We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surmeli Efes” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Surmeli Efes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Surmeli Efes to your Saves list
Surmeli Efes
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Eski Kusadasi-Selcuk Yolu, Kusadasi 35920, Turkey   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 153 Hotels in Kusadasi
Certificate of Excellence
Suffolk
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Surmeli Efes”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

5 star hotel let down by 1 star food.
We spent a week there & was glad to come home.
We had a family room for 5 but when we arrived (by the slowest transfer in the world) we only had 3 beds, 2 hours later at 2.45am we was able to go to bed, the room was freezing cold & we had to demand a heater.
The hotel facilities are excellent but the food is yuk & does not get better, the outdoor bbq does chicken most nights but is is burnt on the outside & pink in the middle.
quite a few people including my two boys were ill.
The staff are very good apart from the evening bar staff in the piano lounge who are VERY rude.

Room Tip: Go for the main hotel & not the family rooms which are on a complex outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stusledge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

This is very family oriented with many activities for children. There is a mini-disco for children in the evening. The beach is soft sand with lounge chairs. Breakfast & dinner are included. They are big buffets.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mvburke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

we have just returned from a family and friends holiday at this fantastic hotel (6 adults and 5 children) and we all had an amazing time. The food was excellent quality and always fresh with plenty of variety and even while we were there some others unbeleivably complained about it , all i can imagine is that they usually dine on frozen ready meals and burgerkings lol the staff are all excellent and the animation team are by far the best ive ever met always there to help and have fun with being annoying and patronising well done typhoon , danny and the rest of the team you really made our holiday better and katty the childrens team member was great with all our children and they loved spending time with her.
The facilitys are also brilliant and the cleaning staff are on the go non-stop they seemed to be cleaning clean things.
All 11 of us would have no problem at all rebooking next year.
Reading some of the other negative reviews on here is mind boggling BUT as i said we heard some people moaning just for the sake of moaning.
BUT there are some bad bits the worst being Frankie the moron rep who seem to have absolutly nothing to do with your holiday booking company but continually hounds you even trying to hassle us at meal times and PHONING OUR ROOMS , constantly trying to sell you trips especially to Murphys bar which he fails to inform you his family owns , everybody we met was fed up and annoyed with frankie and if the hotel has any sense at all they will dispose of this waste of space, also on one of our evening meals we were served raw chicken but as soon as the chefs new they sorted it.
all in all you really should visit this brilliant hotel just make it clear you dont want to be hassled by the rep

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrAlan381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

I stayed at Surmeli Efes from the 20th-26th September 2011.On Friday the 23rd we dined in the a la carte restaurant for the Turkish night. We were served chicken kebabs and after a few bites I realized my chicken was uncooked. I told the waiter and he immediately removed the chicken. The following day I became ill and informed the girl who took bookings and the duty manager. As I had to cancel my trip to Ephasus I also told the rep.Frank.
I continued to be ill when I returned home and my doctor confirmed I had food poisoning and said I should report this matter to the hotel.However they didn't want to know!! Despite sending a letter I have received no reply and my e-mail replies have been very dismissive as they said there was no record of me being ill. How many more people should I have told, perhaps held a press conference!!!So to sum up my holiday was ruined and I was ill for 2 weeks because I had eaten raw food.
The reception staff in the hotel do not match the standard of a 4star hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheilagoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

dear sir / madam i am replying to your reply to michelles t review. when we booked this holiday we were told it was a 5 star hotel so we expected 5 star rooms which we never got, i have also put some pictures of the room with the water coming in with the baby sleeping underneath it and i am sorry to say i don't think this is acceptable from any hotel of any kind when people have paid good money to stay there, and as for your comment about informing reception we did do this on several occasions and absolutely nothing was done we also spoke to people on the roof who were inspecting the damage that had been done and again got no response we also showed the cleaners the hole in the roof and again got no response. As for your saying that we should have to move hotels it is not really a good idea trying to move thirteen people in torrential rain that we had for four days as well as trying to find a hotel just because no one could be bothered to sort out the problems your hotel had in bad weather due to sub standard maintenance on your behalf i am really upset to get the kind of response from you that we did when it was your hotel that could not withstand the rain

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank anneKentUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sadokusadasi, General Manager at Surmeli Efes, responded to this review, November 3, 2011
We are gonna give the same answer with Michelle T NEVER AGAIN review.There was a very heavy rain at that time and yes we had some problems with water coming from another room.After the rain we changed your rooms and there was no other problem,but now we notice that you and your family was not satisfied with our service and hotels equipment.Everything is very clear on our internet site if you check,you can see what is our room type,what kind of a service we are giving .we also know that property needs maintenance and this year we are plannining to do renovation in the rooms,but rooms with new decoration will be a little more expensive then the others.Thank you for your kind understanding and best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

Just got back from the surmeli after a 2 week holiday and had a lovely time. All the staff are really friendly and helpful especially Catty who is great with all the kids :D always keeping them enertained and also Typhoon keeping the men entertained with all the different activities they have!!!

Hotel was always clean and the food was good lots of variety...would come back again but in the summer time though as the weather wasnt too good :D

Room Tip: alll rooms have a seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jemjem1187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

We stayed again and enjoyed the lovely grounds, clean hotel and amazing facilities this hotel has to offer. The staff are so obliging and respond to a smile and politeness. They work tirelessly and will always help you if needed. I really can't fault this hotel there is something for everyone. It's ideal if u want a beach holiday but it's also easy to pick up a taxi or dolmus to go to the busy commercial town of Kusadasi or the quieter sleepy town of selcuk both nearby. Hoping to visit again next September. Chris and Jeff denison

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cdjdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kusadasi
4.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Kusadasi
7.6 mi away
Hotel Fantasia Deluxe
Hotel Fantasia Deluxe
#35 of 153 in Kusadasi
4.0 of 5 stars 1,121 reviews
3.7 mi away
Charisma De Luxe Hotel
Charisma De Luxe Hotel
#28 of 153 in Kusadasi
4.0 of 5 stars 789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Batihan
Batihan
#9 of 153 in Kusadasi
4.5 of 5 stars 1,247 reviews
11.0 mi away
Palm Wings Beach Resort
Palm Wings Beach Resort
#1 of 4 in Davutlar
4.5 of 5 stars 774 reviews
3.5 mi away
Korumar Hotel
Korumar Hotel
#21 of 153 in Kusadasi
4.0 of 5 stars 696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surmeli Efes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surmeli Efes

Address: Eski Kusadasi-Selcuk Yolu, Kusadasi 35920, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Aydin Province > Kusadasi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Kusadasi
#25 Luxury Hotel in Kusadasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Surmeli Efes 5*
Number of rooms: 436
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Surmeli Efes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surmeli Efes Hotel Kusadasi
Surmeli Efes Kusadasi
Efes Surmeli Hotel
Efes Surmeli Kusadasi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing