We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel and location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Blue Sky International

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Blue Sky International to your Saves list
Grand Blue Sky International
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kadinlar Denizi Mevkii, Kusadasi 09401, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 148 Hotels in Kusadasi
Newton Le Willows, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

We stayed in the Grand Blue Sky hotel for a week in June 2011. The hotel is in a lovely position overlooking the sea and has a variety of facilities with swimming pools and a private beach.
The rooms are spacious and all have a balcony with sea view. The decor is not the most up-to-date type but its functional and has all you can need in a holiday hotel with air conditioning in each room. The bathroom was spacious as well with a bath tube and shower above.
The rooms were all very clean and the housekeeping seemed to be working well. the room had a fridge to use and bottled water was provided on a daily basis which it was very much appreciated.
The restaurant was well supplied with all kinds of food from the region, salads, fresh vegetables and fruit, a different meat/fish on the grill every lunchtime and dinner time, hot buffet. Like in all inclusive facilities, after a while, it starts getting a bit repetitive but I don't think that can be helped. There are also snack facilities running throughout the day and drinks are served in the different bars almost 24 hours a day.
The staff were mostly very nice and polite but they all worked really hard and long hours which showed in some instances. But mostly, very pleasant and very nice.
My 3 year old son received lots of attention from all the staff and they all made a fuss of him. He particularly enjoyed the Teddy Club where the staff were extremelly nice and caring. The whole of the entertainment team was very committed and maintained their involvement and engagement with the guests throught the stay.
I recommend the spa facility as well. If not the kind and type we are used in the UK or other european countries, the turkish bath is highly recommended and done in the traditional way and the full body massage was to die for! And very cheap compared to the prices of spas and treatments in the UK.
The hotel has its faults as well as any place of that type will have and won't suit every person but in the whole, a good place to spend a week in the sun.
P.S. The trip to Ephesus is highly recommended as well... but where sunblock and a hat!

Room Tip: Block C has the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    104
    55
    34
    30
See reviews for
193
106
13
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ascot, UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

This was our 3rd time at Grand Blue Sky and it gets better each time. I read the other comments and dont understand how people can be complain. We were a party of 6 (4 adults and 2 children) and all had a great time.

Yes the hotel is built on a hill and there are lots of steps to get to the beach but its well worth it. They have recently finished building a decked beach bar with big comfy bean bags, sunbeds and tables. There is also a private beach and access to the water sports. You could easily spend all day there. The animation team organise water aerobics ,& boules 2 or 3 times a day so there is lots to see and do.

We went to the beach area a few times during our stay and loved it but preferred the pool area. Again the animation team organise a lot of fun games for those who want to take part. There are 3 pools, one deep, one a with a swim up bar and one children's pool with toys and a covered area to draw and play out of the sun.

We went all inclusive and loved the food. My husband and I are vegetarians and we always had lots of choice. There are chefs cooking something different at every meal like pancakes and omelettes for breakfast, BBQ , pizza and fish for lunch and dinner. Dessert was the best! So many Turkish cakes and sweets to choose from.

Rooms are really big. We had a queen size bed plus 2 single beds for the children in our room and still had loads of room to move. There is loads of wardrobe space to put suitcases, clothes and shoes etc. Rooms are cleaned every day and we had a great view over the pool and the sea from our balcony.

The animation team are brilliant. They all make you feel welcome and take time to find out where you're from, ask your name and get to know you. They all love children and made a fuss of our 2 every day, getting them involved with activities. If you go, look out for Gizmo, Tarzan, Karim ,Sahin and Batu. They are great fun and work really hard to make sure that you have a good time.The children loved the Mini Discos & Club Dance.

If you go, look out for Johnny the photographer who is a star and takes amazing pictures.

Ladies beach is a short stroll from the hotel and has loads of shops and restaurants.

I cant wait to go back to the Grand Blue Sky.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

we stayed here for 1 week that was plenty.the room was clean and of a good size nice views or the sea.we went all inclusive the food was the worst we have had not much choice best thing was fresh bread.there was hardly any fresh fruit what was there was of a poor quality,no choice some of it was cold.there was icecream but you had to wait untill 5pm to then be served enough to feed a flea! awfull we will never stay here again
.bev & gerry (derby)

Room Tip: ask for a quite room away from bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

