We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star ...what a joke” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Surmeli Efes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Surmeli Efes to your Saves list
Surmeli Efes
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Eski Kusadasi-Selcuk Yolu, Kusadasi 35920, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 149 Hotels in Kusadasi
hertfordshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“5 star ...what a joke”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

I have never been to turkey before ,and expected nice things about what people had said about the country ..lovely people good food ,and a beautiful country...well i can almost say the oppersite .i.expected the best hotel which was lovely..the transfer time was terrible as stated by the travel company 1 hour ..which turned into 3 hours ,the coach driver stopped at a roadside cafe which was over priced and very basic and were charged to use the toilets not a good start..., the language barrier was a problem ..which supprised me as most of the tourist that attended that hotel at this time were english ...i was completely misslead to the accomedation .after a very long journey we were hungry tired and thirsty and desperate to get to bed ..after half an hour of luggage keys to sort out and rooms .i expected to go to the lifts and get to my room ..but was directed to an appartment building outside the hotel and when we got inside trying to figure out how to use the electric was a nightmare the room was freezing no heating and it was damp...... the next morning i went to the reception and told how cold and damp the room was ...they sent a heater and told me this was a promo room and there was nothing they could do ..i contacted the travel company teletxt holidays and which are in review of this holiday as we speak ..i paid over £1000 for myson and myself my son is 12 ...the breakfast was good every morning couldnt fault it ..the dinner in the eve was the same more or less everynight ..what ever wasnt eaten the eve before was cooked for the following eve meal ...the staff in the resturant were great made the kids very welcome and did an excellent job ..you could tell they worked very long hours and nothing was too much especially as my son has an nut allergy and helped us more or less every meal time as too what had nuts in and what never ....the pools were fantastic but so cold that it was unbearable to most to even attempt to go in for a swim....the entertainment crew were good fun and run a club most evenings to a good standard ..but got to say not a gerat deal for kids ranging from 10 to 16 to do in the eve...i visited the local town and was badgerd constantly into buy buy buy original fakes ...brilliant for fakery but not good to look ..look means to buy .....the turkish lira is there currency but doesnt hold and strength ..the turkish people love the pound stirling and euro ,,which doesnt make much sense ,but you certainly do get alot more for your money ....the excursions are completely over priced and very unnessesary ...if you want to go out the hotel staff can help ...taxis are very reasonable too .as of the bus ..my son and myself found it such an experiance funny infact .....there were tip boxes everywhere you looked and i thought this was distasteful..as this was supposed to be comming from a 5 star hotel was not good ....the hotel lobby bar was ok but the staff were rude and had no people skills what so ever ... if you get a chance to do water sports then do it as its cheep and very good value for money..when you arrive you have a rep oppointed to,you ours was called frankie and he was a rip off merchant trying to get you to go to a bar called murphys that was dirty looking and food was disgusting and the look of the resturant was not clean at all ..the hotel beach was beautiful and clean sea was warm weather was lovely ....my recomemdation never to visit the hotel ever again ...and too be down graded to a 3 star .....

Room Tip: hotel room only
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sadokusadasi, General Manager at Surmeli Efes, responded to this review, November 3, 2011
Thank you again for the review and I read all the review one by one and there was no bad things mentioning.Only problems with the room heating ,pools temperature and tip box.Heating and cooling system is working depends on the weather conditions.Pools outside might be cold at this time of the year but there is an inside pool and it is heated.Tip boxes might be in somewhere and it is very common ,but never obligatory for people to give a tip to somenone.Thank you and best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    671
    381
    230
    122
    89
See reviews for
677
370
21
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

I spent awesome time there. place and people were amazing. Very friendly and helpful. Especially the animation team: U.janset Akanur, Metin Özmavi, Rafik Ben Brik and rest.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

Had a great two night stay in this wonderful Hotel. Excellent location, with a personal touch that started with being met at the Bus station on arrival, and hospitality offered like no other. Good night sleep in comfy bed, good breakfast spread, and information service very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport - wales
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

My family and i spent 10 days here in july 2011 - all in all id give it 7.5/10. i found it very good value for money and all the amenities were clean and well maintained.
The outside of the hotel is fantastic, the inside, bedrooms especially, could do with a face-lift but again i found them fine. After all your on holiday and not moving in!!
The food served was a mixture of turkish and everyday foods and also quite varied. The only downside was the inclusive alcoholic drinks more like non-alcoholic if you get my meaning
The nearest town, Kusadasi is about 15mins away by local dolmus (bus) and is cheaper than a taxi. The town is great and the locals brilliant - well worth more than one visit.
Would i go again? - yeh probably!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

5 star hotel let down by 1 star food.
We spent a week there & was glad to come home.
We had a family room for 5 but when we arrived (by the slowest transfer in the world) we only had 3 beds, 2 hours later at 2.45am we was able to go to bed, the room was freezing cold & we had to demand a heater.
The hotel facilities are excellent but the food is yuk & does not get better, the outdoor bbq does chicken most nights but is is burnt on the outside & pink in the middle.
quite a few people including my two boys were ill.
The staff are very good apart from the evening bar staff in the piano lounge who are VERY rude.

Room Tip: Go for the main hotel & not the family rooms which are on a complex outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

This is very family oriented with many activities for children. There is a mini-disco for children in the evening. The beach is soft sand with lounge chairs. Breakfast & dinner are included. They are big buffets.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

we have just returned from a family and friends holiday at this fantastic hotel (6 adults and 5 children) and we all had an amazing time. The food was excellent quality and always fresh with plenty of variety and even while we were there some others unbeleivably complained about it , all i can imagine is that they usually dine on frozen ready meals and burgerkings lol the staff are all excellent and the animation team are by far the best ive ever met always there to help and have fun with being annoying and patronising well done typhoon , danny and the rest of the team you really made our holiday better and katty the childrens team member was great with all our children and they loved spending time with her.
The facilitys are also brilliant and the cleaning staff are on the go non-stop they seemed to be cleaning clean things.
All 11 of us would have no problem at all rebooking next year.
Reading some of the other negative reviews on here is mind boggling BUT as i said we heard some people moaning just for the sake of moaning.
BUT there are some bad bits the worst being Frankie the moron rep who seem to have absolutly nothing to do with your holiday booking company but continually hounds you even trying to hassle us at meal times and PHONING OUR ROOMS , constantly trying to sell you trips especially to Murphys bar which he fails to inform you his family owns , everybody we met was fed up and annoyed with frankie and if the hotel has any sense at all they will dispose of this waste of space, also on one of our evening meals we were served raw chicken but as soon as the chefs new they sorted it.
all in all you really should visit this brilliant hotel just make it clear you dont want to be hassled by the rep

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surmeli Efes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surmeli Efes

Address: Eski Kusadasi-Selcuk Yolu, Kusadasi 35920, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Aydin Province > Kusadasi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Kusadasi
#24 Family Hotel in Kusadasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Surmeli Efes 5*
Number of rooms: 436
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Surmeli Efes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surmeli Efes Hotel Kusadasi
Surmeli Efes Kusadasi
Efes Surmeli Hotel
Efes Surmeli Kusadasi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surmeli Efes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.