We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Time Had By All” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ephesus Princess

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kusadasi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ephesus Princess
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Rumeli Cad No 16/6, Kusadasi 80220, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 148 hotels in Kusadasi
oldham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Time Had By All”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

This was our second time at the Ephesus and we were not dissapointed this review is honest and upfront. There were 12 of us in our party we stayed in the main hotel and whilst the rooms are clean and big enough with lovely bathrooms it is not a 5 star it could do with a bit of a re vamp. My son was in the bunglows and it was really nice but there are lots of steps but it didnt bother him and his girlfriend but they are only 19. The complex itself is fantastic we went to a few a'la cart restaurants which were brilliant. La romantica (italian) Pescotra (Fish) Agora (Turkish) 1001 (Steak) they were all beautiful and the staff couldnt do enough for you. The main buffet resaurant on the hole was fine just a couple of niggles one of our party didnt think there was enough choice, it didnt cater for younger children it could really do with the kiddies section opening it was high season and it was open once, and Turkish night is an aquired taste. Dont get me wrong the food that was on offer was cooked fantastic the fish was great and they did try and cater for lots of nationalities. The beach snack bar was brilliant with fab pizza and a fish snack bar which we went to nearly every day. Drinks were really good we must have tried all the cocktails on offer between us which were included. The beach bar was great in a great setting overlooking the sea and the water sports. Animation team was brilliant they worked really hard and produced some great shows in the ampitheater. There are alot of steps to the beach but there is a regular train service from top to bottom so dont let the steps put you off. There is lots to do at night there is a wine house which is great a Turkish tea hut with sheesha pipes there is always a show on, we even had syncronized swimmers one night. We went to the foam party on the beach one afternoon that was great fun. Overall this hotel was great the staff are brilliant the rooms are cleaned everyday and the maid makes swans and flowers with the covers we got clean towels everyday. The spa is fab we went for a sea salt scrub and it was amazing. The dolmus stops at the entrance so you can go into Kusadasi for a £1 each I said I would be honest and I hope this has come across I would definatley recommend this hotel and would go back a 3rd time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    108
    81
    56
    17
    18
See reviews for
145
68
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

I'm on the same page as another reviewer who would give it 3.5 stars if I could. Some aspects were very good and some I wasn't overly impressed with but I got the impression that the hotel caters for a large cross sections of people.

We went in late June and early July, the weather was amazing, hot as can be.

Good points:
Quite a clean place
Room had a reasonable bit of space
The bed was comfy
It had a mini bar that was stocked each day with water (fizzy and still) and two types of fizzy drink (1 litre each)
The food was generally quite good with a decent selection
The spa was nice
The beach wasn't bad
The entertainment staff were friendly

Bad points:
Room was very basic and needed an overhaul
The mini bar sometimes didn't get filled and towels weren't always left as they were supposed to be
The reception staff (some not all) had a very poor command of English and as this is recognised as an inter national language I was quite shocked
There were loads and loads of steps to the beach (this was OK for me as I like to keep fit still and there was a tractor with a cart for people who aren't up for trekking)
The food hall got very busy and the staff struggled to keep the tables clean for new guests so quite a lot of the time we got our own cutlery and the like.
There were quite a few little niggles in terms of overall look of the place.

Overall it was a decent enough sort of place and I miss it, we had a good time and nice chill on the beach. Ephesus is well worth going to if you like history but I'd go for a half day, all day is too long.

Another thing, I think it would be a better place for families, especially those who like pizza and burgers, plenty of those available by the pool!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

When we arrived. we were allocated a villa which was situated across the way from the main hotel, with loads of steps to get to it, not good! good if you want to keep fit, but with a little one not so good. First impressions was ok, The villa was clean but couldnt understand why we were not allocated a room in main building as it was only myself, husband and 3yr old daughter. I didnt like villa so went to reception to ask to be moved into the main building which she was very helpful and pleasant but could not get us in until monday so we had 2 nights in villa, i wasnt best pleased..first impressions of pool area was OMG it felt like benidorm but we soon settled and to be honest it was lovely we met a really lovely family whom we met for dinner most nights and our kids played together. going back to the hotel we moved into main building on the monday which was a 100% better fantastic pool view and very clean, had tv, fridge which was stocked every day, brilliant if you were going outside the complex.. Food was good but to be honest did get repetitive towards the end it felt like meatballs meatballs and more meatballs. but honestly was ok. entertainment was ok. you could get a bus outside the hotel which took you into the town there is even a Mac donalds there we went there it was great..All in all was a great holiday didnt get off to a great start with the room etc but once sorted we really enjoyed it.. beach was abit far away but there was a courtesy bus, its okay if you like walking and its up a steep hill as its built on a cliff but like i said earlier we did enjoy it, so it was worth it...

