We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Awful” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Surmeli Efes

Save Saved
You added Surmeli Efes to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Surmeli Efes
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Eski Kusadasi-Selcuk Yolu, Kusadasi 35920, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 148 hotels in Kusadasi
Altinkum, Turkey
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Just Awful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We went to the Surmeli Efes Hotel for 2 nights from the 21st of November ....... when we arrived at the hotel it looked lovely and our room was nice to but when we went down for lunch we saw what it was really like here the food was awful and we could not believe how many flies were flying around all the food and there were birds flying around the dining room to surely this is really unhygienic it turned me anyway .... dinner was the same very poor food ... breakfast was awful when we went in to the dinning room the birds were actually sitting on the table finishing food people had left we took our coffee out into the lobby but there were soooo many flies there they were crawling all over our cups yuk yuk yuk .We had a corner sea land view room it was nice and it was a big room one of the refurbished rooms but they haven't just got it quite right for a 5 star like in our bathroom the bin was rusty as was the toilet roll holder and the door into the room doesn't fit right either about 2cm short so you can hear all what is going on in the hall and more to the point I am sure they can hear you as well. We booked this hotel because it was getting very good reviews weather it is because it is out of season or because they seemed to be catering more for the bus trips I really don't know but we would not go again and I would not recommend this hotel ...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sadokusadasi, Public Relations Manager at Surmeli Efes, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear guest,we like to thank you for your stay with us.We are really sorry for the birds and flies around.Absolutely you have right to complain about,we do all our best to get rid of them but by the end of the season can not satisfy to run out of them.We do not agree with your criticement with our new refurbished rooms,if you try you can find so many mistakes all over the world hotels,you stayed two nights with us and you received every service from our side and there is no complain letter from your side to the reception or to the guest relation department and after your departure you are making some criticement over the hotel.As we told that we accept and sorry for the flies and birds but rest we do not accept.Yes we are receiving good comments on every internet site from our guest,we never change our service and we do not give nothing less comparing with summer prices.Maybe you paid even 1/4 price comparing with summer but you are asking the same conditions,sorry but this is not possible and acceptable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,357 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    617
    354
    204
    110
    72
See reviews for
622
334
18
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Crawley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Was there for 5 days and wished I had stayed for at least 2 weeks. Arrived 12 midnight and there was still food for us after a long days' flight. Food and drink is available for free almost 24/7 for those who book 'All inclusive'The beach is just a few metres away and drinks are served there as well.Ephesus ,the ancient biblical city is just around the corner,10 min drive.In summary,its the best for family holidays.Staff is very friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Me and my partner decided to celebrate our anniversary by going on holiday and we came across this hotel and booked it straight away it seemed far too good to be true to us. The hotel lived up to everything we expected.On our arrival at 2/3 am in the morning, they brought us a drink straight over, showed us to the lobby bar where they asked if we was hungry if we wanted another drink (obviously we did) the staff at the hotel were extremely friendly to us both. When showed to our room we was asked if our room was okay and if we needed help etc to just see reception.
Our room was cleaned every day, fresh water in the mini bar, we asked for a double room which we did/didn't get because all the double rooms with double beds were taken they gave us a room with two single beds which they pushed the beds together and made up for us, i wasn't going to complain cause the single beds were more like small double beds anyway so it was sort of a bonus for us to get a bed the same size as a king size. We received a corner balcony with a sea/beach/scenic view as well. The food every day was always fresh, and hot, the whole hotel was clean, pool was clean there is nothing to really complain about, although there were some slight snags to the holiday which i felt slightly ruined our little romantic get away.
I am 21 and my partner Marc is 19 the first thing which annoyed the both of us is when booking our holiday we was told the hotel was 40 minutes away from Bodrum airport, it turned out to be 2 and half to 3 hours away, so once getting off a 4 hour flight to the travel via shuttle bus(a large taxi) to the hotel was more than annoying as we just wanted to settle in, eat, and go to bed, on the upside our driver was very keen on getting us there as fast as possible so we managed to make it in 1 and a half hours. The second thing that annoyed us was "Frankie" our "hotel rep" (he didn't even work for the hotel he worked for a restaurant/pub) he was addament on us going to this place called Murphy's, me and my partner both said that we would go for drinks while round Kusadasi town looking at different shops etc (didn't see any point in paying for a meal when we get food free at the hotel as we were all inclusive) we did end up going and having a few drinks seeming so there was no way of getting drunk in the hotel itself as the alcohol was water down so much to then have Frankie the next day claim we didn't pay our bill!! I was the one who paid after every single drink ordered so we didn't run up a tab and we knew how much we was spending and Frankie tried to force us to pay... AGAIN. After about 20 mins of us telling him we paid he then left us alone and that was the end of that. After meeting a few other couples with befriended who were honestly the nicest people you could ever meet and talking about various things i was told about one of the animation team scamming a young couple which i thought was disgraceful, the very next day the same young lad with braces tried to scam us! after we complained to the reception about it, they were straight on to solving it and called him straight there, later he decided to come up to my partner while getting our food next to the buffet threatening him, which i thought was so unprofessional especially to say he is ment to work with children, we once again complained and after that he left us alone thankfully. the very last thing that annoyed us both was the coach to the airport, the driver didn't bother closing the boot of the coach! we only found out after another passenger had received a text about it, 15 minutes of all the passengers yelling at him to stop and him laughing he decided to actually stop and literally all the blokes on the coach got out and checked, luckily no ones luggage had gone missing, but the driver felt it necessary to stop when ever he felt like it to have a fag or go to the shop taking us 4 nearly 5 hours to get to the airport so we had to rush though the airport so we didn't miss our flight.
All in all the holiday was amazing but i don't advise anyone to pay for any day outings at the hotel you can get a bus from the security gate to take you to all the places you would want to go and it costs you less, also if your a young couple watch out for people trying to scam you out of money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I visited this place for a week's holiday with my family. All i can say is that everything was perfect. The dining scene every evening was really something, with all the variety of food and the fact that there was something to eat for everyone to choose from. The whole atmosphere was just overwhelming. Such neatness and the architectural views from the hotel room window...just perfect!! Would so love to go back again and again.

