We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most horrible stay” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Surmeli Efes

Save Saved
You added Surmeli Efes to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Surmeli Efes
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Eski Kusadasi-Selcuk Yolu, Kusadasi 35920, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 148 hotels in Kusadasi
Moscow, Russia
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Most horrible stay”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We are staying in the hotel at the moment, with two kids. And it's just horrible comparing with other stays in Turkey. Firstly there are repairs going on - and it's absolutley impossible to put the baby to sleep as it from 10a.m to 5p.m. We have to spend this time somewhere else, as the noise is appaling - we were shocked by that, especially that the receptionist said it's normal and she can't do anything to help us. The staff is overall friendly except for the reception. The food is not bad, but it definitely not 5 star hotel food. The rooms on the 2nd floor are very old and everything is ruined - especially furniture, and there is a bad smell of old carperts on the floor. You should keep that in mind when you book - because there are some new rooms on the top floors. The only plus so far is a big looby - and sea view. We stayed in many hotels in Side and other places and they were much better that. We definitely do not recommend that hotel for family stay.

Room Tip: on the top floors only
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,219 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    546
    312
    186
    106
    69
See reviews for
574
300
12
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Didim, Turkey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Hi all,
Just returned from Surmeli Efes.
was a very nice clean hotel, loved the food.
entertainment team Kevin & Baris was great.
would stop here again.
would like thank all the people who work at the hotel for making our holiday excellent.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

We just spent five days in the hotel. Granted it was in December, not the high season but found several things a little problematic. First while you eat you will see cats and birds in the dining area. The birds flew around during the breakfast time while the cats were around all the time. I found this curious as they write on the paper that is given to you when you arrive that pets are not allowed due to hygiene issues. The other issue was the nonfunctioning hot tub. The tub was very cold and when we told them at the front desk, two days in a row, each time they said it was fixed but when we went down to it it was still cold. Not very good service for a five star hotel. I realize it was in the off season but this did not make me want to come back as there are many other hotels to try in the area. The food was average but the location is easy driving distance to all of the historic attractions.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Had our main holiday here in September. Very impressive lobby and reception area. We had booked a superior room for about £40 more for the 2 weeks, and this was excellant value. At the hotel it was an extra 10 euros per night. Room was on the 8th floor and was clean and well appointed. Room was cleaned daily and beds made.
Bar service in the lobby bar was prompt and friendly,as it was in the outside bars.The restaurant had something for everyone,with fresh dishes being cooked on the patio outside. At least 3 meats,fish and poultry every night.The a la carte restaurants were excellent, albeit it was a hassle to book them at 10am for the next night, as the queue turned into a free for all to try and get booked.A long winded process.
Evening entertainment was good in the outside theatre, many thanks to Tayson, Kevin and the team.
The air con was OK but remember it only works when the room doors,including the balcony, are closed.
We both thoroughly enjoyed this hotel and would recommend it.

Room Tip: Request high floor with a pool view,all refurbished,book superior rooms in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Expect very basic offerings. Rooms are very dated and tired-looking. My room didn't even have a stopper in the bathtub. Some bathroom tiles are cracked.Fittings are rusty. Can be very uncomfortable for some people. This hotel was arranged by the tour agency so it was beyond my control.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altinkum, Turkey
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We went to the Surmeli Efes Hotel for 2 nights from the 21st of November ....... when we arrived at the hotel it looked lovely and our room was nice to but when we went down for lunch we saw what it was really like here the food was awful and we could not believe how many flies were flying around all the food and there were birds flying around the dining room to surely this is really unhygienic it turned me anyway .... dinner was the same very poor food ... breakfast was awful when we went in to the dinning room the birds were actually sitting on the table finishing food people had left we took our coffee out into the lobby but there were soooo many flies there they were crawling all over our cups yuk yuk yuk .We had a corner sea land view room it was nice and it was a big room one of the refurbished rooms but they haven't just got it quite right for a 5 star like in our bathroom the bin was rusty as was the toilet roll holder and the door into the room doesn't fit right either about 2cm short so you can hear all what is going on in the hall and more to the point I am sure they can hear you as well. We booked this hotel because it was getting very good reviews weather it is because it is out of season or because they seemed to be catering more for the bus trips I really don't know but we would not go again and I would not recommend this hotel ...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sadokusadasi, Public Relations Manager at Surmeli Efes, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear guest,we like to thank you for your stay with us.We are really sorry for the birds and flies around.Absolutely you have right to complain about,we do all our best to get rid of them but by the end of the season can not satisfy to run out of them.We do not agree with your criticement with our new refurbished rooms,if you try you can find so many mistakes all over the world hotels,you stayed two nights with us and you received every service from our side and there is no complain letter from your side to the reception or to the guest relation department and after your departure you are making some criticement over the hotel.As we told that we accept and sorry for the flies and birds but rest we do not accept.Yes we are receiving good comments on every internet site from our guest,we never change our service and we do not give nothing less comparing with summer prices.Maybe you paid even 1/4 price comparing with summer but you are asking the same conditions,sorry but this is not possible and acceptable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Was there for 5 days and wished I had stayed for at least 2 weeks. Arrived 12 midnight and there was still food for us after a long days' flight. Food and drink is available for free almost 24/7 for those who book 'All inclusive'The beach is just a few metres away and drinks are served there as well.Ephesus ,the ancient biblical city is just around the corner,10 min drive.In summary,its the best for family holidays.Staff is very friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Surmeli Efes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surmeli Efes

Also Known As:
Surmeli Efes Hotel Kusadasi
Surmeli Efes Kusadasi
Efes Surmeli
Efes Surmeli Hotel
Efes Surmeli Kusadasi
Address: Eski Kusadasi-Selcuk Yolu, Kusadasi 35920, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Kusadasi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Kusadasi
#17 Family Hotel in Kusadasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Surmeli Efes 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Venere, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Otel, HotelsClick and Hotels.com so you can book your Surmeli Efes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surmeli Efes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.