We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very well organized tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castle Travel Day Tours

Castle Travel Day Tours
Suleyman Demirel Blv. Melis Sitesi Kat 4, Kusadasi 09400, Turkey
+90-256-613 44 45
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 15 Attractions in Kusadasi
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Castle Tours
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very well organized tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We took a day trip to Ephesus and house of Virgin Mary with Castle Travel organized through our hotel. The trip was amazing - our guide Yeliz was exceptional. Not only was she knowledgeable, but she was patient, friendly and took us to this amazing authentic Turkish local place for lunch.
She also helped us buy Turkish carpets by providing expert tips and her honest opinion. If you go on a tour with this company, ask for Yeliz. Our driver was excellent too - very patient and friendly even though it was super hot that day.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    4
    1
    2
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

Our tour guide was Yelis and she was so lovely and knowledgeable. She learnt everyone's names and knew so much history about the places we visited and Turkey in general. We visited Ephesus in the morning and then had a lovely lunch and then visited the house of the Virgin Mary, a pre ottoman mosque and the temple of Artemis. I also really appreciated the choice to go to a leather or carpet factory or to go back to the hotel. A great day! Thank you

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Our worst experience in Turkey”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

My fiancé and I loved Turkey with our terrible tour of Ephesus being the only black mark. In short, Castle tours cares more about shop kick backs than sharing amazing historical sites with tourist. 25% of tour time was spent at Zirve Rug and Popular leather which is crazy when you thing of the ancient ruins in the area. Try another tour company, but do your research as visiting shops seems to be tour company policy given the amount of tour vans that arrived whilst we waited out the front of these shops. So disappointing!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mehmet A, Manager at Castle Travel Day Tours, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Mr Lan,
You didn't not mention how was Ephesus Trip (Guiding/Vehicle/Lunch) you only complain about shopping! but be honest that the guide asked you if you would like to see carpet and leather shopping so you said yes then you were there with your wish so what's that all complain about! Is some one push you wrote bad things about our agency?
One more thing ;Shopping is include our Group tour but however guide asked you as being polite to join or not!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“could have been better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Booked through our hotel we went to Ephesus and Pamukkale with them. The first trip was better because our guide was very witty and humorous and gave a very thorough tour of Ephesus. He let us take pictures at our leisure and didn't hustle us along, though some more time would have been better.Our Pamukkale guide was a decent and polite gentleman named Mehmet who was however a bit lackadaisical.We spent an hour in an onyx factory then had lunch at a big restaurant where most of the tour companies come for lunch. The food was not good and the guy at the kebab counter was downright rude if you asked for a second helping , most of us disliked the place. The restaurant at Ephesus was much better place ambience & food wise .Mehmet gave us brief information about the Hierapolis ruins and pointed out some while walking along the path to the hot springs.He didn't take us near the sites as was done in Ephesus but seemed only interested in showing us the hot springs, which are spectacular , no doubt. I don't know whether this is part of the normal agenda, if it is, please cut out the onyx factory sales promotional tour & include the sites because they are very interesting. My son , who had explored these on his own showed us some wonderful pictures of the ruins. Hot springs are not the only attraction of Pamukkale. The seats of the minibus were not comfortable for such a long journey.All in all Pamukkale trip was not of the same standard as the Ephesus tour.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Turkish Guide and Educated Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Feyzula was a well educated tour guide who added considerable value to our day tour. The driver Hassan was amiable and very helpful.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castle Travel Day Tours also viewed

Kusadasi, Aydin Province
Kusadasi, Aydin Province
 
Kusadasi, Aydin Province
Kusadasi, Aydin Province
 

Been to Castle Travel Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle Travel Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;