We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of About Epesus Day Tours

About Epesus Day Tours
Saglik Cad. Oge Sok. No: 61, Kusadasi 09400 , Turkey
90 256 614 42 05
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Soddy Daisy, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

This was one of the highlighted tours of our trip thanks to our guide, Gonca, whom we loved. She spoke such good English and we adored her. She learned a new phrase from me when my husband returned late to our bus once and I rubbed my finger saying " tsk tsk shame on you" she loved this and repeated several times to our driver with squeals of laughter. We highly enjoyed her being our guide and highly recommend using this company to anyone interested. She was even early to our ship to avoid crowds and heat which we so appreciated. She took us to a great rug factory where we enjoyed a special lunch that she enjoyed along with us. Two thumbs up!!!!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    1
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A Wonderful day with a great guide.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We hired a driver and a guide Filiz Capraz for our group of six. We were met on time and had a very nice air-conditioned Van. We loved the door to door service for the various sites in Ephesus. We found the price to be very reasonable for the private tour. Filiz (Phillis) was a very knowledgable and a lovely young women that we all enjoyed and learned so much from her. The small part of Turkey that we saw on our day trip was beautiful. Although the riots were going on in Istanbul and a few demonstrations in Ismir, we felt safe and had a wonderful day. The lunch provided was very good! We were given a cute little bag filled with information as well as some souvenirs.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Completely blown away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Ephesus is brilliant and we had a really good english speaking tour guide. We learnt that there was so much of the old city still to excavate that it could take another 1000 years at the current rate.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Outstanding private Ephesus tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

This is for all you cruisers who take the cruise ship excursion packages knowing you are paying a premium but a bit timid about what you will end up with if you do it on your own. For about the same money you can get a private tour from this company that will exceed the ship's group tour. First a word about our guide-Gonca (pronounced Gonja-yes like that stuff you used to smoke)-she was terrific-young, knowledgable, and extremely personable. If you use this company ask for her by name. Ephesus is one of those bucket list trips if you have any interest in history. It can be some serious walking in hot weather on uneven ground so bring some good walking shoes and a hat. The Terrace houses are not to be missed. The great thing about this type of trip is the guide can adjust the intensity and time you spend at each site depending on your interest and abilities. As part of a larger group its one size fits all. The arrangement is made by email and the company will send you a very thorough explanation of your tour. A small refundable deposit is required and you pay the rest to the guide. You are met as you leave the ship and taken in a Mercedes van that holds 6. The company does not help you hook up with others to help reduce the cost but it is so reasonable that I would recommend doing it on your own. After touring Ephesus and some other sites you will end up at a rug weaving demonstration-more interesting than you would think. Naturally they will try to sell you a rug but it is pretty low pressure-much less than in the Grand Bazaar in Istanbul. If you have any interest in buying a rug this is the place to do it rather than in the 'cruise recommended' shops where as much as half the price you pay for the rug gets kicked back to the cruise company. After this a very nice lunch is included. We had a half day tour but we were with Gonca from 8:30-4. We used the same company for a full day tour of Istanbul which was equally as well done. If you are spending an extended time in either Kusadasi or Istanbul About Ephesus can provide as much guide service as you want. All in all a terrific, well-organized experience. Remember to ask for Gonca-she will make your tour memorable.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful Ephesus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Amazing definitely worth the trip.. half a day is plenty though as it is extremely hot out there. You don't miss much doing the half day rather than the full day you still see all of Ephesus

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed About Epesus Day Tours also viewed

 
Kusadasi, Aydin Province
Kusadasi, Aydin Province
 

Been to About Epesus Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage About Epesus Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.