We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another beautiful lycian city...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Phaselis

Phaselis
56 km (35 mi) northeast of Finike on Rte. 400 to local road through pine forest, Tekirova, Turkey
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 4 things to do in Tekirova
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Fethiye, Turkey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Another beautiful lycian city...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

This place is one of the magnificent lycian city. A friend of mine told me to spend the nite here in a sleeping bag so I could feel the gods and the sprirt and I did. Spent the nite next to the amphitheater and loved it. Swam in the amazing sea under the moon lite was great. Ruins of the lycia has a great history and story. Must be visited and seen the kings, gods amphitheater.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    33
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
93 attraction reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
“Worth a visit if driving past”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This pace has the ruins of a whole town that one can walk through. It is amazing how much has stood the test of time. These ruins are not as preserved as similar ones nearby, but they give one a good sense of a whole town. Worth a visit if driving past, but I would not go out of my way to visit Phaselis. It is quite expensive to visit.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kocaeli, Kocaeli, Turkey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Hidden historical paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

i have been in Antalya many times but i have never seen such a nice place except Phaselis in Antalya .Public swimming by feeling themselves as a king or queen of 700 BC times .You can walk at the The 'Hadrian Waterway Gate' with thinking how people walked there before.

You should bring food and drink and enjoy yourself.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Peaceful spot on over developed coast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

My trip to Phaselis was a peaceful interlude to a beautiful seaside Roman town, an oasis of calm in an over-developed coast. The woods around were full of wild cyclamen and the three bays of the ancient town were unmarked by modern times - this was Turkey as it was 40 years ago, unspoilt and quiet. The ruins themselves, including the wide main street, the aquaduct and amphitheatre, were atmospheric and well preserved. Well worth a visit.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Phaselis 690 BC, Archeologist must see”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Phaselis was founded by the Romans 690 BC, (the Lycian period) and developed into a prosperous trading port. These ruins are one of the coast's most beautifully situated ruins. One can visit it by a small chartered boat from Kemer harbour (it's a two hour trip), take a or make a day trip with a larger group on a gulet. We visited the ruins by car.One can swim there and have a picnic. The have a small kios where you can buy cooldrink, ice cream or buy postcards, etc. We paid 8 TL per person to enter this ancient city with it's beaches. Well worthwhile to visit.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phaselis also viewed

Tekirova, Antalya Province
Kemer, Antalya Province
 
Tekirova, Antalya Province
Kemer, Antalya Province
 

Been to Phaselis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phaselis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.