We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Surmeli Efes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Surmeli Efes to your Saves list
Surmeli Efes
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Eski Kusadasi-Selcuk Yolu, Kusadasi 35920, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 149 Hotels in Kusadasi
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

with hire car easy access to Efes, Selcuk, Sirince and Dilek national park..
the food is reliable and service ok, all in all the place always felt a little like it was on a budget drive..
at a good package price its a reliable choice in this area

Room Tip: 11floors, higher the better for view and to reduce noise..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    654
    372
    224
    121
    89
See reviews for
660
364
21
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
leicestershire, england
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hotel is in a lovely location right on the beach of a beautiful bay. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable. It is clean and well maintained. The food was a little erratic. Some days it was varied and looked nice. Others it was monotonous and looked greasy and uninviting. I am a vegetarian and pasta, rice and salad got a little boring. Also I agree with previous comments regarding the service. We had no problems with reception or bar staff but the restaurant staff were terrible. Tables were left unset, drinks were hard to get and if no senior staff were in the restaurant the waiters stood around chatting amongst themselves! On several occasions were fetched our own cutlery, glasses and water whilst waiters watched us! On the plus side we saw no cockroaches and the views from the 9th floor are stunning and the lifts were swift and efficient. If the food improved we would definitely return as hotel itself is stunning.

Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Bad smell in the lobby most of the times, although you get used to that after few days.
Staff at the reception not very pleasant. All the rest staff show a lot attention to kids, but too much sometimes. While dinning waiters (female) just come out of nowhere start hugging and kissing kids. Bar attenders very pleasant though.

Generally loads of rubbish on the beach.
Drinks at the beach and near pool bars are served in the plastic cups which are reused straight away by staff. Some people gather shells in them others use as ash trays...
The hotel itself is in the middle of nowhere.
The all inclusive part is not all inclusive at all, when you come in for a breakfast , you have to pay 2 Eur for a glass of fresh orange juice.
In the spa you are only allowed use the steam room, not Turkish bath (in Turkey). Also cold water in the inside swimming pools and jacusi.
Overall rating 5 star is nowhere near 5 , 3 at the most I would say, definitely would not recommend anyone going there.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I totally agree with the below reviews. The customer service shown to guests is shocking, never mind a 'can do' attitude, its more a 'cant do' here !

The hotel does look lovely there is no denying that but its not all about looking nice. I wouldnt suggest the food here if you are British its repulsive. I also agree with the cockroach problem and TINY balconies.

There is nothing nearby atall its in the middle of nowhere.

I wish we switched hotels before travelling it really is that bad, wasted over £1000 coming here it is such a shame and would hate someone else to have the same misfortune, change hotels while you can.

Room Tip: High floors dont stop cockroaches. I would suggest a low floor as lifts are a nightmare.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sadokusadasi, General Manager at Surmeli Efes, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear guest,

Sorry but we did not understand why you are claiming about?you say that cockroaches everywhere,first try to learn what kind of a insect it is,it is grasshopper,you can find anywhere in the hotel also on the 8th floor around your room,it is living in the planet and jumping everywhere it is open area,dont you have it in your country?Cockroaches is not existing in the hotel,So you learned now the difference between each other.Please also tell us why customer service is terrible?Before you travel you must search what is aorund the hotel,we never sya that we are in the center of the town we are far away about 8 km and it takes only 15 mnts to the center of the town and now you say ,There is nothing nearby atall its in the middle of nowhere.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was our second stay at Surmeli Efes and it was equally as good as the first time we were there. We had a lovely room on the 10th floor with great views across the bay. It was kept incredibly by the fantastic cleaner and the bedding and towels were changed regularly. However the wi-fi is very weak in the bedrooms and only works well in the lobby area. The air- conditioner is inefficient- it is switched on at the times people are mostly in their rooms but it doesn't cool the rooms down very well.
The food was really good but it must be remembered this is not an English hotel so the food available is going to be different ( there is no English cooked breakfast and the Turkish food is delicious) We ate at Pasha's ( turkish a la carte ) and DaVinci ( italian) where the food and service were really good.
The beach is fantastic with lots of sun loungers and shade if you need it . The beach is cleaned every morning although there is rubbish on the beach each side of the hotel were there are no buildings. The sea was warm and clear. if it is windy it is worth going to one of the 3 pools to be away from the blowing sand. the beach bar is good and the cocktails go down well after a swim! Afternoon snacks either in the lobby area or by the main pool are worth hunting down and the turkish pizza at lunch time is great.
The staff are really helpful if you smile and are polite to them. Many of them speak limited english so be patient with them and they will do their best to help you.
The minibus ( dolmus) to selcuk , ephesus and kusadasi are very efficient.- walk down to the main get and wait for one to stop. They are between 3 and 5 lira depending where you are going. Don't spend a fortune on an expensive trip to Ephesus- catch the dolmus and pay the entrance - it will save a fortune.
We had a very relaxing holiday and will certainly return again in the future. Its brilliant value for money

Room Tip: high floor- its worth paying extra for the superior rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sadokusadasi, General Manager at Surmeli Efes, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your fantastic review. I am very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay at the Surmeli Efes Hotel . Thank you for all your compliments addressed to my colleagues and for all the recommendations.
It is sure that we will try to all our best for you and for your family.
I am looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ulvik
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very good hotel that has everything. Good food, always available. Good rooms - exceptionally clean. Pleasant staff. good range of leisure activities. Lovely, uncrowded beach. Good situation for excursions. Good cheap mini-busses to Town. Unbelievable value for money.
Coming again next year.

Room Tip: All rooms have sea view, especially higher floors. There are some rooms in apartment style around th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sadokusadasi, General Manager at Surmeli Efes, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your fantastic review. I am very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay at the Surmeli Efes Hotel . Thank you for all your compliments addressed to my colleagues and for all the recommendations.
It is sure that we will try to all our best for you and for your family.
I am looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
2 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We came to the surmeli efes in July this year and loved it so much we are just back from another 11 days there. Would most defiantly recommend and am hoping to go again. Hotel is beautiful, staff are very friendly, entertainment is good and so is the food. We have stayed in both a family room and double room now and both have been very clean and decor and balcony views are good ! An easy walk from the water park, beach is on site and an option of three different pools. There is food running all day which is good. There is a bus and taxis that can take you to town which is just a 10 minute journey. Honestly one of the nicest hotels I have stayed at and would go again.

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sadokusadasi, General Manager at Surmeli Efes, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your fantastic review. I am very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay at the Surmeli Efes Hotel . Thank you for all your compliments addressed to my colleagues and for all the recommendations.
It is sure that we will try to all our best for you and for your family.
I am looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surmeli Efes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surmeli Efes

Address: Eski Kusadasi-Selcuk Yolu, Kusadasi 35920, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Aydin Province > Kusadasi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Kusadasi
#23 Family Hotel in Kusadasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Surmeli Efes 5*
Number of rooms: 436
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Surmeli Efes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surmeli Efes Hotel Kusadasi
Surmeli Efes Kusadasi
Efes Surmeli Hotel
Efes Surmeli Kusadasi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surmeli Efes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.