely people and did there job very well. This hotel is nowhere near a 5* or even a 4*, it is dated, worn & dirty with the rudest staff I have ever come across. I would seriously consider your options before booking this hotel, maybe the people who have left good reviews have never actually stayed in somewhere decent. I could go on & on but I hope you get the jist!!! Also I have never heard so many people moan about 1 hotel whilst we were there, I didnt speak to one single person that actually had anything good to say about this HORRIBLE hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2009

Bedrooms only average - comfortable with clean bedlinen and towels no problem but bottle of water was not replaced every day as was stated. Air conditioning not working as it is switched off at the end of September!
The all inclusive option was just brilliant. Quality and choice of food was great. Pool areas were excellent with staff on hand to provide entertainment if wanted.
Hotel is 15 mins out from the town of Kusadasi but access easy via the local bus service.
Also very close to the ancient city of Ephesus - a must to go to.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surmeli Efes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surmeli Efes

Address: Eski Kusadasi-Selcuk Yolu, Kusadasi 35920, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Aydin Province > Kusadasi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Kusadasi
#24 Family Hotel in Kusadasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Surmeli Efes 5*
Number of rooms: 436
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Surmeli Efes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surmeli Efes Hotel Kusadasi
Surmeli Efes Kusadasi
Efes Surmeli Hotel
Efes Surmeli Kusadasi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surmeli Efes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.