We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Derici Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Derici Hotel to your Saves list
Derici Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ataturk Bulvari 42/1, Kusadasi 09400, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 149 Hotels in Kusadasi
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Above expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed at the Derici for two weeks, it was rated as three star when we booked ,Bur I would definitely give it a four and a half star, it is situated right on the sea front and even though it was on a busy road for traffic, that was not a problem.
the hotel was immaculately clean throughout and the bed room you just could not fault, the restaurant provide a good varied menu and the food was to a very good standard.

Also I would recommend this hotel for wheelchair or mobility scooter users as there is a good ramp at the front of the hotel even though it is a little bit on the steep side, the staff are very friendly and nothing was to much trouble, especially the porter who was very amused by my scooter and couldn't wait to try it out!

It was only a couple of minutes walk round the corner and wow! you were straight into the activities and the Bazar'

All in all if anyone hasn't been to Turkey, then Kusadasi is a must and needless to say the Turks get ten out of ten for hospitality.

Would we go back again well,, yes yes yes ! John&Irene North yorkshire

Room Tip: No tip they are all of a very high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    105
    49
    14
    12
See reviews for
41
142
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Checked in late at night, the porter insisted that he take all bags to peoples rooms, it arrived a couple of hours later 6am. Not very happy when i didn't tip him! He did ask me during the week to give him 40YTL for 20 euro coins, a quater of his monthly wage for 2 hours work, Nice!!!
The only nice thing about breakfast was the view of the sea. The hotel is located across the road from the promanade and is in the centre of town so no dolmus or taxi fares which saves you alot of money.
A bottle of Effs costs the european about 3 euro (6YTL)! 8euro for Bud or Heineken and the locals pay 1YTL for same premium beers. Guess who's being "ripped off". Bar street is even more expensive and this is typical all over turkey.
The Hotel decor is very 70's. Rooms are big enough with mini bar. The swimming pool is very small, it would have to be its on the roof!
Nice staff, oh yes redecorate your hotel!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

overall good hotel but a bit worn out.breakfast is superb with the sea view . staff are helpful which is a plus. the bath room is alwayz wet probably due to a leak in the tub. funny poster in the elevator asking guest not to bring drinks from outside

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed at the Derici in June 2012. The rooms are clean but a bit dated. Yes the view is fantastic. The food at dinner was really disappointing. It was more like the fast food variety. We stayed at the Sozer hotel which is closeby in 2011 which is 3 star and a lot cheaper and the food there was way nicer, the same views and same location, so we are going back to the Sozer in June this year. Dont be put off by the 3 star rating of the Sozer. If you are spending a few days in Kusadasi its ideal.

Room Tip: The higher the room obviously the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

me and my famey whent to this hotel my gf and the food was crap and look off and the poll was so tiney and the staf was not nite and my gf was on hire on in the room and the mades sines l have to pay 80 pond dost to say in a room whot a joke 1 of the wirse hotels l have sad derici hotel ever old rooms and cold my mum dad add bad stumke pands from the food for the hotel l have add beter hotels then is in my life time not go u be world stay a way never a gen terrible sives and hote manger was rood we did not get a see vove never a gen l going to this hotel

Room Tip: whot a was of a holday
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I stayed at the hotel Derici in late-2012 and was generally pleased with the overall experience. As indicated in many of the other reviews, the hotel is a little dated. You can really see this with the carpeting and some of the furnishings. Nevertheless, they took pretty good care of me here, and I loved the nice balcony and seaside view from my upper-floor room.

The room was sufficiently spacious for my needs, and the bathroom was fine. I had enough hot water for my showers. The beds were small and a little too soft for my back. Although the furniture in the room was somewhat dated and insubstantial, I did have the storage space I needed for a three-night stay. The 'included' breakfast buffet was fairly good but nothing special.

Getting here from the train station in Selçuk required hiring a taxi, as the buses and shuttles that run from Selçuk to Kuşadası were not readily available when I arrived at the train station. However, the taxi ride was had at a reasonable cost. When I traveled from Kuşadası back over to Ephesus (near Selçuk), the hotel gave me pretty good directions on how to use the buses and shuttles, thus saving me money.

Frankly, I was surprised how much I enjoyed the town of Kuşadası. Sure, it is a seaside drop-off point for the cruise ships, but I enjoyed some of the busy restaurants and the shops along the waterfront boulevard that cater to the cruise ship passengers. The coffee shop right in front of the Derici is a nice place for coffee, tea and a pastry or other dessert. The clerk at the hotel Derici front desk always gave me good directions to restaurants, ATMs and even a local laundry. There is a large taxi stand just steps away from the Derici's front door.

It was here, at the hotel Derici, that I decided to go for a steam, sauna and full massage. That was a very relaxing experience, which I can recommend. Their price is decent too.

In retrospect, I am pleased that I chose to stay in Kuşadası as my base for visiting Ephesus. Everything worked out well. And the hotel Derici gave me plenty of opportunity to sample the "festive, seaside resort" atmosphere.

Only two things occurred that I did not expect: they asked me to fully pre-pay with my credit card at the time of check-in. That request is not so unusual in Turkey, but I just did not anticipate it from my prior review or use of their website. I complied, and it all worked out well.

The second issue was after check-out, when they actually telephoned me about 30 minutes after I had departed Kuşadası in a taxi for Izmir, simply to ask if I had used a fruit juice drink from the service bar in my room. This was a stunner that really made me shake my head with laughter. Earlier, they even had sent someone up to check that issue while I was still standing there at the front desk to check out. No, I had not obtained that juice drink from their service bar, but instead I had bought it a day earlier at a mini-mart in Kuşadası. In fact, the type of juice drink was clearly different than the ones they had in the service bar. Anyone should have been able to tell the difference. So I found it rather hilarious that they later called me in my airport-bound taxi via my taxi driver's mobile phone just to ask me about an empty juice drink carton that they later found in the wastebasket. They accepted my assurance that I had not failed to pay for something out of the service bar, and that was that. But I still marveled at how weird the whole thing was and how miserly this made them come off. No hard feelings, but it was just an "eye-roller" for me.

In summary, if you adjust your expectations to reality, you can enjoy this hotel and the seaside resort town of Kuşadası. Sure, things may seem a little dated, and they are. But I for one had fun here.

Room Tip: Tell them when you make the reservation if you want a sea-front room with a high floor. If they can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

the hotel is old but well maintained. They have clean rooms, friendly staff, and good WIFI connection. However we experienced trouble using the phone line and the elevator. The elevator has no detector, it just opens and closes even if someone was still on the door of the elevator (ouch..). Breakfast was ok, it had less options. The location of the hotel is great, 5 minutes away from restaurants and shopping centre.

Room Tip: beware of the elevator if you are travelling with children
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Derici Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derici Hotel

Address: Ataturk Bulvari 42/1, Kusadasi 09400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Aydin Province > Kusadasi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Kusadasi
#17 Romantic Hotel in Kusadasi
#19 Luxury Hotel in Kusadasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Derici Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Derici Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derici Otel Hotel Kusadasi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Derici Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.