We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An extensive site, flat but some stamina needed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Miletus

Miletus
22km (14 miles) past Priene outside Kusadasi Turkey, Kusadasi, Turkey
Improve this listing
Visit Miletus like an insider
Private Tour
$115*
and up
Private Tour to Priene, Miletus and Didyma
Ranked #4 of 48 things to do in Kusadasi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Crete, Greece
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“An extensive site, flat but some stamina needed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

An extensive site flat but some stamina is needed on a hot day if you want to see all the important remains. It is now difficult to believe that St. Paul sailed into Miletus as the town is now 5 miles from the sea due to the harbours silting up.
As you approach the site the massive, well preserved theatre can clearly be seen. The theatr was enlarged by Hadrian to seat 25,000 spectators.
Other important remains include temples, baths and two angoras. When St. Paul visited Miletus had two main harbours. The Theatre Harbour and the Lion Harbour. The latter was guarded by two marble Lions, one of which remains. However, this is hard to find but have a small note or some coins at hand because a shepherd frequently materialists and acts as a guide.
If you have the time Miletus, Priene and Dydima can all be visited in a long day.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    88
    18
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Interesting...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Interesting antiquity. Quite well preserved buildings baths (Thermae). Absolutely no tourists, you can wander alone. A large area of the ancient ruins.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Lambton
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
61 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Great site needing some TLC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

I had wanted to visit Miletus, as I had taught about its history for years. The site had some spectacular ruins, in particular the magnificent theatre and the Baths of Faustina. Unfortunately, much of the rest of the site was overgrown and needed some pretty concentrated grass cutting and general maintenance. Explanatory plaques were either sunbleached or defaced, so hard to read. What could be a fantastic site, especially considering it was a harbour city like Priene on the other side of the valley, we felt was let down by lack of maintenance and information. Paths were not maintained or non-existent. We didn't get a chance to visit the re-opened Museum of Miletus, as we had already spent several fascinatiing hours at Priene. Although a little disappointing, Miletus is still worth the visit, but avoid the hottest part of the day, as there is no shade whatsoever on the site.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“good place to visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

this was our third ancient site of the day and was very interesting, such a mix of historical times, Turkish, Greek, Roman - great place but I think by that point I was just too tired and hot to take it all in!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good combo destination with Priene”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Worth dropping in. Couple of cafes on site. 20TL entrance fee plus another 3TL for the car park. All you can see from the road is the big amphitheatre with the fort on top, but actually there is far more behind this. We spent an hour looking around. Good to pop into.
WC was a bit below average despite the statory lady outside collecting the 1 TL. The cafe was good for a nice sit down and a coffee / coke but the food didnt look over appetising. Personally I would head out some where else for eats.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miletus also viewed

Kusadasi, Aydin Province
Kusadasi, Aydin Province
 
Kusadasi, Aydin Province
Kusadasi, Aydin Province
 

Been to Miletus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miletus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.