Room Tip: some of the villas have a lot of steps so keep that in mind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Must start by saying there are 2 review sites on tripadvisor for this same hotel, the other one is down as Ephesus Princess Selcuck, so if you are going here check out both reviews.
Got off to a bad start when our flight was delayed by 2 and a half hours going out, so when we arrived it was to late to get anything to eat and check in was not the best, there was one guy on reception to look after 4 or 5 parties booking in and he did not speak any English at all and we were left to try and find the way to our rooms on our own and we were in the apartments to the back of the hotel.
The hotel is in a stunning location with fantastic views, but as others have mentioned there are a lot of steps, even if you are in the main hotel there are still 186 steps from the pool areas to the beach, so by the end of our week we had had enough of the steps.

Rooms were very large but a bit run down, the six of us that travelled could have all fitted in to one room, you do get a fridge with some water and soft drinks topped up daily.

Food was generally of a good standard, but the staff never seemed to be able to cope if it got a bit busy, one evening we went to dinner at 8.30pm and there were no tables laid, so we had to find someone to lay the table for us, then when we went to get food there were no dinner plates.
We ate at 4 al-a-carte places and we found the Italian to be the best, the 1001 nights was good but to much fish on the menu for some in our party, the Agura(Turkish) was nice food but the service was so slow, be warned that you have to pay for alcohol at all of the al-a-carte places, soft drinks are free.

The drinks were good, we found the beach bar and the lobby bar best for cocktails, but at the beach bar you could not get beer or wine, you had to get them from the snack bar on the beach if you wanted them, we used to get a beer and carry them to the beach bar for cocktails.
The snack and lunch food down on the beach were very good as was the fish down at the beach as well.

There are no longer any free banana boat rides, but we did pay for some of the watersports and they were not bad value, the canoes are free, our fav was Great Big Mable it cost £25 for 3 of us to go on but it was great fun.

On the last day down at the beach there was some excitement when a dolphin was spotted and stayed around foe some hours enjoying the attention of everyone looking at it, apparently it is one that has been released from a water park back in to the wild and turns up at the beach quite often.

Once again as with most holidays at the moment there were far to many RUDE RUSSIANS, and to make it worse there was a school trip of teenagers from Russia as well, which made it even worse as the teacher did not have much control over the children in her care.

Over all we had a great holiday, because it is what you make of it at the end of the day, but we would not go back to this hotel.
One of the main reasons we would not go back is because the reception staff were all very rude and it seemed like a chore for them to do anything for you, and we were not the only people who said this, the other staff were all very friendly it was just the reception staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenrothes
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

This was our chosen hotel on our second visit to Kusadasi, and after being to near all them in our area,has to be one of the best.
After slight room error on arrival,we were put into an apartment, and not hotel as booked,this was quickly resolved-things began to fall into place, we were two families together, there was lots to do, for kids- had a kids pool with two water slides in it,which was good, and various activities during the day.
Good food choice in this place, places to sit at night time, i mention this because i feel this is important,as when we were at other hotel, there was like one place, every night, terrible.
Helpful staff,nice views, because your high up, places to eat on way down to beach.
The only thing slightly negative is that there are a lot of steps to the beach ( 278 i believe ) , but there are plenty of places to stop on the way down, but having said that, there is a really good tractor service, which goes to beach i think every 20 to 25 mins and back up again during day , which takes care of all these steps.
Would we go back??? yes, we would.

Room Tip: Ithink the hotel rooms are better situated than the apartments, its like a maze going up to apartmen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We spent 12 days in June in this marvellous hotel. The park where the club rooms are situated is amazing, beautiful flowers, palmtrees, permanently watered grass with the seaview over them simply breathtaking! Glass lifts are taking us from the lobby to the pool or to the restaurant, while travelling in the elevator, we can enjoy an extraordinary view of the swimming pools and the sea gulf. The whole area is wonderfully created!

The only disturbing factor was the mass everywhere. Mainly the pool area is overcrowded, people lie on the sunbed so close to each other, that you can not move without touching the neighbour. Since the whole hotel area is extremely large, it is strange, that the whole garden is not used for sunbathing, only for crossing it daily several times.

Except for the crowd the hotel is very nice, the food was excellent, everything was top clean.

Room Tip: If you prefer quiet rooms, choose the club rooms in the garden. If you like the busy life, the music...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Excellent hotel, the food was amazing so much to choose from and you can return as often as you like. Hotel is built on a hill so plenty of walking needed (although shuttle service if you want to be driven around). Rooms were cleaned daily and you were provided with lots of branded soft drinks. Entertainment was family orientated . Weather was gourgous at the end of September.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ephesus Princess? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ephesus Princess

Address: Rumeli Cad No 16/6, Kusadasi 80220, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Kusadasi
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Kusadasi
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Kusadasi
#19 Luxury Hotel in Kusadasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ephesus Princess 4.5*
Also Known As:
Ephesus Princess Kusadasi
Ephesus Princess Hotel Kusadasi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ephesus Princess, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ephesus Princess to your Saves list