All inclusive they claim, with once a week the use of one of the 3 specialty restaurants.
We asked specifically if we could go to the restaurant of the day. No problem that was possible. In the restaurant the host showed the menu telling all inclusive guests were not charged but for the wine. Still we were charged for a 5 course meal, although we could only choose one course, all the others were actually presented as normal. They claimed to have informed us that we had to pay. None of which was done. No excuse, no nothing, only a bill that had to be paid. We paid because the banquet manager offered her excuse for maybe using the wrong words. She claimed to have said: extra. She should have said : you have to pay, or it is not free. The management however remained silent. This kind of service is a pain in the neck you don't want during a holiday. Also phonecalls that were paid after being made, were being charged again upon leaving, claiming that otherwise the person behind the desk had to pay, as there were no receipts given! Robbers.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2010

My husband and I booked a 5* hotel but actually got moved to here by the holiday firm (atrocious treatment but that's a whole new story!) This hotel would be lucky if I called it a 3* hotel. IF YOU HAVE ANY HEALTH PROBLEMS AT ALL DO NOT BOOK THIS HOTEL. This hotel has so many steps all over the complex you are reluctant to move, and its also on a very steep hill.To be fair, the a la carte restaurants are quite good and the staff are wonderful, especially Suleman from the seafood restaurant down by the beach, it has wonderful views at sunset and it's very serene. But there is no entertainment to speak of (apart from the DJ GIZMO who is fantastic and really does his best with what he's allowed to do,from what I could gather the management make him turn the music off at midnight for some reason? Do they realise we're actually on holiday? And he also had to put up with the rude Iranians taking over!) The rooms are extremely shabby and the beds are not a bit comfy.There is nothing at all to do if it's not sunny,it has an internet room but it was always taken and when you did get on it the web didn't work! It's hard to give it a good review except make the most of it if you've already booked. On a plus side Kusadasi is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

The resort,the location,the rooms the cleanliness,most of the staff etc were good but the food was the worsed we have ever known.very little choice,if you didn't like chicken or salads.Burgers one day were reshaped into meatballs the next ,they were tastless which ever way you had them.Veg had the life boiled out of them.Most things were cold and unappealing.The bread was nice but when there was a lack of butter we were not very pleased.Alternative places to eat on site were closed down early even though the season was not over.When we left October 9th other people were just arriving pity for them.My partner had what some people called the Turkey trots for 8days which spoiled the holiday for all of us.As a result we had to eat out several times which added to an already expensive holiday.Any complaints about the poor food fell on deaf ears. We certainly won't be going back there again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

On the whole, on arrival, aesthetically presentable. Good views, well maintained grounds and friendly atmosphere. After a few days and now being settled we started to find the food quite repetetive, although plenty of selections the focus was always on the salad bar which I must say was excellent. However, one can't eat salads for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Breakfast salads obviously were part of the continetal style breakfasts and of course there were omelettes and boiled eggs, toast. We ate salads at lunch because of the repetiveness of the evening meal and not knowing how or what it was going to be. Always overcooked, never hot and as I mentioned, while lots of selections were avaialble, when put on a plate did not make an appropriate meal. For example, one thing did not go with another. When complaints went in about the food, (17 people on one occassion) most of the chefs came out onto the floor, howver, they missd the point, they mingled with customers rather than take their place on the hot points to stir the food and keep things hot. Basically, the dining was seriously let down by the hot food selection and standard.

Operational front line staff, waiters, cleaners, maids etc were all exceptional and friendly but one could see the frustrations when line managers of any level interfered which was quite often/ We found many of these line managers lazy, credit seeking and down right ignorant. The entertainements during the first week was average with a show on every night. During the second week was virtually non existsant unless you like a long game of bingo or the headbanging music. The managers of the entertainments were constantly dictating what had to be played pushing out the hotel DJ. No customer consultation and many complained. The entertainements managers were just really interested in the younger women which in essence only represenated a small percentage of holiday makers there. For 4 star irrespective of country it was fairly poor and I would not rate this above a 2 maybe 3 star. The rooms you find in England, at Little Chef cafes, (Trusthouse) at £29 per night were far superior, cleaner and more comfortable. Having said that, the room miad was fantastic at making the rooms up and creati8ng novel things with the towles. This kept us amused and earned her a good tip.

Grand Blue Sky...never again but Turkey yes and we have alrady booked to go, obviously to another hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Blue Sky International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Blue Sky International

Address: Kadinlar Denizi Mevkii, Kusadasi 09401, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Aydin Province > Kusadasi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kusadasi
#17 Family Hotel in Kusadasi
#21 Romantic Hotel in Kusadasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Blue Sky International 4*
Number of rooms: 325
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Blue Sky International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Blue Sky International Hotel Kusadasi
Grand Blue Sky International Kusadasi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Blue Sky International, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.