We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost all you could want from an all-inclusive deal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Surmeli Efes

Save Saved
You added Surmeli Efes to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Surmeli Efes
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Eski Kusadasi-Selcuk Yolu, Kusadasi 35920, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 148 hotels in Kusadasi
Stafford, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Almost all you could want from an all-inclusive deal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Party of 3 couples - all of retirement age on an all-inclusive deal. No cause for complaint - quite the opposite!

Very helpful staff. One allocated room was away from the others but there was no problem in changing. Spacious rooms - bedroom had huge beds and lots of storage space, good view, tv and phone. Very modern shower room and toilet - again, ample space, with hair drier and phone. Also big lounge with fridge, tv a spare bed (!), phone, comfy suite and access to a balcony with table and chairs. View across pool and bar from room towards the blue sea - some noise up to 12.00 pm but not enough to keep us awake. Far views of sunsets.

Self service restaurant for breakfast, lunch and evening meals coping well with large numbers but just occasionally running out of soft drinks. Book the much smaller a la carte speciality restaurants with table service for variety of dining place ( Italian; Fish and Anatolian) - all well worth the queue to book we thought.Many outside bars for eats and drinks afternoon tea, for example. Despite being all-inclusive we saw no drunken behaviour - and the hotel staff were persistently polite and cheerful, with few exceptions. Most spoke and understood enough English to cope. Individual cooks scattered everywhere: grilling, baking,replenishing - you can eat till 2.00 am if you put your mind to it! Just one note of caution though - don't come expecting a full English breakfast, or English food. The menu's are predominantly Turkish - which means lots of vegetarian dishes for example rather than varieties of roasted meat. We enjoyed the discoveries!

Lots of entertainment for children. Lots of activities by the entertainment team.Good play area. Only the one evening show we attended was "below par" - so bad we did not return - but there were so many alternatives and the children's shows seemed to go down well with the multi-national audience Good beach; excellent allocation of sunbeds; sea canoes free for 20 mins; same with pedalos. Jet ski's and paragliding available at a price. Free wi-fi if you have your own "kit" and internet for hire if you don't.

We were in the newer block of low rise buildings; no lifts. The main hotel looks like a cruise liner and has lots of floors, and lifts! It also has indoor/outdoor pools; gym; Turkish bath; treatment rooms; games rooms etc (see the hotel website)

Location of hotel is a bit isolated but a bus goes both to Kusadasi for the market (approx £1.50) and to Ephesus (Efes in Turkish) which is a must. The excavations of the old city are excellent. Out guided tour cost £40 - the guide gave a bare minimum of detail; and the trip included places we didn't want to see - such as a gold shop. Not good value for money - bus and hire of audip pack next time! (This had nothing to do with the hotel - and everything to do with the rep). There is a daily visit from reps for Murphy's bar in Kusadasi - pushy but not offensive - they will hunt you down on the beach or around the bars!!

Big range of age, nationality, language and customs. All made welcome as far as we could see.
Excellent value for money in our opinion - Sept temps were in mid to high 20's during the day dropping to teens in the evening - so take a sweater.

Room Tip: If you want evening sun on the balcony try for 2301; 2404 for example. This is the new annexe bloc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,365 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    622
    355
    206
    110
    72
See reviews for
626
336
18
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed at Surmeli Efes for 12 days beginning of September, it was our 2nd time here and it was perfect again.

I'm not going to write a whole book over it here but to keep short and simple you can not ask for more. I mean everything is just perfect here, staff are really friendly and helpful (be friendly and polite to them in return you'll get excellent service and not treat them like your slaves), food is excellent and fresh all the time, there are different foods and snacks available from 7.30am till 2 am everyday (at breakfast, lunch and dinner times there are so many varieties that suits everyone's taste. You have to spend at least a month in this hotel to try every single dish. So I don't why these people are moaning that foods are respective, maybe try not to have all the dishes in one go) :)

Rooms are excellent and comfortable and if you want better standard rooms don't boom promo rooms. The rooms cleaned everyday.

