We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ephesus Tours Travel- Day Tours

Ephesus Tours Travel- Day Tours
Gunhan Arin Bulvari Ladin Sok No:47/1, Kusadasi 09400, Turkey
905458156338
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 73 Activities in Kusadasi
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We guarantee you some memorable momentsin the old times because we are passionate about what we do!
County Offaly, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Lovely place to visit you will need a least three hours to get an understanding of this place and the people who lived here, any longer and i would say it gets tiring because there is no where to refresh or take cover from the sun when we visited, our guide noted that in ancient time all shops and houses would have had awnings.The toilets are at the start of tour and at the end and some people could not stand the smell coming from them that they left the line and said they would wait until they got back to town!
Tip :Go early its cooler and bring a bottle of water.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    3
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Roman, Biblical, wonderful Ephesus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Ephesus is a long way from Istanbul. A day trip means leaving your hotel at 4.30 Am to catch a flight to Izmir, then many hours by road to Ephesus. The tour included breakfast and lunch. Lunch was after the long, hot but most excellent tour of Ephesus. Following this there was far too much time spent at a leather outlet. Turkey's leather products are justifiably famous but if you only want to see historical places and the landscape, it is probably best to arrange for an individual tour without these fixed stops. Ephesus needs a guide and we were VERY fortunate to have the tireless and knowledgeable Begum to guide us through the stones of Ephesus, the tomb of St John, the 'disciple whom Jesus loved,' the purported last home of the Virgin Mary, and the Temple of Artemis with its single staring pillar. It was hot and rushed. Best to take your own hats and umbrellas. You can buy them in the stalls before starting the tour, but they are expensive,. I bought a hat for 10 Turkish Lira. Won;t even wear it again. The programme info did not--as far as I remember--advise taking an umbrella or hat though they do advise lots of sunscreen. It would be FAR better to spend a couple of nights close to Ephesus and see it and surrounding areas at leisure, especially if you are a senior citizen. I think you can take a car, with an english speaking guide, and do it solo, if you are willing to pay the cost. My driver on the way back to the Izmir airport was fantastic. A great driver, who volunteered info about the countryside. Guides are good in Turkey. Bathrooms are clean. All bathrooms are not free but they are not costly when you have to pay. Turkey's food is healthy, light and really wonderful, even during Ramazan. Shops at Ephesus an dteh Virgin <ary's house are not bad. Expensive but I got a book on Biblical sites in Turkey 9for 94 Turkish Lira) which I would not have had time to look of in Istanbul.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Levant Solmaz: The best possible Guide for Ephesus and Turkey-lucky us!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We were met at the cruise terminal in Kusidasi by a fantastic guide, Levent Solmaz, a van and a driver. We were a group of 5, a grandmother, 2 preteen granddaughters and their parents, The tour arrangments were made on the internet. Levent was the perfect guide for our group. He is a violinist who has spent time in the UK and US, speaks perfect English, is cultured and well read and full of information on Ephesus and Turkey. He knows how to keep children's interest and involvement in archeology by asking them questions and pointing out areas of interest. I had toured Ephesus previously, but missed some of the most remarkable areas that Levent took us to including the fabulous terrace houses. He made the incredible library and the amphitheater come alive for us. After Ephesus, Levent took us to a charming village restaurant where, joining us for lunch, he introduced us to hearty Turkish cooking. After a short visit to a historic mosque, we made the inevitable stop for rugs (succumbing as usual) at a rug market, this one run by the Turkish government to preserve hand-made rug production. We watched village girls weaving wool and silk rugs. Levent is the BEST! We highly recommend him for any tour in Turkey. We hope to tour with him again.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St Edmunds Suffolk England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Go it alone”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We visited Ephesus twice during our week's holiday in Kusadasi. The first trip was a guided tour with one of the local tour companies. The morning was spent in Ephesus and the afternoon at the church of the Virgin Mary. The guide was really informative, but it was expensive and rushed. We were herded through Ephesus and had no time to really take it it amongst the hoardes of other visitors. They also included a visit to a leather factory.
The second trip we went on the local 'dolmus'. We bought a guide book and paid the extra to visit the amazing archaological excavations and it cost us less than half the price of the tour. Once the tours have left at lunch time there are far fewer people and we were able to explore the site at our leisure.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billerica, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“No Frills Ephesus Tour Company was excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

My husband and I were staying in Kusadasi and used No Frills to visit Ephesus last week. I misinterpreted the pickup spot in the morning yet they didn't leave us behind as a no show which most tour companies would. They scoured the town and found us - hurray! And our tour guide was knowledgable and fabulous. Group size was small (only 5 of us) so it made for a great educational outing and zero annoyance. On the full day tour, we also saw the Temple of Artemis, St. John's Basilica, and the house of Virgin Mary. An amazing tour of amazing sites. Ephesus in particular, was really great. Well done, No Frills. And no carpet shops! Highly recommend No Frills.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ephesus Tours Travel- Day Tours also viewed

 
Kusadasi, Aydin Province
Kusadasi, Aydin Province
 

Been to Ephesus Tours Travel- Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ephesus Tours Travel- Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.