We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent budget hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Istankoy Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Istankoy Hotel to your Saves list
Istankoy Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Turkmen Mah. Ataturk Bulv. Unlu Sok. No:4 Kusadasi Merkez, Kusadasi 09400, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 149 Hotels in Kusadasi
Hove, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent budget hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We booked into this hotel mainly because it was cheaper than the price of a taxi back to our house when the buses stop running in the evening. What a pleasant surprise we had though. Although the room was fairly small and basic, it was spotlessly clean and comfortable with loads of wardrobe and drawer space and clean towels every day. A lovely Turkish buffet breakfast is included in the price and they also serve dinner at a very reasonable price. The bar prices were also cheaper than most other places. The location is brilliant, being almost on the seafront and a short walk from the town centre. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for excellent budget accommodation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    23
    13
    5
    6
See reviews for
21
40
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tehran, Iran
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

First you should see whats the purpose of your trip to beautiful Kusadasi . If its for leisure so I think its better to choose another hotel , but if its for business or only for a short stay and you have a low budget this place could be a good choice based on its good location and price .
but PLEASE NOTE THAT IF YOU WANT AIR CON THEY WILL CHARGE YOU FOR 20 Pounds per week !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! we stayed there on February which was a bit cold but we used 2 blankets instead of paying for....!
Rooms and specially their double beds are small but clean and not all rooms have a sea view only the 3 bed corner ones !No safe box in the room, They have safety boxes at the reception (extra charge !!)
They served a basic breakfast everyday with boiled eggs, Ekmek bread , different types of cheese and a variety of jams but nothing more like some sausage / salami or at least an omelet !
Staff are actually not so nice and they make you feel like they're doing their job under compulsion .
if price is not an option for you, next to this hotel there's another hotel name Ilayda 2 star! which is perfectly located , brand new hotel with perfect sea view .

Room Tip: Only rooms in the corner has sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Hotel came to the airport to pick up, but he lost his direction on the way back to the hotel! The hotel is very central, close to the market areas and the beach. It has got a tiny pool at the roof top, it does simple cold cut type buffet breakfast, the rooms are comfortable, wireless internet is working for us but not working in the 3 bed rooms near the 1/F; air cond is working perfectly for us but not for some of our friends. It has got safe deposit box for weekly rental and the boxes are at the reception. The hotel is mainly visited by British and we are a rarity. English is spoken by the Manager but other staff are very limited in their English. We stayed for 2 nights before boarding our Gulet to the Greek Islands.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed at the instantly a few times. It is a well run and clean hotel. The breakfast is the normal Turkish breakfasts. It has a small pool on the roof, but the best feature of the hotel is its location. One building back from the prom and a fee mins walk along the main road and you are in the centre of time. I would stay there again when visiting kusadasi.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litherland, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

I have found this hotel visibly improved since my last stay here in June .The staff can't do enough for you , the food was great and the price's were good .. The rooms were cleaned everyday and fresh linen too . The views from roof top were fabulous looking out on to the harbour . I would certainly recommend this hotel to all my family & friends. Many people seem to return to this hotel time after time and year after year. It just had a little blip due to the change in Management earlier in the year, but this now seems to be resolved. I had such a great time at this hotel I will return next year .I meet the same people year after year from all over England & Scotland as we all tend to book the same dates just to meet up. That to me is the good standard of the small friendly hotel... I would like to say a big thank you to the Management and all the staff.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view are 105 - 405 these are all situated on the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

As my title says, it could be a little better but it is still well worth staying here.
I have stopped in this hotel for the last 2 years. Please read my earlier review. Most of the staff are the same and they do their job to a very high standard. Many thanks to all the staff, especially Mustafa who really did go out of his way to help me.
My problem with this hotel is the new management, It is very difficult to get him to speak to you. He is hardly ever there to be honest. The ownere will only speak if you speak first and it seems like he wants to get away from you. The poor staff work 16 hours a day, 7 days a week and never complain and they appear frightened of the boss. Everything was good for the visitor, but whenever the boss was in there was a strange tension about the place.
Rooms were spotless and cleaned everyday. If I had a problem with anything, it was sorted immediately. Staff are amazing as is the location. \\but at times I did feel uneasy and I will never stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I attempted to stay here solely on the advice from the Trip Advisor comments. Big mistake! Yes, the staff are friendly and all, but come on... The rooms are bare. NO VIEW. You walk out onto your (balcony) with those white plastic chairs and you stare directly into the whites of eyes of other lucid people from another dank hotel. This hotel sits in an alley off the beaten path of Kusadasi. I checked in after spending 3 nights in Izmir at the Swissotel Grand Efe (5 Star) and almost lost my girlfriend upon arriving to this backpacker style hostel. If you are interested in spending time in a true hotel, do not waste your time here. If you literaly have a backpack on your back and have been trekking through the mountains of Turkey and are low on cash, and don't mind sitting with others who truly love this place and staying crazily drunk, literally sitting on a sofa at the entrance, then have at it, but not for me! Thankfully the staff just charged one night, even though we were scheduled to stay here for 8 nights. I counted at least 5 Trip Advisor awards on the walls of this place. Bro, I asked the bartender to make me a Margarita and he was clueless... if you want to sit on that sofa at the front door with other wasted patrons who literally spend their entire holiday on that sofa, go for it...

Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Istankoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Istankoy Hotel

Address: Turkmen Mah. Ataturk Bulv. Unlu Sok. No:4 Kusadasi Merkez, Kusadasi 09400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Aydin Province > Kusadasi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 149 Hotels in Kusadasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Istankoy Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 295
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Istankoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istankoy Hotel Kusadasi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Istankoy Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.