Beach is perfect, clean, sandy and relaxing.

We will definitely go to Surmeli again.

We made some good friends over there.

Adam and Sara wish you all the best, if you're reading this get in touch.
sohrab26@hotmail.co.uk

Sohrab & Joanna

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Arrived 10thSeptember for 10 days.On arrival met by a excellent member of staff on reception giving us room 517.the room was lovely it was spotless.i would recommend this hotel to anyone the food was an excellent choice something for everyone.The staff at all times were pleasant and very helpful,the rooms and towels cleaned daily.
Now for the animation team they work so hard and are on the go 24/7 how they remember everyone's name is beyond me ,but what a personal touch.The beach is wonderful and cleaned nightly.The hotel pools are spotless and plenty of sun loungers for everyone .overall I can not fault the hotel real value for money.and yes I would return even though no fault of the hotel your miles from anywhere but then again there are taxis and buses available from outside the hotel entrance.

Room Tip: Stay above level 500 plus
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tottenham
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Hi as a Turkish north Londoner I want to review my holiday
Hotel : 5*
Food : Lamb and beef meats not prefable but desert are wonderful
Beach: very sandy and not much wave which safer for kids
swimming pool facilities was very good such as snack bars and enteraimant was wicked
animation team was very good aswell momo, billy, cuneyt abi, casper and the lot
Traveling: 4 Turkish lira for dolmus outside the hotel very easy trip to town centre.
hotel is suitable for families and couples.

oo and don't forget to visit Efes ancient city.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

The staffs are okey (not very friendly ), the location is a little bit far from the city(you have to take a mini bus(5 lira) or taxi to go there) ,the rooms are good and renovated,the honey moon service is brilliant, the room service is perfect (twice a day), so close to aqua fantasy and adaland, the pools are perfect,the snack bar is perfect too! The bara are great,thumbs up for the animation team they are PERFECT, the only problem of this good hotel is the food that is not good.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Spent 5 nights in this Hotel during the Mid of September. The Hotel is located around 15min drive from Kusudasi center. Overall quality of the Hotel is good. Staff speak English, and are very cooperative. Rooms are basic and are cleaned everyday. Swimming pools and Beach are the best part of this Hotel, they are perfect and fun! The Turkish Bath is free of charge including the Sauna.
Food is a minus :-( thought there is a lot of variety, it lacks the proper Turkish taste. The Sweets are fine, but not Wow. After second day, food becomes repetitive and boring.
I would recommend this Hotel to families, it is children friendly.
Enjoy!

Room Tip: I stayed on the first floor, things were fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Surmeli is by far the best hotel I've stayed in during a summer vacation in Turkey.
I spent a September week there with my boyfriend and we were given a room in one of the additional buildings, rather than the main hotel building. The room was exceptionally quiet and we could enjoy the sea view from it. Towels were changed daily and the room was kept very clean. We were supplied with fresh mineral water on a daily basis.

Surmeli has a great beach that is very clean. There are several swimming pools, as well, though we spent the entire vacation on the beach. One of the pools has animation and activities, while the other is dedicated to peaceful relaxation.

Great food and great entertainment! There was a dance performance during Turkish night and all of the restaurant staff were dressed accordingly. Food was fresh and delicious. There were many options, including grilled meat that was cooked on the spot.

Surmeli is located very near Kusadasi and there are regular vans that will take you to the city. It is also close to Ephesus, which makes it the perfect spot for trips.

Room Tip: If possible, pick a room that is in one of the additional buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Surmeli Efes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surmeli Efes

Address: Eski Kusadasi-Selcuk Yolu, Kusadasi 35920, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Kusadasi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Kusadasi
#19 Family Hotel in Kusadasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Surmeli Efes 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Surmeli Efes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surmeli Efes Hotel Kusadasi
Surmeli Efes Kusadasi
Efes Surmeli Hotel
Efes Surmeli Kusadasi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surmeli Efes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.