Room Tip: Try to take a room in the main building at the corner side facing the sea. Spectacular view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

OK readers, before write anything I (we) am biased with this hotel, management and staff. - The reason is because we consistantly get excellent treatment - year on year and consequently always find time to revisit at least once a year, - normally in the Sept/Oct period for 3 weeks.
The temperatures are kinder then with a typical peak day temp around mid/low 30's which is perfect for us 'Brits'.
The rooms are being upgraded throughout the Hotel to a high standard - although the original rooms which are all large in size are fine - just a little worn around the edges - so dont worry about that.

The food was fine - no sorry good! and if your into fresh salads and fruits - this is the place.
Additionally all the hot foods served are great; absolutely nothing to complain about - but dont expect to see good old bangers and mash or bacon; this is Turkey.
If thats what you want, you can get it in Kusadasi (Gossips restaurant is the most 'Engilsh' we know) near the Bus (Dolmos) and Taxi station.

In the evenings they put on A la Carte dinners; Italian (by the pool), Turkish, Fish and they have also started a Mexican snacks on the hotel rooftop. Its all good food, but remember you have to book up the day BEFORE and you need to book up early - they are very popular.

Most complaints we see are about the location. Well - yes its out of Kusadasi; but its sat in a beautiful bay of its own with fab clean SHALLOW beaches unlike the hotels in Kusadasi.
Travel time on the local frequent mini buses into Kusadasi is around 1/2 hour and costs about £1.50 each so no big deal really. - Its your choice?

We have no bad things to say about the hotel whatsoever and I think this goes for the vast majority of people who stay here. (We see lots of repeat clients every year).
The Management have clearly aimed to focus on (West Euorpeans) - Brits, Germans, French and similar, for clients and do little business with Eastern Block Countries. - Which is a VERY important factor (ask your travel agent).

Its a business choice - and Mr Sadun Alp the General Manager intends driving business in that direction. Both he, other managers and staff prefer it that way.

Try and speak with Mr Alp, he is very approachable and believes in leading from the front. Always approachable.

I must mention a rather 'special lady' - also!
Ms Bedia Eslik........!
This lady elegantly floats around the hotel keeping a watchful eye on everything - from 'checkins' and front desk activities to the poolsides making sure staff and clients are listened to and
looked after in every possible way.

Have I said enough?

Well almost! - Sadun / Bedia; We will be back same time next year.
Our close friends Chris & Jeff Denison have already booked up......................
Thanks again for a marvelleous holiday.

Room Tip: Almost every room is sea faceing, but I would suggest a high level CORNER sea facing room. More spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Grad Sofiya, Bulgaria
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This is a place, where everything is perfect! I am so happy that I had the chance to find this hotel, it was the greatest time of my summer. Food is great, rooms are great and Animation Team made me laugh all the time, and mostly - Kevin, with his funny stories :) I first went there in 2009 and I go there every year since! I recommend this hotel to everyone, who wants to relax, have fun, party and be happy!

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochin
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

A huge hotel shaped like a ship, with lovely views of the bay, esp. at sunset. Many swimming pools, including a huge one to enjoy in. Nice health club includes a Turkish bath Hammam as well. Easy access to beach, but take care - a lot of oil spills etc as it is close to the Harbour areas. The Southern Turkish beach strips are better for swimming. Nice food and nightlife and group activities.
Excellent location being away from the towns yet a short distance to all the hotspots of the Ephesus region - Kusadasi promenade, ancient ruins of Ephesus, mother Mary's house in the serene hillside, Johns grave, Selcuk fort and charming town. A water theme park is within walking distance
Every floor has a standalone balcony to take views and photos of the seafront. The pools have an interesting card access which you collect from the reception for the duration of your stay.
The only downside is the huge crowd in season - go in time for dinner! They close bang on time!

Room Tip: Pool and seaside views - high numbers, away from the lifts!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Surmeli Efes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surmeli Efes

Address: Eski Kusadasi-Selcuk Yolu, Kusadasi 35920, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Kusadasi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Kusadasi
#18 Family Hotel in Kusadasi
#30 Romantic Hotel in Kusadasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Surmeli Efes 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Surmeli Efes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surmeli Efes Hotel Kusadasi
Surmeli Efes Kusadasi
Efes Surmeli Hotel
Efes Surmeli Kusadasi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surmeli Efes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.